Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

will not stay here again

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything needs to be improved...bathroom shower have meldew
Location: location was good
book a 7 night stay had to move to a different room on the 5 th day because another family is coming in to stay in the room we were already in...so why put us in this room to begin with? doesnt make sense staff not nice at all or understanding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Great Family Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Everything, Best vacation Ever
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything just outside the door
My family loved this hotel, and we plan to return next year, great location, friendly ppl and staff and very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

Great location and good property

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, fully functional spacious 2 bedroom units. Location. Views.
Cons: Service was not stellar. Housekeeping should be more regular. Mosquito screens are a requyirement.
Location: Simpson Bay area. Lots of restaurant and entertainment within walking distance.
Check in was fine. There was no housekeeping during the three days of my stay but they did forewarn that its a "timeshare property" and as such that there is no daily housekeeping service. That aside, the unit was fine - it was well cleaned upon arrival and well apportioned including all required cutlery dining and kitchenware. The pillows were comfortable; the beds could do with being changed however. The hotel gets A+ for location and views - the rooms appear all to be beachfront. However there are HUGE mosquitos and only one of our two sliding doors to the balcony had mosquito screens. Overall great property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Great vacation

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: clean and spacious suites, centrally located, only 4 stories high
Location: lots to do in area on land and on the ocean; close to buses and lots of taxis if you don't want to drive close to bridge to watch boats sail
lovely beach, friendly staff, centrally located for restaurants, activities, grocery stores and local buses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MARSHALL WI

Room and everything that was advertised was great

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Location and the water.
Cons: Rack the beach area every day. Lower the prices in St Maarten
Location: Location was great for food and groceries, right across the street. Easy to get cab or bus.
Beautiful weather and right on our own beach. Sunny everyday and beautiful sunsets. We all loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxation

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Stunning view, fabulous restaurant and service. Definitely will be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

initial experience very disappointing

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Once we finally got checked it was great. The 2 bedroom was comfortable clean and loved the location
Cons: Check in was terrible experience.
Location: Location was great if you do not want to rent a car. Lots of restaurants and bars across the street. Buses can take you anywhere for $2.
At check in we were told they were overbooked and they did not have a room for us. They wanted us to stay at their hotel by Phillipsburg which we refused. They could not get us into the Royal Palm and we stayed elsewhere for 2 nights with friends. The hotel staff and myself contacted Expedia and I am told I will be refunded for the 2 nights. Still has not been credited back to my visa however they told me it could take up to 2 weeks.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Royal Palm Beach Resort, Hotel Management
Hi Mary, we hope the refund has post to your account and we would like to ask that you contact us directly if this is not the case. We apologize for the anomalies you experienced but thank you for letting us know so that we may have opportunities to rectify any areas which require attention. We hope your travels return you to one of our many locations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The room was not ready 1 hour after check in time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No rooms available.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
So disappointed, we were told there are no rooms available in the hotel so we were sent to another hotel about a mile away which I have stayed at before but would not wanted to stay at again after the experience I had there the first time.The room I booked was on the beach with ocean views, the room we received was no where near the beach looking at a car park. What a joke! Terrible experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Royal Palm Beach Resort , Hotel Management
We certainly understand the importance of efficiency and have shared your comments with the appropriate teams to address further. During periods of high occupancy offering an alternative that will not terribly inconvenience your family is always suggested. We hope this has not deterred you from visiting one of our many other locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, great staff

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Overall great experience. The location is definitely the best feature of this hotel for those looking for lots of conveniences within walking distance. Tons of restaurants, bars, shops, casinos, etc. within walking distance. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well kept & clean. The hotel amenities are satisfactory, nothing special thou. Overall, its a great place to stay in St. Maarten!