Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Its position, pleasant staff
Cons: Beds are terrible. No mirror in bedroom. Bath and shower are very difficult to use also dangerous getting in and out
Pleasant hotel beautifully situated. Restaurants close by. Adequate parking facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Alamanda guest return year after year!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: There were all ages staying there from children who enjoyed the pool as well as middle agers and retirees.
Cons: The bathtub is exotic - it narrows at the bottom so it can be uncomfortable to try to maneuver as you shower.
We have been staying at the Alamanda for the last 5 or 6 years. And we're not the only ones. Each year, like us, people we have met in previous years return to the hotel. One reason is the staff. An indication of the quality of a place is that it retains its staff. Each year we reconnect with the folks who serve the (yummy) continental breakfast, the desk clerks and the housekeepers. Alamanda has a terrific location - a short walk to the beach. Also, the little village where the hotel is located is just a short walk away. The village has 7 or 8 restaurants so you don't have to drive anywhere to enjoy an excellent dinner. The restaurants seem to improve every year. The rooms are spacious with a small table and chairs if you want to enjoy a meal or snack in your room while you look at the pool or the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great location close to the beach

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Best feature is it is right across from the beach. Two minute walk to good restaurants and food shops. Rooms are nice size with frig and microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Gables, Fl

Nice and clean hotel near the beach

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, cleanliness
Cons: I had no issues,
Location: great location: 5 star dining at several restaurants withing a 2 minute walk, beach is a 1 minute walk and small boutique shopping just beyond that
I experienced a nice smaller hotel adjacent to the beach and a 2 minute walk to several very good French Restaurants and shopping. The location alone sells this place. The hotel itself is a very clean and well run. We experienced a great little complimentary continental breakfast each morning poolside, a couple days we did order off the menu and it was really good. No need to look for staff if you need something, the staff is all around and very pleasant to talk to. They make you feel at home. The hotel itself is very clean and better than most beach hotels on the French side. Spent 9 days here and had no problems or issues at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The room , the people , the location, the food .
Cons: Wish they had a bar by their pool. The pool was very nice with the cleanest water I have ever seen. However nobody used it.
Location: Right on best part of Orient Beach. Very close to the Orient Village restaurants , which are fabulous in their own right
Great small hotel . Fantastic room with great bed , good a-c, good bathroom . Hotel was close to the beach and fabulous restaurants at Orient Village just steps away . The staff could not have been nicer and the morning breakfast was nice with fresh baked pastries. The beach bar , Kakao, was close by and staffed by young French people who very friendly . They all spoke english and were a delight to talk to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

St Martin hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: home filling, close to the beach, friendliness.
Cons: TV was terrible with only one Chanel working
very nice simple hotel, very friendly, convenient to the beach and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY metro

Great location, near beach and social activities

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds could be updated
Location: Everything in easy walking distance
Have been there before, perfect for a stress free vacation..very friendly staff and proximity to beach, the Orient village with restaurants and several shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great hotel, tasty breakfast, nice swimming pool.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Nice rooms. Family friendly. Helpful staff at front desk with good suggestions on what to see and how to get there.
Cons: An ATM on the premises or somewhere near would be a great improvement. Would also be great to get a washer dryer, especially a dryer for damp clothes.
Location: There is a small beach for kids at Le Gallion (with horse ranch). We made trips to Grant-Case and Marigot (we took boat-ferry ride to Anguilla).
We got a nice duplex room with two double-beds, private terrace/balcony with the ocean view. Free continental breakfast. The resort was not crowded when we visited the week before Christmas. Close to the beach. Free umbrellas and chairs at Cacao Beach. Tasty food at variety of French, Italian, Thai restaurants at the adjacent village court. There are grocery stores to buy food and beach cafes to get drinks, snacks and lunches. Our room had a kitchenette with microwave, dishes, glasses, silverware and fridge. Large bottle of water was a nice welcome gift after a long flight and a taxi ride from the airport. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Decent Hotel at busy, windy beach

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The Alamanda hotel has seen better days. That being said, the location is excellent if you like a windy active beach with all water sports. The breakfast they serve here, complementary, is delicious with croissant, fruit cup, fruit juice, and coffee, along with many delicious options for additional charge. The reason I say hotel has seen better days is that they seem to not be investing in maintenance as much as they might. I noticed the rooftop patio was closed and although they are replacing the tiles, they have not deemed it important enough to pitch the roof slightly so water will not collect. That causes water seepage. I also noticed that they have not upgraded their bathrooms and they really should eliminate the elevated tub which has to be climbed up into and change it to a shower stall rather than a tub with a hand shower that dribbles a little water from a wall mount. The front desk attendant, Claire, was excellent and she went over and above in personally showing how the television worked how the air conditioning worked and addressing any questions promptly and efficiently. They have found a gem in her employment. Also the lady who serves breakfast during the daytime was extremely nice and informative. I do recommend this hotel however you have to be able to go with the island flow and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Casual, comfortable, competent service.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: The room view could have been better...next time!
Location: I love the Village and the shops, the European beach culture.
Although I have stayed in the area multiple times, this was my first stay at Alamanda. It will be my choice in the future. No concerns or complaints.