Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pretty nice to be close to the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Needs renovation
Location: Water sports on the beach
Very quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed our stay. Our room was close to the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario

Great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location location location
Cons: The rooms are aged and need a facelift
Location: The beach is gorgeous with nice chairs and umbrellas. Orient Village and lots restaurants and shops are next door.
The hotel is aged but clean. The location is awesome backing La Playa Beach bar and the Village. Beach chairs and continental breakfast are included. We would stay again. Great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Room and bed very nice. Good T V with many movie stations. great location.
Cons: Breakfast was minimal, but just buy eggs for a few dollars and that made all the difference.
Location: of course the beech , great restaurants in Grand Case
we have been to several hotels in the area. This was the best and most convenient to the beech.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
My wife and I stayed for 10 nights and absolutely loved the grounds to facility staff and the general attitude of everyone involved we are looking to return at the same time next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ma

Love the location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Rooms could use updates ( kitchenette)really old appearance old
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good choice, rent a car

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Right on the beach, and the beach staff catered well to hotel guests.
Cons: The mattress was a little stiff for my taste. Also, we tracked some sand from the beach into the shower which caused some blockage in the drain.
Location: Food is very expensive (and not very impressive) at the touristy restaurants. Try the street food - cheaper and much tastier!
We previously visited the Dutch side on a cruise and wanted to come back to the island. Orient Bay is a nice sandy beach, safe for tourists, and has several dining options nearby. I recommend renting a car (we paid $30/day) and downloading a map of the island from Google Maps ahead of time for directions. You can travel to the other side of the island in about 30-40 minutes, and it's basically one long road. We would have been bored if we weren't able to leave Orient Bay, and taxis are very expensive (it was $20 for the 10 minute trip to Grand Case). La Playa is a great hotel for those who are looking for a quieter vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver, Canada

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Hotel is old. Renovation is required. Management are very tight on customers .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: The rooms were nice and roomy. It was just a short walk through the property to the beach. Having breakfast served at beach front was nice.
Cons: Recommend the hotel make available adaptors for the 220 to 110 fit better. We constantly had to prop things underneath them to hold in our plugs.
Location: Spent most of our time on the beach relaxing. Beachside massage, parasailing was great. Many other forms of water fun was available.
We loved our week-long stay. The beach was beautiful and we enjoyed having the Village of Restaurants so close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Location, beautiful beach and grounds, courteous and helpful staff
Cons: Leaking roof, water pressure on third floor at times
Location: Good with beach, dining and some shopping all close
Pretty grounds with nice beach and attentive staff. Updating rooms currently, but did get moved because of leaking roof. Close to Orient Village with restaurant choices and groceries. Tasty breakfast included with our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel in transition.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. The redesigned guess rooms will be very nice. Breakfast is minimal, but they have added some ala cart items.
Cons: I haven't seen the plans for the current renovations, but this isn't a luxury facility. You have a beautiful beach and an ok pool, hen it is cleaned
Location: It is a little island. Since I was in pain I took it easy.
The hotel how has a new name and is in the process of a major upgrade to the guess rooms. However, it isn't there yet. I toured the new guess room and they will be very nice, however the public areas will still need work. The beach is nice and the location is convenient. My first day coming out of the shower I slide on the bathroom tile floor and nearly killed myself. The existing floors are dangerous. So I was in pain for the rest of my time in St. Martin.