Ratings based on 1,130 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Very nice resort

Posted May 20, 2017
Simpson Bay resort is perfect if you are going to unwind and relax. It has everything in walking distance although sometimes in uphill and uneven roads. But that's the norm in St Maarten. It has beach access, many pools and restaurants. Especially La Patrona for a romantics dinner by the water. Many lively places at night on Welfare Rd is 15 minutes walk away. Maho beach is 10 minutes by car. Philipsburgh is 15 mins by car as well. The room has a well equipped kitchen and the living area and the balcony are spacious. Have to climb few stairs to get to anywhere. Overall like my first stay here very much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This place has everything you could want!

Posted May 20, 2017
I thought the place was outstanding, had a wonderful time and I didn't even utilize any of the amenities. I'll always use this hotel for future visits!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room overlooking bay

Posted May 19, 2017
Pretty decent but some of the people transporting luggage were just rude and unprofessional but overall it was a great great Experience ! Will def return !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

It was a nice room, shower and kitchen

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: the rooms and the shower.
Cons: some of the cooks need to learn how to cook better.
Location: location was good but they don't have any signs to follow to the resort and the roads are nuts as are the drivers. Went on the 2 tank dive awesome.
the room was pretty good. The air conditioner was something I've ever seen, couldn't figure out the remote buttons ( didn't make a sense.) The shower was big and nice. The toilets are down right scary! I would never flush that thing sitting down! The different places to eat there were of course expensive, but I had lobster twice and both times they over cooked so bad I couldn't eat it, and when you say something about it they all of a sudden don't understand you. The casinos don't let you win ANYTHING! Everybody I talked to when playing didn't win a dime. I didn't play the tables though. When you check in if your not a time share owner they talk you in to this sales seminar that they would only take a half hour, it was a high pressure sales pitch trying to get 20k out of me. Their all nice until you say no and then they act like you don't exist!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location near plenty of great restaurants!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Security and cleanliness was fantastic.
Cons: Would have liked to have access to the main pool in from of our building, but it was under re-construction. It looked beautiful from afar!
Location: TNTC (Too numerous to count!) I felt very comfortable driving on the island. We explored most of the island during our stay.
From check in all the way to check out, the staff made us feel at home and catered to our every need. Our rooms were spotless and all had great views of the ocean/bay! Enjoyed a few meals on the complex, but with the several restaurants in close proximity, it was hard not to explore their offerings. We explored by van, Oriental Beach, Wikiki Beach, Grand Case (Great food in that area as well!), Loterie Farm (Eco Park, lots to do!) The locals were very friendly and offered their suggestions for food and night life. Great destination that we plan to revisit in the near future....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel resort with beach

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean, friendly staff Especially liked the ready availability of pool/beach lounge chairs (A MAJOR problem at many other resorts)
Cons: Not sure- this time we only had 1 day there
Location: To go anywhere= you would need a car or taxi. But resort has most amenities, including rental seadoos,snorkel and scuba trips and small boat rental
Nice hotel with reasonable sandy beach One big plus is they appear to be very serious about not saving beach chairs- and that means that you can usually find a reasonable empty lounge chair with umbrella, at the beach or one of the several pools (If a chair is unattended,Security removes the towels and personal belongings and the towels are charged against the room) Rooms are great with well equipped kitchenette and a king size bed (that we asked for) There are several buildings, some require a brisk walk uphill from the beach- but they do have shuttle vans that you can take
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice beaches, very friendly staff.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Very clean, great snorkeling right off the beach.
Cons: Beach loungers could be accessible longer
Location: Did not go off-site except for short walk to get cash. Credit card system not work when stormy.
Very nice people, access to bars, pools, snorkeling, beach. Tough reception when rainy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn,NY

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 12, 2017
The hotel is huge on a hill...birder worth it for the price. It's very close tonight life and Barsom the strip. You can also do day trips from the hotel to st barths or Anguilla.. or you can take the bus over to Marigot and take the ferry on your own. Overall I would def stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
IT was a very nice 10 days in this hôtel. We really enjoy everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

very nice resort

Posted May 8, 2017
Nice resort. Very nice room. Would definitely stay there again. Wish I had gotten an ocean view room. But room was still very nice. Lots to do at the resort and lots to do close to resort. Great location!