Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Great quick vacation

Posted May 25, 2017
Good location, clean quiet hotel. Only complaint is how early things shut down at night. Everything else was wonderful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is on the beach but no beach view

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The service in the reception was friendly
So it is very windy very much waves and the algae are in the water and on the beach. If you like water sports is right. Breakfast is very simple always the same every day. Very expensive lunch and dinner. The pool is not good, the floor is plastic and no pool bar. The pool chairs everything old and worn out. The hotel itself is old consumed, The hotel area is a construction site impossible ways to get to the beach as you break your legs in the evening when it is dark we hardly found the apartment. 1172/5000 The mattress in the beds so hard and the springs come through. The whole bed consists of Bamboo screws look out. There is only one air condition in the room not in the bathroom or on the toilet you can not withstand warmth. The Small Kitchen is a joke no coffee maker. And everything old the walls dirty the bathroom in the shower germinated and calcified, The tiles on the floor are broken. You should really close the facility and rehabilitate everything. The worst thing is on the beach with the beach chairs, so we had to pay $ 90 for a week beach, towel and then one is told where I have to lie on the beach because on the left everything is reserved. Cruise people. There came a long-haired beach guy and told me in an impossible tone to me that I can not lie here. I told him that I also paid for it, but he did not care, because the ships arrive and they can make money with the people, so I did not book Orient Beach, Bikini Beach, any more. I can recommend Grand Case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Nice personal, clean rooms, good restaurant with excellent view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Nice hotel, very friendly staff and beach facilities were awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Had a very relaxing vacation, the staff was very helpful and polite. The bar is ideal and the bartender [ Patrick ] is the perfect fit. The location is great, you can walk to just about any thing you might need. I did not have one bad thing happen. If you are looking for a place to lay back and enjoy the beach this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Return trip

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The location is the best on Orient Beach !! Right on the beach, and a few minutes walk to restaurants, shopping and the grocery store.
Cons: We had a newly renovated room, which was very cool. The older rooms are also being renovated.
Location: See above. We felt no need to go anywhere else by taxi or car.
We stayed at La Playa last year and enjoyed it very much. We rarely go to the same place/hotel 2 years in a row, but we made an exception here. Katy and her staff were awesome(again) and very friendly and helpful. Patrick the bartender (aka known as "sexy Patrick" when I asked for the Wi-Fi password) always had a smile on his face and really made me and my girlfriend feel like we were quite welcome as old friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quaint hotel, very cozy,

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Hotel is right on the beach and a short walk to show and terrific restaurants. A great beach with many bars and restaurants as you walk. The surf was great and the beach service excellent. If you want comfy and friendly this is it. Shout out to Kelly at the front desk, couldn't have been more helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, N.Y.

La Playa resort review

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Nice, clean beach, not too crowded like other resorts nearby. The food & wine at this particular restaurant was very good.
Cons: The staff on the beach and at the restaurant treat you very poorly. They are curt or will just ignore you, especially if you aren't French.
Location: Good central location.
This resort was pretty, looked better than others nearby. The upgraded rooms were nice, spacious, and quiet. The room also had an good size kitchen and large refrigerator. This helped to save money since there is a supermarket close by (though workers are rude at the market). There isn't a minibar or room service so it's a bit basic. There is a small front desk staff, that were friendly/cordial. The pool was small and not on the beach, staff didn't clean bottles or trash everyday so needed a bit more upkeep. The restaurant and beach area were charming, unfortunately the staff treated the clientele poorly (especially if you weren't French). I've travelled extensively and found that St. Martin was beautiful but a bit too touristy for my taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Close to an excellent beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Felt safe as a lone female. Lots of excellent places to eat within short walking distance
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK/FL

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Location couldn't be better. Hotel La Playa is right in the centre of Orient village and has direct access to the fabulous beach via it's own Restaurant and Beach Bar. The rooms are a little dated, sure, but we really didn't mind that at all when taking into consideration the overall package. The staff were super- friendly and helpful and we'll definitely visit again in the future!