Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely small boutique hotel with amazing views

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Lovely stay at this nice boutique hotel. Staff was amazingly friendly. It is up hill, with great views of Anse Marcel (bay and port), so you will need a car to get to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA, USA

Modern, Clean rooms with amazing views & breakfast

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: breakfast, staff, rooms, view, location
Cons: put the beach outside the room, haha, but they already had a pool. it really was fantastic.
Location: everything was within 5 miles, so great location. at bottom on 5 min drive there was a snorking boat and restaurants and everlasting you could want.
Loved the fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee and basket of fresh baked pastries and jams we got every morning. Eggs and other adds on where extra and where also amazing. Warm and friendly staff was very knowledgeable and rooms were cleaned daily- fridge restocked. Waitstaff and desk remembered our orders and had great wines and other foods to buy to take back to the room. They helped us make reservations and book other events and advised us on travel. View was amazing. the beach was a short 5 min walks downhill but we drove some days- free parking too. Overall best possible experience. Thanks so much!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The Marquis is a beautiful hotel. Much better than the photos show! No more red railings etc... Much classier. The staff was wonderful. Extrememely helpful on where to go and friendly. Made you feel comfortable. :) Would stay there again if we went back to St.Martin.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Brilliant, Unique and Lovely Boutique Hotel

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Great/interesting location, kind staff and beautiful rooms.
Cons: Get to St Maarten airport early on the way back as efficiency is not their forte
Location: Each beach has its own character/purpose - Orient-classic, nice tourist beach; Anse Marcel/Happy - more seclusion; Grand Case - restaurants/lolos, etc
The Marquis Boutique Hotel is a wonderful, hidden getaway on the top of the mountain overlooking Anse Marcel Beach. The staff (thanks much to Christina, Cecilia and Ana), hotel and views are all first-class. Yes, it is a bit of an adventurous ride to get there in a 1.2l Hyundai (if you are staying on the French St. Martin side a rental car is all but a must), but well worth it as it provides a great base at the northern tip of the island to go exploring. The hotel overlooks the beach and the much more generic Riu All-Inclusive resort (thank goodness we did not stay there), and is an easy drive once you get the lay of the land to the Grand Case restaurants (which is really more of an alley:) and to the more touristy but grand Orient Bay. A must-visit as was suggested us by the Marquis staff was Friar's Bay and from there a short hike to the lovely and quite hidden "Happy Beach" We did our research but were still a bit surprised at how "raw" much of Saint Martin still is - if you are looking for an easy, all-inclusive Caribbean experience then this may not be for you or may want to stick to the more 'Western" Dutch side of the island. But if you like some adventure, driving straight up mountains on semi-paved roads and experiencing a touch of French language and culture in the West Indies, then this is a wonderful place to gain some memories.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

Hilltop Heaven!

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Moira. Quiet. The staff. Shuttle service. proximity to Anse Marcel. Views, walks, simple breakfast. proximity to retos in Cul de sac and Grand case.
Cons: Pillows not that comfy!
Location: Walk to Petite Caye, kayak to Pinel, eat in cul de sac, Grand case, Anse Marcel beach, Buy Champagne, bread and lunch and Coqqui mart.
This was the second stay in 6 months for my wife and I and it was like coming home. Moira the Marquis manager welcomed us like old friends and the only thing changed is three fresh new Swiss interns who were fabulous. Really nothing is too much trouble from the simple breakfast, coffee and rolls, sitting on the room deck looking down 600feet to the Anse Marcel beach resort enjoying wine from the local store or the Marquis fridge. The girls are always avaialble to run you down to the beach or the local resto's in Cul de Sac 3 miles away up and over Pigeon hill (great views). You need a car really to get to the local beaches, nature walks, hike to petite Caye or just feed the donkeys. We love the place ad will keep returning. Bad for the waistline this place though. We also received a wonderful upgrade into the best room ...thanks wonderful Moira!! Only 17 rooms. Super relaxation and comfortable. Don't go if you want an antiseptic Marriot experience, all inclusive, nighttime shows or a floating river.
5 out of 5
by james from Aledo

Superb

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful small get getaway hotel.

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Van service to beaches, restaurants. Wonderful views from every room. Away from the crowds, but close enough that you can get to them if you wish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stamford, CT

Hotel with mountain and bay view

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Location and service of staff
Cons: Very minor but we had to request for more coffee almost everyday.
Location: The Anse Marcel beach is closeby. Grand case has good restaurants and most beaches are a 15 min drive.
We a family of four with two kids stayed at the Marquis boutique for five nights. Our views from the hotel balcony were simply breathtaking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in particular our morning coffee sitting on the patio. The hotel receptionalists, Christina and Emma gave great suggestions about things to do and eat on the island. A car is a must to enjoy the island fully. The views from hotel of the surrounding mountains and bay are simply panaromic. You can simply sit anywhere on the hotel and admire the beauty of nature doing nothing but just sipping a drink for a whole day and relaxing. We loved the Le Galion beach and watched a beautiful sunset at Mullet bay. We had an American breakfast at 13 Travaux of Hercules, Cul de sac and lunch at Lady lizard beach bar and grill in Phillisburg. The hotel provides shuttle service to nearby restaurants in Cul de sac. The grand case area has great restaurants and is a 15 min drive while the airport is 45 min away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US Virgin Islands

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Huge beautiful room and balcony with amazing view. Great Continental breakfast with awesome coffee (gotta adore the French). Lovely helpful staff!
Cons: Not much to improve. The hotel is relatively far removed from bustling St. Martin, but that is probably by design and is the reason I will return
Location: Gran Case is fun and enchanting. Restaurants line the beach, the food is French and amazing. Then a swim in clear turquoise water. Lovely.
I spent a weekend at this lovely hotel, traveling alone. The Marquis Boutique Hotel is quite simply gorgeous and amazingly tranquil. I had a fantastic stay that was not near long enough. The view from the room was breathtaking, the staff was warm and beautiful, and the continental breakfast and coffee superb. That said I would not recommend this hotel to someone who needed to be around action while on vacation or who wanted to hang in town or at Orient Beach all night. The place is relatively far from everything. Gran Case, a lively touristy beach village is only 10 minutes away by car......but you must have your own vehicle if you want to see or explore much of the island besides Anse Marcel. For those that really want a tranquil fantastically beautiful rest however, this is your place!