Ratings based on 705 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad food

Posted Oct 18, 2016
They need more restaurants too many buffets. Need a swim up bar. More activities at night more music need a casino. As well more snacks and stores for souvenirs. Will not be going again to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo, NY

Not a 5 star hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: About 25min ride from airport....about 30min ride to Maho Beach
Not your typical "all inclusive" vacation - the view of the beach is amazing, the pool is great, the rooms could be more updated, if you want something relaxing and dont plan on leaving the resort - this is for you. The bars & entertainment all close at 12(midnight) after that there is literally nothing to do but go to sleep, the room service menu has a total of 10 things to chose from. There are a total of 4 restaraunts (you dont need reservations for any- it is first come first serve) all 4 restaraunts are not open every night, there is always 2 open - the buffet and another option, in my opinion with all inclusive they should all be open every night- the food was very repetative, nothing new, always same options. The staff was great, very fun and personable, Rolinda was my favorite at the poolside bar - there is no swim up bar. The resort is like in your own private area, nothing around it, takes a while for a taxi to come. I feel that the amount of money I paid for this vacation, it could have been better this was for my 30th birthday - I have stayed at a RIU in Cabo, Mexico and it was way better then this one. Our group was 5 people ages 27 thru 49
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice all inclusive resort

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Beautiful location, nicely manicured grounds. Excellent food and beverages Great pool and beach Extremely pleasant and accommodating staff
Cons: Desperately needs renovation in the hallways, carpeting etc. Curtail activity of iguanas around pool area and insist that guests not feed them.
Location: Tour of island by knowledgeable locals
Very pleasant stay. Very professional and accommodating staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Quiet secluded location with private beach

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Pros: Exceptionally friendly staff, all inclusive so save money on meals, good food, nice quiet location.
Cons: Secluded so if you want to explore, you will need a rental car or taxi (not a "con" but something to be aware of when booking)
Location: Located in a private location and is secluded so if you want to explore the island, you will need a car.
The exceptional thing about this resort is the friendly and eager to please staff, quiet location right on the ocean as well as a nice large pool with private cabanas. This location was ideal for us because we wanted to relax and have some quiet beach time, if you are looking for exciting nightlife and parties, probably not the place for you but this resort was exactly what we were looking for. Employees are all exceptional and seem to take pride in their jobs. We had never stayed at a Riu before, this was a great first experience with the Riu chain. Taxi ride from the SXM airport was $40.00. We stayed in room 1208, which had a nice view of the courtyard. This is an all inclusive resort so you don't spend any money on food or drinks which was nice, (tipping will go a long way here with bartenders and housekeeping) but recommend you take advantage of the specialty restaurants (which require reservations) to switch things up so you don't get tired of the daily buffet offerings after a few days. This resort is not within walking distance of anything so if you want to explore the island, you will need to rent a car or take a taxi but we found we didn't need to leave. Hotel staff is happy to help make whatever arrangements you may need, and you can take a charter from the hotel beach to Anguilla. Check-in and check out were both very easy. We will definitely stay here again! One of the best vacations we have ever had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

BEAUTIFUL beach and location but AWFUL hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location Infinity Pool
Cons: AC that goes below 23 degrees Friendlier female bartenders Later closing times for towel service BETTER 24 'all inclusive' meal options
Location: Anse Marcel is gorgeous, it's like a private and secluded ocean bay enclosing just for the hotel.
- Start by I arrived to the hotel and no one bothered to get my bags, I had to ask. - On room arrival, there appeared to be what were several blood stains on the carpet. After reporting it, they said it was aloe after it dries (turns from green to dark red/brown), still skeptical about that but regardless, how is it possible it wasn't washed or cleaned PRIOR to having a new guest arrive? And they wouldn't change my room. - The 'daily' filled minibar was half-full when I got my room and still had half-empty-open sodas from the previous guest (gross). - A.C. would NOT go below 23 degrees in the HOT Caribbean and staff said they couldn't do anything about it. - I ordered the '24 hour room service' which turned out to be grand choice of ONLY 5 POOR snacks, I got two salmon bagels with cream cheese on the side, chopped lettuce, no dressing, a sliced week-old lime and did I mention the bagels were TINY (joke)? - Ordered a glass of champagne, which the butler dropped and broke, partially cleaned it up, I say partially because the next day I stepped on a remaining piece of glass and the day after that on another! Not only the butler but maid did NOT properly clean room. - The food was 'ok' at best with low variety, with the exception of 'Krystal' which ONLY took 26 guests and required reservations. - Several staff just looked miserable. - Tours got cancelled not because of weather. - The ONLY plus is the beautiful beach/location (GORGEOUS) and the infinity pool.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

All inclusive with very good quality

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This hotel was very nice. There were many food options available at all of the meals. The staff were very friendly and the highlight of the hotel. The condition of the hotel is very good. There are a few minor repairs that were being made but overall it was a good quality hotel. I would recommend going here if you are looking for a good value all inclusive option. Most of the drinks were made very well and were very good quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York


Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Some staff members were very friendly and my room was nice and clean.
Location: The location is terrible and there is nothing to do except eat and swim! The resort needs to include more water sports and activities for teenagers.
If you are not eating or swimming, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO!!! The food is mediocre at best! There are no activities that are apart of the all inclusive package. The hotel is in the mountains, it is hard to find, and there is nothing to do on the French side. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Excellent Hotel with its own private Beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
If you looking for a quiet place to relax and unwind then this is the place for you. It was my first time staying in a RIU buy I must say I was impressed. Everyone was friendly and definitely made you feel welcomed. Everyone from check in all the way to the techs always had a smile on there face. The food was pretty good. The only thing that I wished was that there was walk up pool bar and better night entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

French side hotel, secluded and quiet.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Quiet & out of the way hotel on the French side. Some hiking trails that can take you to some beautiful beaches. All the major tourist attractions are on the Dutch side. Would highly recommend renting a car, taxi's are a bit pricey. Typical RIU buffets & 3 different restaurants. Friendly staff. We found out its the smallest of all RIU Palaces.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Great trip!!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Service and the property was beautiful.
Cons: Aside from the gorgeous pools and lounge areas. Some cement and tiles seemed to be lifting. This will not deter my revisit!! Just FYI for maintenance.
Location: The excursion consisted of a boat ride, snorkeling, swimming with the turtles, lunch and drinks!!
I was very pleased with the entire stay at the Riu. I especially appreciate Ms. Love from the nightly shows. She was one of the waitresses who took care of us and always made sure we were ok. She remembered what we enjoyed and kept them coming. The rest of the staff was nice as well. Everyone made our stay one of the best we have ever experienced. The hotel was very nice. The excursion we booked included swimming with turtles which was awesome. We also booked massages which were great. Well worth it.