Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Went one day without water, plumbing issues.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, breakfast and coffee, view.
Cons: New beds and better water pressure
Location: Right on the beach and surrounded by resturants and shopping. A McDonald's across the street.
Overall I enjoyed my stay. Good cheap breakfast and nice strong coffee downstairs was a plus. But the bed was uncomfortable and the water pressure was bad. The staff was great and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria, UK

Pleasantly surprised. Lovely hotel on the beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2016
For the price we paid I wasn't expecting a palace but the sea view hotel was beautiful! Obviously quite recently renovated. Nice, extremely clean & spacious room with a sea view. The only downside (and the reason I gave 4/5 for comfort) was our squeaky bed! We never complained about this but I'm sure that if we had it would have been resolved quickly. The staff were extremely friendly, always asking about our day and sharing tips on where to go. A nice little courtyard by the beach with sun loungers - not great if you want sun all day long but it's a dream when there's a lot of cruise ships in and you just want to relax for a few hours and escape the busy beach. (Also when you've checked out on your last day & need a nap due to a raging hangover! Haha) I honestly could not have been happier with the hotel, i will definitely return to the sea view beach hotel!! :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: on the beach
Cons: Everything - HAD TO WALK UP 30-40 STEPS WITH LUGGAGE ON ARRIVAL - NO ONE TO HELP
Location: restaurants shopping entertainment
will never book there again.........................................................
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great locations

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Friendly staff... Cheap.. Good for just a quick trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Florida

Great value and location

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: It is one of the oldest hotels on Front Street and we like old building. It is well maintained and very clean.
Cons: Could utilize the beachfront terrace better for the guests due to its great location and views.
Location: Great central location for shopping and beachfront dining and sunbathing.
Had to go to St. Maarten at the last minute and it was high season. Fortunately rooms were available at this establishment. We were very pleased at the accommodations and the value as it was just what we needed at the time. We would go back without a question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lititz, Pa.

Close proximity to beach, restaurants & shopping

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: On the beach. Like that we're able to open the windows at night to let the cool night air in & hear the sound of the surf.
Cons: Help if needed getting bags up the stairs to the lobby & up the stairs to the second floor.
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants & water sports.
This is our second stay & would go back again. We were visiting another island & since we had to fly into the St. Martin airport we figured we'd extend our vacation & spend some time on St. Martin. The Sea View is not that long of a cab ride from the airport. It sits right on the beach. Its clean, comfortable & hotel guests have free use of the beach chairs & umbrella's. I feel secure there. The back gate is locked at night. Hotel staff & security are on premises. The rooms are painted a nice light color & nice island feeling furniture & décor. We're always greeted pleasantly. Check in is prompt. We had a later flight the day we were leaving so a locked storage area for luggage is available. We were happy to use that so we could go for lunch & do a little shopping before it was time to go. Staff had a cab waiting for us at the time we requested. Our prior stay there was no mini fridge in our room & a screen was missing. We ended up in the exact same room as before & were pleasantly surprised to find a mini fridge & the screen replaced. Management is trying to keep things upgraded & repaired.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Five star location but a One Star hotel...

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: locations only....too retro 1950 Motel
Cons: Everything needs a hotel designer, and a financial investment for it to reach its potential right on the beach. Such a wasted opportunity...
Location: Tourist trap by day...fabulous beach and lots of different things to eat and DRINK... There is not much open at night. Feels very deserted after 6.
I chose this hotel because of its location right on the beach...everything has been newly painted on the outside and the inside. all is very clean. The staff is happy and helpful...I only saw MY room and there might be better but for a renovated room, the renovation was paint. The bed was very noisy...the furniture was very old and painted to spruce it up...the shower was impossible...one cold tap, one hot tap but you would need a safe cracker to blend the two. It's Sea view and I'm sure it was for some but I looked at a wall of the building next door. There is two locks on the door but you only get a key to the door knob lock and there is NO safe in the room. Seeing security patrols on the street with attack dogs gives you the impression all is not safe, so I had to carry my valuables with me and never set them down. There was a lot of back packers and it seems expensive for them...My room should be $50. tops. I was only there one night or I would have taken the loss and moved. Its over a Casino and with a designer and some investment to drag it into this century it could be a top Boutique Hotel. Big old T.V. but a good variety of stations. I wanted a nice Phillipsburg experience for my last night...poor hotel, city locks down at 6:00 p.m. When the city is empty you realize just how rundown the town is. It has everything St. Barth has and could be a rival with all the cruise ships stopping but its just a quick money grab....perhaps Simpson's Bay next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tapps, Wa

Everything I Needed

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Excellent location and exceptionally nice staff.
Cons: There is no parking anywhere next to the hotel - I parked about 3 blocks away in the free 'sand lot', which, for me, was not a big issue.
Location: Beach and shopping. The area is busy during daytime with cruise ship passengers, quiet in the evenings with mostly locals in the restaurants.
After my flight out of St. Maarten was cancelled due to the January '16 snow storm on the east coast, I found myself suddenly in need of accommodations for an extra night, and my previous hotel had no rooms. I booked this online using Expedia. Although it lacked the full kitchen and scale of my previous accommodations, this was, for me, a very good fit. The room was small and sparsely furnished, but clean and comfortable. It faced the back of the hotel and did not have a view, but for me this was fine because I like to be out and about, and only use my room for a shower and sleeping. It was right in the center of the Philipsburg waterfront, facing the beach on one side and Front Street with all of the shops on the other. There is also a small cafe inside that serves an excellent breakfast every day from 7:30 - 10:30 for a very reasonable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

On the boardwalk

Posted Jan 18, 2016
It's on the boardwalk...that's about the best thing. Anecdotes of the downsides might be useful - they do NOT provide shampoo of all the basics!! Found none in the room, asked at the front desk and was told no. They still use physical metal keys which is annoying having to worry about losing. The worst in terms of cheap and rudeness? The manager had the audacity to charge me $2 for a cup of crappy coffee in the AM. What hotel other than a hostel doesn't give its guests free coffee? Yikes. The shower stalls are microscopic as well. If you get a super cheap deal and don't expect anything, it could be worth it. But keep all the downsides in mind!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pleasant hotel, on the beach and close to shopping

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: See the above description please.
Cons: I don't think I would change anything; this was a relaxing and friendly stay which provided all the basic needs or comforts.
Location: This hotel is ideally located for walking the beach, and visiting the local shops and restaurants. It is found on the Dutch side of the island.
A friendly hotel facing on the beach, with the local and designer shopping at the entrance on the other side. Colorful and very clean, this hotel makes a great stay for those who want to be a part of the local scene, quite differently from those tourist ghettos which provide pools and spas and may be part of the resort experience anywhere. We were reminded of Morocco, or perhaps Charleston or New Orleans. The beach was delightful with lounge chairs and umbrellas; a boardwalk made it easy to go to and from shop or restaurant when needing a break from swimming or sunbathing. The view of the bay with the great ships coming in and out was stunning. Choose the courtyard or balcony rooms, you will enjoy them the most.