Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Simple and Easy

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: sunbathe, snorkle
Great access to the beach with a wonderful location right in the middle of Orient Bay. Staff was friendly and responsive. Rooms were "basic hotel" with all tile floors. Awesome location within walking distance to the "village" which had a wonderful mix of restaurants. Would recommend renting vehicle for any intra-island excursions - taxi prices are high
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice beach

Posted Jan 28, 2016
The beach was beautiful with plenty of beach chaises with clear ocean water
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to beach, restaurant and watersports.

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Toilet had a flushing problem. No phone in room.
The room was big, two king size beds that were comfortable. The grounds were nicely situated with multiple stores and restaurant's on the grounds. Beach very lively with all watersports imaginable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Cons: Hotel was great. The only problem we had was the booking with Expedia. While booking the trip it was not emphasized we used our legal names.
Location: tour the Island, visit beaches, travel to other nearby islands.
We enjoyed our stay at the LaPlaya on Orient Beach. Location was great, Car rental was easy and available at the Hotel. The Breakfast was "very French style" Lots of bread! The beach was excellent, well kept and I feel the best location on Orient Beach. Staff was very helpful and kind! spoke good English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Great staff.....and location on the beach

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Location: Great Resturants in walking distance
Great hotel....I will be back!!! Friendly staff.....very helpful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Highly recommended

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Everything from the friendly staff to the location on Orient Bay. Superb!
Cons: Its a big place and it appeared to me that the staff was doing a great job keeping up on all of the maintenance that it takes to keep it looking good!
Location: Beach, Restaurants, Bars, Everything Water Sports
Got into St Martin a day late due to Delta Airlines lack of strategic planning. However, we were immediately greeted by Kelly at Reception and she made us all but forget about how Delta Airlines consumed one of our four days in the paradise also known as Orient Bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

La Hoste Hotel now called La Playa Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: If everything works (water, electricity, wifi) then great! If it doesn't, then they fix it! Sometimes you can't control that stuff.
Location: Walk from one end of the beach to the other and back and you will get about 4 kilometres worth of exercise. Great restaurants within walking distance.
This is our second stay at this hotel. We loved it the first time and still loved it the second time! Great staff, great location. Beach front is spectacular! A great place for rest and relaxation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted Dec 1, 2015
I booked my stay with Expedia and when I got to the hotel there was no reservation made. They solved in 10 minutes with my confirmation number. Overall stay was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from humble Texas

bug bitten

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Close to beach.
Cons: The hotel could provide wash cloths. First hotel I have ever been to that didn't.
Hotel was nice and clean, staff was very accommodating. Access to beach and town area was great. Only issue was some type of insect that bite my wife multiple times causing much discomfort to the point we left two days early. I wasn't affected but several other were eaten up also. The taxi drivers told us about the no-seeums. I felt the hotel staff should had warned us to us Off with deet. My wife said she will never go there again. She is still covered in bites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice Hotel on beach

Posted Nov 13, 2015
Pros: Location, Staff & service friendly and ready to assist. Continental breakfast overlooking beach. Quiet and spacious rooms.
Cons: New owner and name "LaPlaya" Nov 1st. Exterior maintenance/ cheanup in progress, keep up the good work.
Location: On the beach, beach beach. plenty of water sport options available, and food options.
Stayed for a week Nov 2015, breakfast overlooking beach, friendly staff. Great value