Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from schenectady ny

nice hotel, nice beach, beautiful pool

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Cons: A gym area on the grounds of the facility
Location: Much to see, do...but also congested
Only spent a couple of nights having been a regular at Oyster Bay Beach Resort for many years....the room- a studio- was surprisingly large and well appointed with a full stove and full-sized fridge...our deck area was facing a noisy area (diesel fuel oil loading), but I was not disappointed given the brevity of our stay....excellent sound-proofing from the patio doors....an excellent property, beach restaurant that I would heartily recommend...beach staff and reception staff is professional and helpful ("Could my wife and I get another beach chair?"...."maintenance should check the looseness of the toilet bowl tank and leaking from the shower head")...I saw a number of children on the beach -surprisingly clean sand- and by the pool, so we will keep this in mind for future visits with our grand children....the primary drawback of the resort is that it is in a very congested Simpson Bay area...also the resort uses the Royal Palm gym which is simply not that easy to get to without using the resort shuttle....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Definitely not a 5 star

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Definitely not a resort, more like a 2 star hotel. The staff tries, but the amenities are limited to a small pool, small beach, oh and a shuffleboard. Also a nearby grill & bar. We're loving Sint Maartin and the local hospitality. Want to come back, but not to Flamingo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

My 12th stay at Flamingo. Love it!!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Location is best. Beach, staff, location all great. Water aerobics Mon-Friday!! Walk to restaurants, piano bar, Pelican-Deli, casino, bakery& more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great accomodation. Nice beach

Posted Dec 28, 2016
This place has great beach, its sheltered from waves and has nice sunsets Rooms are very nice and clean. We had a full kitchen Its a bit of a taxi to best restaurants in marigot and grand case but Simpson bay has great places too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Relaxing holiday

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Loved the beach
Cons: Nothing
Location: Many restaurants within walking distance
Husband and I visited here May-June 2016 however just realized I didn't review the hotel. We loved this place. Great location to restaurants, grocery store, nightly entertainment. Don't have to rent a car, but we did (price was so inexpensive) and enjoyed the option to go elsewhere. Hotel: room was clean, large and had everything we needed. Great view, nice bed, water pressure, appliances all worked (although the toaster set off the fire alarm once, oops). Beach: was really nice with white sand and clear/warm water. Restaurant: every meal was excellent, loved the happy hour drinks. Parking: some spots were extremely small however we did discover later that uncovered parking was available and easier to get in and out of. Staff: extremely friendly and helpful. We did not have any issues with time share sales. Overall, this is one of our favorite places we have visited, maybe even our top choice. We will be back at some point to visit once again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, PA

Nice hotel and convenient location

Posted Dec 17, 2016
We're owners at The Westin but whenever we're not staying there, we always stay at The Flamingo. We have friends that live down the road and the Flamingo is conveniently located to all our needs and wants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice location, but NO customer service

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The pool area and the room.
Cons: The grounds are lovely. The hotel's management doesn't measure up. Service is robotic.
Location: Hey, it's Saint Marteen. You go for the sun, shopping, relaxing, eating, and water oriented activities.
My stay got off on the wrong foot. I was given a key and told that the room was ready. Housekeeping staff was still preparing the room. I returned to the front desk, and I was assured that it was now ready. I made a second trip, but housekeeping was STILL in the room. I returned to the desk again. Now, a front desk person took the keys and went to the room ahead of me. Housekeeping staff was now finished. He handed me the keys and offered an apology. But he made me feel that this whole thing had been MY fault and MY problem. I received an email from Expedia asking for my initial impressions. I gave the place a poor rating. I then received a follow-up email with the hotel's response. It was the standard kiss-off. Now I was more annoyed than ever. The hotel's manager did offer to meet with me. The ordeal continued. There was a water main break. There was no hot water, and for a while, there was no water at all. There was no attempt at service recovery and no apology. No one at the front desk seemed overly concerned, And, the faucet on the bathroom sink was broken. I think staff wants to provide good customer service. But they need coaching. Better communication between the front desk and housekeeping would have avoided my intial annoyance. And a simple letter of apology about the hot water would have gone a long way. This is all about management. And the place doesn't have any! This is too bad, since the grounds and rooms are quite lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Flamingo Beach , Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. We understand that your time is valuable and we are continuously working on providing our guest with a smoother check-in process. By sharing your experience we are able to know when and where improvements can and need to be made in order to provide the best vacation experience possible for our guests. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our team. We expect all of our staff to provide excellent customer service and hope that although your stay was not perfect, you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay if you change your mind and decide to stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Everything but the restaurant.
Cons: The restaurant at the resort has a lot to learn about resort service. Staff was rude, service was slow and food was mediocre at best. Miss Topper.
Location: Excellent dining and entertainment within walking distance.
Despite area wide power outages the hotel staff did an excellent job of making the best of the situation. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful time. A special thanks to Carlton at the front desk for all his help with our accommodations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Our porch was 20 yards from ocean and beach restaurant. Couple days there was a loud music from restaurant one day till 11PM. Hotel needs to be renovated: old loud A/C without fan speed regulation, plumbing drains are bad as well. Wi-Fi did not work in our room we had to go to reception
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
no excuse for backup gerator not working no excuse for elavators not working