Ratings based on 1,362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Love that it is right on the beach. The food on the French side is delicious. Also the beach bar is very convenient and has reasonable prices.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sxm Retrieve

Posted Nov 28, 2016
At arrival no room available. Spent first evening in one room and had to move the second day to another room. Hotel was overbooked. Staff very friendly and resourcefull. Internet very poor throughout facility. Parking spaces very difficult and limited. Nice outdoor restaurant with live music and a beatiful local broadway show on Thursday evening. Nice beach and friendly staff. Power outages throughout the day and backup generator not working all the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Flamingo Beach Resort , Hotel Management
Your comments are appreciated. It brings us delight to learn that you were thoroughly pleased by our attentive and friendly front desk team. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and the frustration it caused. Thank you for sharing these details with us. We have shared your review with our management team to prevent issues of this nature from re-occurring whenever possible. We truly hope you will give us a future opportunity to serve you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Week in Hell

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly
Cons: Hotel needs to invest in some generators
Location: Good location for resturents
My weeks stay was terrible. The electric kept going off and the water shut off numerous times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Flamingo Beach Resort , Hotel Management
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and the frustration it caused. Thank you for sharing these details with us. We have shared your review with our management team. Regretfully, we experienced a broken main pipe and it took a few hours to repair. We truly hope you will give us another future opportunity to serve you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel and beach/pool availability

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: It is located right on the beach with calm waters. The beach sand was replenished during out stay. They have one of the best pools in the area.
Location: Several restaurants within walking distance. There is a local area grocery store that is very well stocked. The beach area is kept clean.
The pool and beach availability on this property is very pleasant. Our room had all needed if we had intended on cooking in the room. The full size refrigerator with ice maker is a very nice feature. Pillows and mattress were very comfortable. The resort has shown some use within the room but was good. We were surprised that housekeeping did service us three time in the one week period, if to only take the garbage and replenish towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Cons: The four story building should have an elevator installed the water outage situation as we understood from others is an ongoing situation
My wife and I stayed two nights at this Hotel of which we enjoyed only the first night, fact of the matter is that the second day when we returned in the afternoon we found the bathroom faucet removed from the wall and was placed on the floor, we then reported this to the front desk which they were not aware of the fact that this maintenance was taking place however they moved us to another ( room ) building, this was a four story building with out an elevator thus, with ( heavy ) luggage up and down the stairs, on top of all that the room was not the same we selected online, then had to face an out of water situation where meaning before leaving the Hotel ( 10.00 ) to catch a midday flight we were unable to take a shower. Before leaving we reported our discontent to the clerk who promised to inform the GM, I sent a mail informing the GM of our experience but to date we received no response
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Third time back

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pool was not open. Water pressure was low and one day no water. Internet was so weak we could not use it out on our balcolny,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

do they have a cleaning staff?

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We started out our honeymoon in a room facing the Parking lot ( not a huge deal) but it was right outside the elevator... We heard everything single person in the morning get on and off the elevator. And the pool was closed, which we got a call two days prior to coming even though it had already been shut down a week. I requested a room change for two days, every time they told me their system was down and that there was no manager on property. It wasn't until the third day that we were there that I got stuck on the elevator due to another power outage (these are daily here). I was livid, so they finally gave us a first room floor facing the landscaped grounds (they were very pretty). My husband and I were pretty sure this was the room they gave everyone they hated. For starters, the bathroom was falling apart, there was zero water pressure in the sink or shower. The toliet only flushed half the time. Our bed sounded like it had rusty springs in it. It made loud noises everytime you rolled over. To top everything off....... There was a DIRTY TAMPON in the kitchen cabinet and waxed crusted q tips in the nightstand drawers. I work in a hotel, if this was my cleaning stay, I would be firing them all and getting a new one. St. Marteen was beautiful but do yourself a favor and don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, Ky

Great place, but with some issues

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: the overall appearance, location and room comfort was great...
Cons: wifi......wifi....staff at front office could be better
Location: location is awesome, very secure, many restaurants within walking distance........food on St. Maarten is awesome
The location and room was very nice, very good ocean view, beach was awesome.....however the pool was down for repairs, we were only informed 2 days before we left that pool wouldn't be available, left us no time to change plans....they offered a shuttle to their sister property, but to us that's not a very good option. also the wifi is very poor, I had to turn off wifi to connect to internet 90% of time, this will cost my wife and I approx. $300 in data overages.......if these issues are corrected, this would be a nice place to stay.......the way it was for us, we would not stay there again or recommend to anyone else.......
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Flaimingo Beach , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your overall experience here. As you mentioned, our resort did have an unexpected water main break which has since been repaired. As far as the intermittent cellular service you had while visiting, that would depend on the towers your carrier has in close proximity to the resort. Nevertheless, if this too had a negative impact on your stay we apologize. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Not worth going unless you're staying in a beachfront villa: the other buildings are dilapidated, old, and unkempt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Flamino Beach Resort , Hotel Management
We appreciate your honest opinion in regards to your stay. The accommodations we offer do not necessarily look the same in terms of decor and color, for example. Also, we do upgrade them as they need and they do not happen all at the same time. Our team is always ready to assist you with your vacation requests and we do not tolerate less than that. We will surely extend this to our executive team for review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strandnära hotell

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Rent och fräscht. Bra kunna byta strandhanddukar när man ville. Minus för trasig hiss i receptionen. Stökigt när man hade rum mot gatan. Slamsugningsbil kom flera gånger varje dag. Vi är nöjda med vår vecka.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by flamingo Beach resort , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped unit. Your thoughts regarding our towel exchange are appreciated. We are sorry to the elevator was down during your stay. This is being addressed. We appreciate this opportunity to improve, and will work to exceed your expectations on your next visit.