Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Best hotel in St Martin

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Wife and I just returned from a one week trip to St. Martina. We stayed at Alamanda and loved it. The location is amazing. We had an ocean view room, overlooking the pool. All rooms come with great views. The resort is quiet, but located between 2 great beach bars. It's also right next to the village, which offers great dining with an authentic European feel. One of our favorite things was the outdoor breakfast area at Alamanda. Great atmosphere, lovely place. Our only complaint is very minor, but the mattresses were similar to what we've gotten in Europe, but not nearly as comfortable as what most are used to in the states. But that was a minor thing. We will definitely stay hear again! Had a blast and met so many nice people. Can't wait to do it again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Right on Orient Beach

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: The free breakfast (add french toast!) and morning staff, local restaurants, proximity to beach
Cons: Update decor, purchase new mattresses for guest rooms, train staff on appropriate work etiquette
Location: Right on the beach with wind surfing, snorkling, and excursions. Take the day trip to Prickly Pear on Winner Touch-AMAZING!!
This hotel is situated right on Orient Bay with a short walk to the ocean. Free lounge chairs are provided on the beach except on the front row when cruise ships come in. The rooms are dated and the beds are very hard. We were given a room on the first floor that had no blackout curtain and there was a spotlight that shined in all night. We asked for, and we provided with a new curtain which was still about 4 inches too short with moth holes in it that allowed light in so we ended up closing the hurricane shutters at night to block the spotlight out. The staff provided an eggshell mattress which did very little to help with the comfort of the bed. The room was very clean and had a full kitchenette. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower but we were only given one washcloth daily. Wifi was beyond spotty but occasionally on the balcony there was a signal. Stray cats run wild on the property and will come into the room or onto the balcony. Some do not look well. Breakfast is amazing and the breakfast staff is wonderful. The front desk staff at check in was AWFUL! She was rude and disinterested in checking us in until she could get back to her personal phone call where she remained for the duration of her shift...the entire shift. The morning front desk staff was very nice but we hated to see the evening staff coming on. There is a large square of restaurants and a market adjacent to the hotel. The hotel has a pool but it was small and tired, not at all like in the pictures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small but great place to hang your hat for awhile.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Small but great place to hang your hat for awhile. Great beach across a small gravel road. Friendly staff and many places to eat a very short walk from the hotel (a few minutes).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from New York. Tarrytown

Could not ask for better

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at Alamanda, I would suggest it too anybody , very clean, helpful staff, breakfast was nice ,you can add too it for a little extra money, 6 restaurants 100 steps away, a local convience store also. Never had to fight for a beach chair, just a couple of guests at the pool , quiet, clean and steps away from the beach. We are RIck and GIsele and stayed on 2fl 5/7 to 5/12 , I will be recommending this hotel to my friends .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location...but needs upkeep

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location, beach, restaurants.
Cons: Hotel needs upkeep. Fading paint, leaky toilet, rusty cook-top, creaky bed, aging bedding and room decor, all need serious attention.
Location: Most day-trips and excursions require 30 to 45 min travel to major towns. Watersports rentals available on the beach.
Hotel is situated in a great location, a stone's throw from the great beach at Orient Bay. Complementary beach chairs at a nearby beach club, which can cost up to $20/day to rent, is a great plus. Great restaurants right next to hotel eliminates need to travel for dinner. Please be nice to the cats on the premises. Feeding and petting are well rewarded with frequent visits and lots of purring. Will visit again, as long as the hotel condition does not deteriorate further.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice, friendly resort, smaller and manageable

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Size is very manageable and right next to restaurant area and stores. Beach can be viewed from hotel and only about 100 feet from hotel.
Cons: Older hotel, so in need of some minor upgrades/repairs, particularly shower area.
Location: Great selection of restaurants for dinner at night within 100 feet of hotel. Beach and restaurants on beach for lunch are wonderful.
Very friendly staff, willing to take care of any need you have. Guests are often repeat customers that come back for a reason. They are often friendly and speak very highly of resort. Wonderful restaurants a short walk away as well as the beach. Pool area clean and always sunny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location!!!
Cons: the hotel staff, specifically Franklin were very freindly & helpful. Eric at the restaurant was always happy & pleasant.
Location: We enjoyed eating at the low low in Grand Case!
We have been to St Martin two previous times staying in Philipsburg & Cupe Coy. This hotel and location was by far our favorite! The hotel served a complimentary breakfast of crossaints, fruit & coffee. You could purchases other items including eggs, waffles and pancakes. Near the hotel was a square that had a small grocery store and several wonderful restaunts. The hotel was within walking distance and viewing of the ocean, Orient bay! This is the best beach on the island and the little beach bars serve some of the best food for lunch on the island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The staff was very friendly & accomodating. The rooms were kept very clean and with the facilty. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: The staff is very helpful with information about nearby activities and restaurants.
We had a wonderful stay in St. Martin. The food in Grand Case is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ruben E from Buenos Aires

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
The room was always clean. Great location, close to the beach, close to amazing restaurants. Hotel general state is a little bit worn out. Nothing major but few details that make the difference, like the shower curtains, shades etc. The bed was quite worn out as well. New ones would make a huge difference. As an extra tip, do use the safe box!