Ratings based on 751 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Private beach and resort for the happy Travler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Location: Taxi will cost $40 fro the airport
The place is great altogether. pool is fantastic,private lagoon and beach. food around the clock and nice employees that try to make your stay pleasant. Rooms are nice and clean but not modern. peaceful vibe recommended to go for trips in the Island especially at Orient Beach. nice village in a nice island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick, NY

All inclusive, no need to leave!

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: evening entertainment
Location: Beautiful location, went on a great boat trip to snorkel on a nearby island, but didn't see any fish or turtles.
Great place for a quick getaway, could of used another day or two!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location but disappointing experience

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast as Le Marche, the pool and the beach.
Cons: If you have guests staying for 6 nights please help them get to experience each of the three restaurants at least once. Price did not equal the value.
Location: Beautiful beaches and mountain scenery away from it all on the northern French side of St. Martin. Go to Petites Cayes!
We love Anse Marcel but the dinning experience at RIU was well below our expectations. Not wanting to wait on line for 20 minutes before 6:30 PM to wait for a table at Krystal, the fusion restaurant or L'lle Grill steakhouse, we were left to eat at Le Mer three times. We know that all-inclusives are not known for the greatest of dining experiences but RIU fell way short of our modest expectations. This was our second visit to RIU and probably our last. We opted to go to Grand Case for dinner the other nights and I'm glad we did. The restaurants in Grand Case are some of the best in the West Indies. The location is fantastic and you should definitely make the hike to Petites Cayes if you go. It's worth the hike to the secluded, untouched gorgeous beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exactly what we wanted

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Peaceful friendly beautiful easiest experience great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful views and great escape away from everyth

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: It was a little tough to get into the best restaurant, yet the food for dinner was always spot on. The beds could be a little better on our backs
Location: We took the big yellow boat to Tintamarre and Anguilla. This is a must do again
This hotel is in very nice shape and the pool and views are stunning. The staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. they served all of our needs. The concierge, Alain, delivered. The cab driver they set us up with, Albert, was gracious and a great tour guide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful location, great pool, beach and booze.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Beach. Nature. Iguanas.
Cons: Don't offer 'resort credits' since they're not resort credits. Better service at the restaurant.
Location: Can't beat the beach. It's secluded from everything though, need a car / taxi.
Went with 2 kids (8 & 1). Kids club is small, but animator is enthusiastic. Great drinks service at the pool or bar. You don't have to ask, they come to you. Little sea equipment for free (only couple kayaks), but a paid water sports with excursions available. Resort credits are a scam. They are discounts on expensive services, some of which are not even attached to the hotel (like $100 off a $500 purchase at a jewelry store on the other side of the island). Some others are $200 off a wedding package (in case you did not plan your wedding before coming). Scam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan usa

Nice hotel on its own lagoon and beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
All inclusive had 3 excellent restaurants. Can have filet minon every night if you want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, clean beach , friendly staff

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Was great experience overall, great service Food is delicious with lots of varieties to accommodate everyone Great view beach between the mountains
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The grounds were very nice. Beach and pool were beautiful. Food was very good, better than expected. However the rooms need to be updated and smelled a bit, not very clean. Also we paid extra for a "marina view" and it was more like a view of the river, not boats. Last thing- we booked with the assumption we would have $500 "resort credits". These are NOT resort credits to use how you wish- they are more like coupons for select services and products- we didn't use any of them. That was very frustrating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mountain Top, Pa

RIU, St Martin - Disappointing

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location Water & Beach also staff: waiters and bartenders were very nice , front desk didn't want to here anything when Resort Credit was brought up
Cons: RIU beach had lots of sea weed all week, resort next door cleaned theirs up first morning with a tractor, it took RIU four days with wheelbarrows ?
Location: Nice location With Marina, Hire Resort next door to rake your beach
The RIU St Martin is dated and very disappointing expected same level as other RIU's not worth what we spent, swimming pool seemed to have issues every day, hot tub or kiddie pool ? I was told it was a hot tub but no heat ? food is ok if you intend on eating all you meals at the buffet. Very difficult to get into Krystal, French or Steak House. You are told to wait in line at 6PM to see if you can get in and if you do not make it you will be put on a list for a possible 8:10 seating, what a joke ( no reservations but took second seating's for private parties a couple nights in a row ) We did get into Krystal one night at 8PM only to find four tables used and six empty and turning away guests as we came in ? no idea why. poor Management. On Expedia they offer a $510 Resort Credit, ( truly a $0 Resort Credit ) they give you discount coupons to other outside vendors who want cash, not room charges ( False Advertising ? ) I will say the waiters & bartenders were all very nice & friendly.