Ratings based on 525 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC, New York

We Can't Wait To Come Back!

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: The location was a huge factor in our choice as it is somewhat secluded, romantic and tranquil.
Cons: 1) Improve quality of cooking & recipes at La Mer and Krystal. 2) Grab bars are needed inside and outside the shower stall for safety.
Location: As we only stayed for 5 nights, we didn't explore the surrounding environment. We would like to see some of the nearby islands when we return.
Overall we had a great experience. The resort location in a cove between two mountains on the sea was very romantic; the view was spectacular. Our accommodations were lovely and comfortable (we had a suite facing the marina). All of the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great resort for couples of any age, including those with children. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets provided excellent choices and quality food, and their menus changed daily. From our perspective, it was far superior having the dinner buffet than eating at the other restaurants on the property, which were disappointing. That said, this didn't spoil a wonderful, relaxing experience. The selection of beverages, including wine and liquor, was great. It is a very quiet all-inclusive resort, which suited us perfectly. No parties are allowed. This might not suit some, but it worked for us very well. The spa experience was excellent. We enjoyed getting Swedish massages. We made this trip, in part, to celebrate my wife's birthday. The hotel management sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries to our room on her birthday. We were pleasantly surprised and delighted by this gesture. We just came back to NYC yesterday and are already dreaming about our return to Riu Palace, St. Martin, Anse Marcel. Merci Beaucoup. A bientot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. C.

Outstanding pool and beach access

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The pool, the beach, the service, the food!
Cons: Overall maintenance including grounds, facilities, and gym equipment. Also, more attempts for entertainment in the early evening.
Location: We rented a car and used that for daily outings - the best of both worlds! We saw everything and especially enjoyed the market day at Marigot!
Lots of potential: Food at the buffet was varied and excellent! The pool is absolutely awesome - and the beach is small but lovely. Huge difference between the Dutch and French sides - this venue was serene and beautiful. The wait staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. Negatives: Gym should have been more than adequate but several key machines were out of order. Lots of maintenance needed - ex. several gates into the pool were broken. Rooms appear to have been updated except for the carpet which was disgusting. It is very family friendly; however, a few families let their children run, especially at dinners. Evenings were extremely slow. Nice piano in the lobby - no one ever played it. We will definitely go back, but I would recommend it to others with a few caveats.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Beach
Not the best and not the worst, just average resort
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Forest Hills, NYC

Below average

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: no
Cons: major renovation
I am a business person and travel a lot for work. I manage my business residing in different resorts from time to time. Do not expect a lot but to be honest the experience was disappointing: outdated facilities and poor food choice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Lovely hotel, comfortable room, wonderful beach

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We loved the hotel and would stay there again. Our only complaint was how far away from everything it was. We ended up renting a car, which we were able to do from in the hotel lobby, which solved the problem. We had a junior suite Overlooking the marina. Our view was lovely and the room was very large. King sized bed with a nice seating area in a seperate room. The food and drinks were great and the hotel staff was very friendly. There were iguanas everywhere which added to the charm for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Big Let Down

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Surrounding hills were beautiful and relaxing
Cons: Major upgrades needs to be done to the property in order to live up to the Riu name.
Stayed at Riu Palaces in other countries and this resort was a huge disappointment. - We received a note in our door the first night saying the pool would be closed the next day due to "technical problem" however the work done on the pool was not an emergency situation but clearly planned maintenance. Since these were massive repairs we should have been notified prior to arriving of this situation and that the pool would not be available our entire trip. The pool was the main selling point for us to come to this particular resort. - Multiple bee hives above main walking routes from rooms to beach and eating areas - Broken stones in the walking paths that we tripped on multiple times - Mold at different places in the property - Missing ice machine on multiple floors - Stained carpet in the room and in the hallways - Towels were not picked up off the beach chairs and area from the night before - The buffet was not regularly maintained. Times had to request sauces to be refilled and serving spoon were submerged in various jams and spreads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Returned for second vacation

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Remoteness and beach
Cons: More variety of wine and consistency of offering. For instance Tripiche was not offered at the Lobby Bar but was available else where.
Location: Grand Case has excellent restaurants if you are interested in eating off property. Orient Beach is close by if you want a beach with a bit more to do
Vacationed over Thanksgiving last year and returned this year for the week before. Property is well maintained and marina suites are large and comfortable. Our friend had a room in the main buildings and she was very disappointed. The cover on the bed was frayed and the room and hallway smelled damp. She changed her room to a marina room and was much happier. We ate off property a couple nights as were we bored with the restaurant menus as they were the same as last year. Otherwise the food and drinks are good! we enjoy the variety of food offered in the cafeteria style restaurant. Will be back again next year 😊
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, United States of America

Dirty, old property.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Property's buildings and grounds are in need of major repairs. The swimming pool was out of order for two days. The buffet was out of eggs one morning and out of cream for coffee for three days. Expect to be eaten alive by mosquitos, bugs and insects that are everywhere. The only good thing going for this hotel is the mountainous backdrop and Anse Marcel beach. Everything else was Dissapointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Friendly staff in a great secluded location.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: All-inclusive, friendly staff, great beach and location, activities, food options.
Cons: Some of the guests were pretty rude and would awkwardly stare you down as you walked by and comment. I think you'd find this anywhere though.
Location: In/Along the nature reserve so it's pretty secluded and sparsely populated. Not far from Marigot if you want some of the best shopping prices.
My wife and I stayed for just over a week for our honeymoon and could not have been happier with the staff, food, and amenities. From check-in to check-out, everyone on the staff was very helpful and very friendly. They have a great variety in their cuisine and multiple dining options depending on your taste and how formal/casual you prefer your meals. They have a great buffet with a few live cooking stations (differences in menu items are very subtle) and three other dining options which provide four course meals, part of the all-inclusive as well! I've read reviews that have stated that you need to get up early to make dinner reservations. This recently changed to being first come, first serve. Also be aware of the dress code for dinner. Shorts and a t-shirt are typically ok for the buffet, however, the other dining options require long pants for men and a nice shirt. Women are typically fine with most dresses or other nice casual attire. Think modesty when dressing for dinner. The rooms are very similar to what you would find in a nice hotel in the US with the addition of a mini-bar with a shot dispenser just in case you can suffice with a more basic mixed drink (i.e. soda and liquor). There are plenty of activities between the pool, the beach, and the water sport vendors on the beach. Some of the more basic activities (i.e. paddleboard, kayak, snorkel) were free for RIU guests. The iguanas on the property were also a hit and were not shy of the pool guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: restaurant service, as well as menu and food. Also the entertainment.
Location: Location near beach
The lobby needs to be updated. There are no attractions upon entrance. The bar in the lobby needs to be cleaned as well.