Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Max 3 stars, watch out for the food

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Could be cleaner. Watch out for the food. My both kids threw up the entire night after having tacos at the bar in the evening. My husband and I who didn't have the tacos did ok. Not a good way to end our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia, canada

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We very much enjoyed our stay. This boutique size hotel was great. Not too "busy" with everything a process as found in the large all inclusive hotels. The meals were very good and the setting along the beach very nice. A different musical entertainer and or band each night with great selections of music. Very quiet at night for sleeping, comfortable bed and more than adequate appointments for making ones meals if one chose to do so. Well stocked, fair priced little grocery store on site. I wouldn't hesitate to return again. The town of Philipsburg just minutes away by car. Lots of shops and dining there. The only negative comment I can think of is check in is too long and too many cards for this and that. A 15% service charge is added to each dining bill with some waiters passing that off as a tax when it wasn't so you would tip again which I did for most of the week only to discover after asking at checkout what was included in the service charge. All in all very much enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Fancy but not too fancy

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Location: Many people rent cars to see the island, but we just took taxis. We went to Marigot, Phillipsburg, the Butterfly Farm, and the Loterie Farm.
We had an incredible time at Divi Little Bay. From the moment we arrived, we we were in a constant state of Wow. The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was well taken care of, and the facilities were just right. We were looking for a resort that would be comfortable, safe and beautiful, and Divi really delivered. We wanted to avoid the places with too much 'glitz'; casinos, hundreds of rooms, 6+ restaurants, fancy entertainment are not our thing. This place was just right: just a couple hundred rooms, four nice places to eat, three beautifully landscaped pools, watersport opportunities, onsite stores like a grocery, boutiques, and a concierge for activities. There were daily activity options, but it was also nice to just enjoy the quiet life. Our hotel room had a small verandah that led directly to a set of two stairs to get onto the beach. Paradise!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Great Vacation in a wonderful friendly hotel. 5+

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Wonderful and friendly people! Comfortable room! Great views! Nice beaches!
Cons: I would consider to move check in time earlier by prior request for people who arrive early. Otherwise: great job!
Location: 20-25 minutes to Phillipsburg for eating and walking. Rent a car and travel the island (including Maho beach and French side).
I stayed with my family in Divi Little Bay Beach resort for 9 days. It is a very welcoming and nice place to stay. Rooms:We had a wonderful suite. We initially asked for a king size bed, but did not get it as the hotel was very busy. However, there is a couch in the main room which was very comfortable and I enjoyed sleeping there. We had a great view across the Harbor with the view of the port and Philipsburg. The suite had a nice kitchen and comfortable layout. Presence of a kitchen allowed us to bring deserts in the room and enjoy it at night while watching movies Swimming:There are 3 swimming pools in the hotel. We preferred the beach - the water was warm and nice. The beaches are not crowded. Food We both took snacks and food to the room as well as ate dinner at the hotel. We preferred to eat at the bar with the view and live music. There was a nice selection of food for our taste (though if you are a gourmet eater, you might ask for more). Do not forget to leave an extra tip - the general service fee is to be shared with the staff, while a little extra goes to a waiter directly. The local store has a nice selection of food for smacks/small meals for the room. The capital of the Dutch side is a 25 minute walk and is a nice place to eat in the beach front restaurants. Staff: Very friendly and nice people. It was a pleasure to be their guest! Random caution:women should try not walk alone from hotel to town along the road as some men may inappropriately follow
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Beautiful Resort, Beautiful Island

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Loved Divi Little Bay Resort, Loved St. Marteen. Would definitely stay here again & would recommend the resort to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Location and Not Too Crowded

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Views from each side! Beach chairs and sunsets!
Cons: The 15% extra "charge" on food should be explained more clear....was it a tip for our server or did it go somewhere else?
Location: Head up the hill to Ft. Amsterdam, across the bay to the cruise port for shopping and eat at the Lazy Lizard! We also hit up the St. Martin zoo!
The entry to their property from the West seems a bit chaotic. Can I turn right? Do I need to go further down the road and turn around and enter as a left hand turn? This was VERY confusing, but we had a little car so we typically made the first right turn work! (not sure how legal that was!) The breakfast spots were ok. $18 for a buffet was a bit too much to ask for Breakfast so we usually went to the little cafe where we were greeted with a happy lady who collected money and made coffee and another lady who didn't speak the entire time we were visiting but made great bagel sandwiches for breakfast - ask for bacon instead of ham or sausage, you'll be glad you did! Gizmos was typically the only place open during dinner hours. They had a great staff (for the most part), decent food, and great entertainment. Be sure you go for happy hour to get your happy drink on while it's cheap! Movie night on the side of the building was super cool! Pools and Jacuzzis were always open and available to soak in. A short hike to Ft. Amsterdam was also a bonus excursion! The room was great - soft beds, clean sheets, great pillows, and beautiful views! Ice machine on our floor didn't work 100% of the time, but we could always stock up with the one downstairs. The "gift shops" seemed over-priced - head to the cruise port to find your goodies!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
From check in to check out we had a horrible experience. None of the staff was empowered to make basic decisions or even seemed like they wanted to help. We had to go to the front desk ever 2 days during our 7 day stay to get new keys as they would stop working. On the day of check out we went to breakfast to come back @ 9am to get our bags but keys didn't work again even though check out was 11am and all they could say is they don't know what happened. No one cares or even felt bad for us being inconvieneced every other day. I have been coming to the Island for 20 years now and have never had such a negative experience I could not wait to leave when I usually try to extend my trip. This year we took our parents for the 1st time and let me say they have no desire to ever go back. There were 5 of us traveling and we had 3 rooms and all had the same disappointing experience. I Do NOT recommend anyone to stay at Divi on Saint Martin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

A slice of Heaven!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Gosh we loved it here! Such a quiet resort which was perfect for traveling with two infants. Beautiful views, friendly staff, good food!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great beach, ok hotel, so-so staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The beach is great. The front desk staff is just ok, not very well trained or too customer friendly. Better management and training could make this place really great. For example, service can be spotty - some staff is good, others seem indifferent, forget to thank you or say please. The rooms show some wear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
It was my first time to St. Maarten and it was incredible. Loved how quiet, yet convenient the hotel was. The service was a bit slow at the restaurants, but overall I would go back and recommend to friends and family.