Ratings based on 1,175 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: We loved everything about the hotel from the accommodation, the staff and the location.
Cons: A sign at the bottom of the hill with directions to the main reception.
Location: The location is great and there are good water sports and excursions to do nearby.
The location was great as the hotel is right on a beach, walking distance from many restaurants and bars and only 10minutes from the airport. Also, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a self-catering apartment which was well equipped with all cookware and utensils required for self-catering. The studio apartment was spacious with a private terrace with tables and chairs and sun lounger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Safe and good facilities but need change aircondicioner and improve cleaning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Perfect Resort & Island

Posted Jul 13, 2017
From beginning to end this was a perfect vacation. Upon arrival our concierge Steve informed us on everything we needed to know and see and eat on the island. Our room was very nice. The kitchen was a super money saver, we went into town and bought breakfast food to make in the morning. The food was GREAT! we ate pizza literally everyday from the ISOLA Italian restaurant on the resort. We're from NY so the pizza was very impressive! La Patrona another restaurant (Mexican) on site was great too. The staff was great, our room was cleaned daily. Really have no complaints about this resort and we will be trying to make it a every year stay. The cherry on top was, we accidentally left our iPad behind and didn't realize until we got home. We called the resort and Marvin was very helpful on getting it back to us. Honestly this is a perfect resort, right in the heart of it all. Nightlife, restaurants, beaches, and bars!! Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice hotel and close to everything

Posted Jul 13, 2017
We stayed in a studio. The room was complete with everything we needed. Although it was a little damp inside as there was no balcony to dry bathing suits or towels. Our room was cleaned daily and clean beach towels daily also. Restaurants within the resort are pricy compared to nearby restaurants on the main road. Would definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Already planning a return trip

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The rooms were very clean and well maintained, as were the pools and grounds. They also had various gas and charcoal BBQ grills around the property.
Cons: Disappointed that the large pool was being renovated. Guests should be given the rooms they reserved and paid for instead of smaller rooms!
Location: Rented a minivan at the airport. Hotel was less than a 10 minute drive from the airport. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
I would have given Simpson Bay Resort full marks for "facilities and condition" but the large pool was under renovation which was a disappointment and a bit of an eyesore. But to be fair, there were at least 4 other pools on the property. Most of the staff were very welcoming and friendly, from the grounds keeper (who gave us coconuts right off the tree, we drank coconut water and ate the meat) to the manager, Veronica, who went above and beyond to accommodate my family. The air-conditioned gym was great with a nice view of the pool and beach. All three of our rooms were lovely, clean and well-equipped. This is a timeshare property, you will be asked to speak with the concierge in order to book a presentation time. The food at La Patrona Mexican restaurant was delicious! My family (all 19 of us) had a nice bbq at one of the grills set up on the property one evening, but once the sun had set it was pretty dark. More lights in that area would be a good idea. The beaches were okay, a bit rough and steep. We preferred the beaches at Marigot or Maho. There is a mini supermarket on site that sells everything from wine and fruit to hairnets and meat; it's truly a one-stop-shop. One thing to note is that the property is on a hill, so you'll certainly get your cardio workout carry comfy shoes. Lastly, there is a free shuttle that takes guest shopping to Philipsburg. First stop is their AMA Jewellery store where you get free "Dutch coffee" aka Heineken. We didn't go to the casino .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel, prime location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Nice hotel, close to beach, restaurants and bars. Room is very comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

I absolutely LOVED this resort.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING. The entertainment, accommodations, the ocean view, the location and the entire resort staff.
Cons: Provide insect repellent to keep the mosquitos out :-)
Location: Close proximity to the beaches, casino, shopping in Philipsburg and night life. Restaurants were great.
I absolutely LOVED this resort. Everything about it was fabulous. Front desk team were warm and welcoming. Housekeeping magnificent. On my birthday I received a wonderful surprise in my room which made the stay all the better. I plan to return next year. I highly recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We had a lovely time visiting Sint Maarten. The Hotel and staff were excellent. Some things such as the TV's in room could be updated. The most disappointing part of our stay was the condition of the main pool at The Villas. The pool started off cloudy and then turned green (closed) for the last 2 days of our stay. I believe it was a problem with the pump but there was no communication.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great hotel had nice view and had a kitchen. Multiple pools to use. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Extremely Nice

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Room!!
Cons: Everything meets my needs
Location: located on a hillside, surrounded by Fine Dining Restaurants, a Casino and a short wal to the beach, on site shuttles sre available to move you around
Very large Rooms with a King Size Bed, Full Kitchen with a bar stools, a furnished living room, patio, extremely nice and at a terrific rate!!!!