Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Request the Lighthouse

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The condo we stayed in was in the Lighthouse and the unit was so spacious, well equipped and had wonderful views of the cove as well as the ocean.
Cons: The resort's beach is a little lacking, but there are plenty of beaches to get to easily.
Location: Location was great, easy to walk to restaurants and the marina for snorkeling trips. We recommend snorkeling with Captain Alan, he was wonderful!
We loved the Oyster Bay Resort, but I think that was because we had the most beautiful room in the Lighthouse. The staff was not very friendly upon check-in, so we were nervous. Once we got to our room (a 3 bedroom condo) everything changed. It was beautiful, had everything we needed, and we could not have been happier. The Lighthouse has its own fitness center, pool and hot tub, very nice! Housekeeping kept things spotless. The activities desk was helpful but actually didn't always give us the best answers we found, and the front desk was never staffed with anyone who seemed interested in being in a good mood. We will come back for sure though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The ambience, view from pool area, and staff made this hotel very enjoyable
We just returned from a 6 night stay at OBBR. The hotel, grounds and pool areas are all very clean and well kept. We had a courtyard room with ocean view which was very nice and as advertised. Our room was on the second floor above the bar area which made coming and going very convenient. There was karaoke one night which was so loud it felt like were actually in the bar, but they wrapped it up around 10:00pm so it was not a bother at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the maid service was excellent. The hotel set up was very unique and had the feeling of a small boutique resort. The marina and houses on the hill added to the overall charm. We did not eat in the restaurants as we rented a car with the intention of enjoying the many many dining choices on both the dutch and french sides. The only downside I would caution is that this resort is somewhat remote and off the beaten path. There are good restaurants close by (Mr. Busbees for breakfast was awesome, Canoa for a nice evening meal); however, unless you plan on staying in the resort almost all of the time, you would definitely want a car and need to plan on a bit of travel to get to Simpson Bay, Phillipsburg, Marigot or Grand Case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frenchtown NJ

birthday celebration

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The quietness and sanctuary feeling it gave me. The staff was super friendly !
Cons: Put a solid door in the bathroom instead of the slatted one.
We stayed for 6 nights with our BFFs to celebrate my husband's 50th. As it turned out it was also a much needed vaction for me because I just finished chemo for breast cancer. This resort was in a quieter area of St Maarten which made it feel like a sanctuary to me. It is located near a beautiful marina. There are 4 to 5 restaurants within a 3 minute walk, also a store for gifts/souveniers and also a store with groceries and personal needs. The rooms were a little small but the décor was beautiful. Our room was spotless. Usually you find a straggler hair that the cleaning staff left behind but there weren't any. The resort has a nice bar and open courtyard, nice pool and hot tub. We didn't swim in the nearby Dawn Beach because there was an abundance of sea weed, but enjoyed Mullet Bay, Maho Beach and Cupecoy. I recommend renting a car, we had a jeep which was great because some of the roads are bumpy. The jeep took us to the top of Pic Paradis, breathtaking views of the island. We drove to Marigot and took the ferry to Anguilla for a day trip. Marigot and Grand Case and Phillipsburg and SimpsonBay are all within a 15 to 20 minute drive from Oyster Bay. I loved the resort and would definitely book it again if we return to St. Maarten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Quiet out of the way place. Perfect for R and R

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Quiet and out of the way
Friendly staff, great beach good restraunts close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Good beach, private, clean. Better to know in advance how transportation works in St. Maarten. Taxi cost was very high for family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Great hotel with nice rooms. A beautiful pool and ocean view. A very friendly staff with good food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finger Lakes

Lots to do close by.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
OBBR has a variety of great features at the resort, but also restaurants and activities nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Ricardo Perez, GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers, hope to see you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Coral, FL

Relaxing resort away from St. Martin traffic

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The ease of walking down to Dawn Beach and relaxing there for hours. It was very windy during our visit, and the beach got very little debris.
Cons: There was confusion upon arrival at the hotel with the "welcome package" which was half normal hotel information and half time share info.
Location: A little isolated from touring around. You need a car in my opinion.
Overall very good experience. The layout is very pleasing for meandering around. The resort has a cozy, welcoming feel. Not too fancy. Just right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Wonderful clean hotel.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Oyster bay was a great family resort . The food was wonderful, rooms were clean. The mattress was not comfortable and the location was very secluded and a lot of money in taxis! Definitely need a car!! We had a great experience and I would recommend it to any friends!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to share with us your experience. Hope that you will consider us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great Vacation

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, beach.
Cons: Taxi service could have been more reliable.
Location: Shopping wasn't that far away. Plenty of places to eat nearby as well as others just a taxi ride away.
Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Everyone went out of their way to ensure our comfort and enjoyment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Ricardo Perez, GM, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you consider us again in the near future.