Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Close to an excellent beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Felt safe as a lone female. Lots of excellent places to eat within short walking distance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK/FL

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Location couldn't be better. Hotel La Playa is right in the centre of Orient village and has direct access to the fabulous beach via it's own Restaurant and Beach Bar. The rooms are a little dated, sure, but we really didn't mind that at all when taking into consideration the overall package. The staff were super- friendly and helpful and we'll definitely visit again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very pleasant on the beach. Hotel staff friendly.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Close to nearby restaurants. Breakfast included on the beach. In addition, bar and restaurant at hotel. Grocery store was 2 minute walk.
Location: Location great on the beach. Nearby restaurants. Taxi's waiting to take you to shopping and other towns.
Very relaxing, close to restaurants, great beach. Hotel staff very friendly. We were upgraded to a third floor room that was very quiet. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great spot on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect.
Cons: The rooms could use updated bedding
Location: It's on the French side of St. Martin directly on the beach. Grand Case is close with a lovely town, many good restaurants and shops.
Lovely staff, friendly guests - both American and French speaking. Wonderful menu and nice beach bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, proximity to beach, restaurants convenient.
Cons: Rooms a little tired but clean.
Great staff (Kelly, Katie especially). Close to beach. Have stayed here multiple times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Great location and amenitiese

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great location. Excellent staff. Good breakfast. Nice pool. Bed creaky. Musty rooms. Stayed in older suites. Perfect for what we wanted for a few nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebev

Nice location on Orient Bay Beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location on beach, gardens, quiet, very clean, comfortable, staff pleasant. Very well maintained, felt safe walking about!
Cons: Sofa not great for sitting...however great for a nap. Instructions on how to close louvered bathroom window...but I did not ask.
Location: Orient Village- restos, water sports, beach, beach, beach... Renting a car or taxi transport very reasonable.
Great spot! We upgraded to junior superior suite, as we did not ask to see our original room, no idea if this was worth it or not...the rest of services were the same with or without the upgrade. Very clean room, newly renovated, great beds, pillows, linens. Shower room setup (open onto rest of suite) seems a bit odd...but gives a great feeling of openness, making room feel very airy. I did not try to close the louvered blind into shower room, though would imagine if staying with children I would have wanted to. Kitchenette clean & well laid out, all you need for 4 No place to sit to eat....but you are steps away from the beautiful beach & multiple restos. Sofa & hanging chair would have been popular if travelling with younger folks...we did not really use it. A/C worked very well, wifi in room spotty throughout the day...but worked all the time in resto. Patio doors to small patio with rack to dry wet suits. Pool seemed in good condition...we did not use it, but super for youngsters I would think. The gardens & paths well maintained, the staff pleasant & helpful. Ensured we had safety candles during black out. Small grocery (2) for essentials (water, etc.) a variety of restos meters away. The continental breakfast included was great...plenty of fruit, beverages, cereal, yogourt, fresh baked breads, all served in resto just steps from room & open onto the beach. Beach chairs & umbrellas were plentiful, beach well maintained (raked daily) no concerns about barefoot walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

A Highlight Stay At La Playa

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, a modern room with well designed storage and kitchen areas, a great location, and near food and activity options.
Location: Being in the middle of one of the best beaches anywhere La Playa was perfect for any type of water activity.
Our fourth stay at La Playa was outstanding. From the newly remodeled room, to a great beach location, to outstanding food and beverage service, to one of the great people watching locations at any vacation spot La Playa provided a highlight vacation week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Excellent....Just a great place to stay with very helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pretty nice to be close to the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Needs renovation
Location: Water sports on the beach
Very quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed our stay. Our room was close to the beach