Ratings based on 1,410 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sxm

Very nice and beautiful and comfortable

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Always a pleasure staying at this resort. Definitely would recommend this resort to anyone I know and definitely will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Large American chain hotel close to beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The rooms were in excellent condition with good quality and comfortable furniture, lovely bed linen and large bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped
Cons: As it is a very large resort, the wait time for check-in can be a long time and there is often a queue to talk to the front desk and concierge staff.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants and cafes in the Pelican Key area catering to the masses. The beaches have some good snorkeling when the seas are calm
If you like hotels that are exclusively run for the American market then you will be pleased to stay at the Flamingo. The guests are all Americans and the activities are suited to the predominantly older clientele. It's a bit like being in a hotel in Miami. However if you are looking for a hotel that has a more authentic Caribbean vibe then this is not the place for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location on the beach.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Great location on beach. Many restaurants nearby. Hotel discount card for use at local restaurants and activities. Great poolside happy hour daily.
Location: Within walking distance to many good restaurants.
Rented one bedroom condo unit with sliders to balcony overlooking ocean. Great views, great beach. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas available on the beach. Living room A/C and electronic door lock weren't working when we arrived but were fixed within minutes of notifying front desk/maintenance. Living room sofa was a little worn. Overall great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good place for a get-a-way

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Easy check-in, nice rooms, has a beach and pool area. Near Hollywood Casino
Location: Near lots of other hotels/condos, near Hollywood Casino, plenty of dining with a bit of a walk or you can taxi ride it down.
Enjoyed staying a the Flamingo since it had it's own beach and pool. Beach was a decent size and rooms were large. It was nice to stay at Simpson because it was easy to taxi over to Maho, Phillipsburg or stay at Simpson. The only disadvantage of this place in our opinion is that it is at the very end of the bay/road and sometimes took a while to get to the back since it is away from the main road where all of the bars and restaurants are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Nice Hotel with comfortable atmosphere

Posted Feb 19, 2017
A lovely setting with many amenities. We had a lengthy delay to check in. 4:00pm became 5:00pm approximately. While the staff were very courteous, they didn't really acknowledge our inconvenience. Our stay was otherwise quite comfortable and enjoyable. I would definitely come again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great spot, close to restaurants and nightlife

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: This hotel is smaller so there's more personal attention to guest's needs. The grounds are beautifully maintained, easy to navigate, safe for parking.
Cons: Can't think of anything that I'd improve. Loved the staff!
Location: So many restaurants within walking distance. Rent a car and see the island, do a gourmet cruise with Passat & snorkeling trip with Billy Bones Charter
The Flamingo has a nice spot on the tip of Simpson Bay, small beach but very nice. Pool is good, staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. Our room overlooked the hotel's beach which was absolutely wonderful - we used the patio every day to sit and listen to the waves gently rolling in. It's a hike up Billy Folly road from the main road through Simpson Bay but it was good exercise and traffic is very slow so didn't feel dangerous to walk next to the road. We loved St. Maartin and will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

beautiful resort right on the beach

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location and quality of suites
Cons: Front desk staff training
Location: We were only there for 1 night so never left the location.
This is a high end time share resort that is used by Marriot. We had some problems getting our room as it was already booked and it took a little time to get it sorted out. Once done we nfound we had a beautiful beachfront room next to the small reasturent on site. Everything just went up from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one night stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: quiet location with lots of food options nearby
excellent staff in the lobby, entire facility was in great shape
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Burlington Ontario Canada

Close to beach.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Our room was terrific. All the amenities: stove, fridge, microwave dishwasher. Air conditioning blew directly down on the bed. No view.
Cons: Perhaps hottubs.
The island was OK. We are not night people and we found that the island caters to night life ie many many nightclubs. Not very much else to do except shop at the endless jewellery stores. We went to the zoo, butterfly farm, lotterie farm and the 2 forts on the island. We are explorers not beachers so not really interested in touring the beaches. Driving around the island was scariest thing ever. Locals and tourists alike are horrid drivers. Loved the water activities. Swam with the dolphins, sunset dinner cruises, snorkling. All exciting and very enjoyable. Not the island for us. We will not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Great for Families, Couples and Seniors

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The patrons and staff were all super friendly.
Cons: The room had roaches. Housekeeping staff was not responsive to correcting this. The room was acceptable but could use updating.
Location: Concierge was friendly but didn't tell us about family activities like the zoo, bird sanctuary and zip lining.
This would have been the perfect vacation if not for the roaches in my room. We were there during the busy season in February and the beach wasn't too crowded. There was plenty of elbow room on the quaint beach with larger stationary umbrellas that give you a large footprint of shade with tables that were large enough to dine on, available if you got there early enough. If not, smaller but sufficient removable umbrellas were there and the staff on the beach worked hard to get you set up quickly. The water was calm on the small stretch of beach (no more than 125 yards) and mostly really clean with the occasional cigarette butt. There were rooms available less than three feet from the beach which I liked, but some may want more privacy for their balcony. The resort had a boutique hotel feel with all the necessary amenities. There was a small gift shop with snacks and sundries a few steps away, a beach restaurant/bar with great food, happy hour specials and friendly/attentive staff. There were also at least two more restaurants within very close walking distance. There was a pool that was if not was, is close to olympic size that was maintained well with a little bar close by. I liked that the pool had a place to sit in the water around its edge.