Ratings based on 751 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful last minute getaway

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Lovely environment. Fantastic staff. So friendly. Not too big. We loved it.
Cons: The majority of meals are taken at buffet - variety and choice was excellent. Food was good, but almost always room temperature. Never hot.
Location: we didn't move....enjoyed every moment on site.
We loved the Riu Palace. Lovely environment, fantastic friendly staff. Felt welcomed and comfortable from the moment we stepped into the lobby. Great and varied food options. Clean, quiet. Can't say enough about the staff. We loved it here. Only issue was the beach - definitely NOT as big as it looks in the pictures. And we were there after a storm. The beach was COVERED with seaweed - and it took them a couple of days to clean up. Yuck. We walked down to the public beach next door and swam there, so no harm. But they should have cleaned it sooner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Was a wonderful experience -- beautiful view, friendly staff, food was delicious, rooms were sizable and very comfortable! A great trip shared with friends and will be remembered!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Just OK

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Room was excellent Hotel territory/facilities/pool were good Food in French restaurant and steak house was OK Food in buffet was terrible and very limited Beach is very small and was dirty with sea weed during our stay. It took them 2 days to clean it up. There were also a lot of sea weed in the ocean, other beaches don't seem to get it (we've visited Grand Case and Maho beaches)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC, New York

We Can't Wait To Come Back!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: The location was a huge factor in our choice as it is somewhat secluded, romantic and tranquil.
Cons: 1) Improve quality of cooking & recipes at La Mer and Krystal. 2) Grab bars are needed inside and outside the shower stall for safety.
Location: As we only stayed for 5 nights, we didn't explore the surrounding environment. We would like to see some of the nearby islands when we return.
Overall we had a great experience. The resort location in a cove between two mountains on the sea was very romantic; the view was spectacular. Our accommodations were lovely and comfortable (we had a suite facing the marina). All of the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great resort for couples of any age, including those with children. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets provided excellent choices and quality food, and their menus changed daily. From our perspective, it was far superior having the dinner buffet than eating at the other restaurants on the property, which were disappointing. That said, this didn't spoil a wonderful, relaxing experience. The selection of beverages, including wine and liquor, was great. It is a very quiet all-inclusive resort, which suited us perfectly. No parties are allowed. This might not suit some, but it worked for us very well. The spa experience was excellent. We enjoyed getting Swedish massages. We made this trip, in part, to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel management sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries to our room on her birthday. We were pleasantly surprised and delighted by this gesture. We just came back to NYC yesterday and are already dreaming about our return to Riu Palace, St. Martin, Anse Marcel. Merci Beaucoup. A bientot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. C.

Outstanding pool and beach access

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The pool, the beach, the service, the food!
Cons: Overall maintenance including grounds, facilities, and gym equipment. Also, more attempts for entertainment in the early evening.
Location: We rented a car and used that for daily outings - the best of both worlds! We saw everything and especially enjoyed the market day at Marigot!
Lots of potential: Food at the buffet was varied and excellent! The pool is absolutely awesome - and the beach is small but lovely. Huge difference between the Dutch and French sides - this venue was serene and beautiful. The wait staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. Negatives: Gym should have been more than adequate but several key machines were out of order. Lots of maintenance needed - ex. several gates into the pool were broken. Rooms appear to have been updated except for the carpet which was disgusting. It is very family friendly; however, a few families let their children run, especially at dinners. Evenings were extremely slow. Nice piano in the lobby - no one ever played it. We will definitely go back, but I would recommend it to others with a few caveats.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Beach
Not the best and not the worst, just average resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Forest Hills, NYC

Below average

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: no
Cons: major renovation
I am a business person and travel a lot for work. I manage my business residing in different resorts from time to time. Do not expect a lot but to be honest the experience was disappointing: outdated facilities and poor food choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best place in st.Martin

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Orbitz
It's a beautiful resort. We had an unexpectedly great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Located on a quiet beach

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Orbitz
We spent a week with our friends here, 10 ppl from NY and Phila. All of us agreed at the end that it was a very successful trip and a very joyful vacation. Specially, after we visited some other areas of this island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had very good time

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Very comphortable accommodation, Nice yard, good view on marine or yard, Nice pool with anough space, tents and chairs,very good beach in lagoon, very good food and drinks