Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Good Location in the heart of Philipsburg

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Best location in Philipsburg!
Cons: Hotel is modern and I found no issues with the hotel room, the lobby, dining, or bar areas.
Location: Shopping is on Front Street - right outside the hotel! Restaurants within walking distance along the boardwalk (back of hotel).
We were very pleased with our stay at Holland House - excellent location with shopping nearby, the beach right outside from the boardwalk of our hotel, choice of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel offers a restaurant as well which is wonderful for dining in. We ate our breakfasts here everyday and enjoyed the view of the Caribbean! Staff were helpful and very courteous. Loved staying here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

The Great Holland house

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Everything was what and we expected and much more. The atmosphere was amazing and the staff are the epitome of professionalism.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Penthouse suite

Posted Nov 28, 2016
When I arrived I was told that I had a recently dated penthouse suite. I was told that it had an in room Jacuzzi. When I got to the room it did not have a Jacuzzi. It was a double size room which was nice as it included a double size patio space. The bathroom was nicely redone. The bedframe was nice but the mattress was excessively from. The sofa had not been replaced and it was obvious that there was old stains on it. The dresser in the bedroom had chipping paint and had obviously not been replaced, which I would expected to have been done if the suite had been entirely updated. I appreciated having an in room digital safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, United States of America

Small hotel on the beach. Wonderful staff.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Nice quiet vacation. Loved location. Only complaint is that many of the bars and restaurants close as soon as the cruise ships leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, United States of America

Like Visiting the Relatives

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The charm of this boutique hotel is unbeatable and the location is perfect.
Cons: Can't think of a thing to complain about.
Location: The location is perfect for beach activities, food, drink, shopping, gambling. Everything is at your convenience there and within walking distance.
Went "home" to The Holland House Beach Hotel and Philipsburg, Sint Maarten for a 5th time. The staff is wonderful and friendly and many remember you from the year before. For the first time we were not satisfied with our room and they made every effort to give us a different one within a days time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

on "boardwalk" on beach, no parking

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Good location on the beach near shopping. Pretty beachside, good breakfast.
Cons: My reservation through Expedia showed I had free breakfast for two, and free wifi. Hotel didn't have that. I had to show my email confirmation.
Location: Beach, lounge chairs, boardwalk, no pool. Restaurants and shops within a few feet of the hotel. Duty free shopping.
On the "boardwalk" on the beach, nice breakfast out on the terrace overlooking the beach. No parking at hotel, paid lot a couple of blocks away. Hard to get to if there are cruise ships in town, because they block off the roads for those first two blocks before you hit the beach, to control traffic. YOU CAN MOVE THE BARRICADES. We found that out after we made several loops around trying to figure out how to get to the hotel, then finally parked on a side street, left our luggage in the vehicle and walked to the hotel. Like any island customer service is sorta hit and miss. Expedia reservation says I got free wifi, and breakfast for two. Hotel staff said their reservation didn't show either. They tried to charge me for breakfast, and made me work it out at the front desk. After emailing them my confirmation email from Expedia, they reluctantly comped breakfast. However, we never did get wifi for two people. The user name and password would only allow one. (It gave an error message) Front desk said no, that three people were included, and didn't give me a way to correct it because I was already checking out at the end of my stay. Interesting shopping right there, for a few blocks in each direction, but it goes from nice to sketchy and back again, so take care. If you're there when the cruise ships are, you'll be approached by someone outside almost every shop with a coupon or some freebie to get you to go in their store. Feels like panhandling after 10x...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach and shopping areas

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Nice and clean. Nicely decorated.
Perfect for a couple of days. Quite busy during the day as the hotel is close to the cruise docking area. if your plan is shopping and suntanning this is your spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great if its the experience you are looking for!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Great staff, really great restaurant on property, and on the beach. They have parking which is a huge plus and are very attentive. My only thing was we had a "street" view room and if you are a light sleeper you will the trash pick up every minting around 5-5:30am. Besides that it was exactly what we were excepting from a Ron perspective however the FOOD was awesome! Very well done!
Cons: Street view room was a little loud in the morning. The trash pickup and retail locations/alarms were definitely a downside.
Location: Very centrally located to both the French and Dutch sides of the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: staff is excellent
Cons: in front of the beach and relax
Location: Must do go to St Barth lovely Island
The hotel is in a great location close to shops for souvenir and small coffee shops the location are is very quiet you can move around the island by bus that would cost you $2.00
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Excellent location.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Everything was great.
Location: Shopping and nice local restaurants on the beach side.
Good location. Staff very pleasant and accommodating and amenities good. Had room on beach side - very nice.