Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice place to stay on a good beach

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Our junior suite was very roomy and comfortable. The food was good for the most part, for an all-inclusive.
Cons: My only complaint the whole week was getting the room serviced late in the day. I would have preferred them to do it in the morning
Location: This hotel is on the far end of the island from the airport. There were a few shops nearby and its not too far from other beaches and villages.
We had some difficulty finding the hotel in the dark because our flight was late and luggage was lost. The hotel is a good 45 minute drive (if you know where you are going) from the main airport. Once we found our way we really liked the location and the beach although it is a small beach. We spent some of our days going to the other beaches. The pool is very nice and the staff was friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Nice place friendly staff relaxed atmosphere really enjoyed the stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great resort on the French side

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: The grounds were kept up very well and the rooms were clean.
Cons: Keep the Iguana poop cleaned up. We noticed it on the sidewalk for days during our week.
Location: Very secluded area. Some excursions you had to find your own transportation to get to them but many had a bus to pick you up.
My husband and I stayed a week at the Riu. We read the reviews prior to booking. Many people were complaining mostly that staff were rude, not helpful and they would not recommend this resort. I have to disagree completely. We found our stay to be a great experience. The restaurants were very good. The buffet was good. From the time we checked in until we left, the staff were always doing anything they could to make sure we were having a great time. Wagner was such a helpful person when it came to booking excursions. He went above and beyond what we expected. The bartender, Brenten, at Coco Bar was great too. He made some great dirty bananas and always had a smile on his face. The staff at the Krystal restaurant, Jemila and Guillaume, were fantastic and fun. Our wine glasses were always full, the food was delicious and they made wonderful suggestions when we didn't know what to order. The Steakhouse was great. Our steaks were prepared perfectly. The portion sizes were hearty and the meals were delicious. Overall we were very satisfied with our resort and we had a wonderful week at the Riu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice Smaller Resort

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Pool, beach, food, scenery
Cons: It would be nice if the front desk had a supply of power converters. Wifi service could be improved. An actual shuttle to the airport.
Location: It is in a beautiful location but there are very few things closeby off the resort. Most everything requires a taxi ride.
This hotel has recently been acquired by the chain and they are working to bring it up to a higher standard. The rooms have been updated but some areas of the resort are still a bit run down. The pool is very nice with plenty of lounge chairs. The beach is a bit small so even though they have as many lounge chairs as possible, it is difficult to get one unless you are out before 10am. They have around 4 restaurants and one buffet and the food is quite good. You can generally get food at almost any time of the day. If you are from the states don't forget to bring a power converter. Wifi was a bit unpredictable. Most entertainment ends around 10pm and we heard that it was best not to go off the property at night. That wasn't a problem for us because we had small children in our group, but if you are looking for nightly entertainment this isn't it. The resort is situated on a beautiful bay surrounded by hills. It is a very beautiful setting and the water is perfect. The employees were generally very courteous and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Quiet relaxing place

Posted Dec 30, 2015
While check in was a bit confusing, the staff was very friendly and every request made during our stay was quickly fulfilled. While our bathroom was very clean and updated, the room was more basic and the overall cleanliness of the halls, floors, doors was not so good, certainly not 4 star. The buffet food was excellent, and again the staff great. Pool large and beach private and calm. Wonderful place to soak up sun. Disadvantages are distance from anything else, so be prepared to spend on taxis to take you everywhere since the resort is a little to quiet for teenagers or someone looking for shopping or more action.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buenos aires

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Location: Está ubicado al norte de la isla . Para paseos es ideal alquilar un auto pero el hotel tiene todo lo que se necesesita para una semana de descanso .
Ideal para una semana de descanso . Ideal para parejas jóvenes con chicos .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Best hotel on the island

Posted Dec 20, 2015
We toured around the island and visited a few of the other hotels. We can safely say that we picked the best hotel and best beach on the island!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: nice place.
Cons: designed smoking area
over wall good experience. did not like they allowed smoking everywhere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Magnifique séjour en famille. Les repas au buffet sont excellent ainsi que le personnel. Séjour à refaire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Nice hotel very close to the beach and the water w

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: It is close to the beach.
Location: Will be very nice if you have a shuttle bus to go in Dutch side for visit.
other vacations we went to Riu palace hotels and we love Riu Hotel