Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Average all inclusive good food & spirits

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Hotel rooms need updating. Nice firm bed. Very loud bathroom fan. Tough competition for pool chairs. Nice pool, and nice lounge chairs if you could get one. Smaller private beach was ok, large grain sand with steep drop into wavey water. Drove to dinner on French side Grand Case - best food. Philipsburg caters to the cruise ships, nothing very special unless you want jewelry.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York


Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: It was clean and friendly.
Cons: the availabilty of towels....when the room was cleaned before we arrived there was candy that was left in one of the desk drawers.
Location: We walked into the town to do some shopping..
The beach was right in front of us..perfect...the only thing was that when the maid came into clean we didn't get replacement towels until about 5:00...had to use hand towel to dry off as that was all they left us...two days of that. Before we took the room, I don't think they did a thorough job as there was all kinds of candy in bags that were left in the middle drawer of the desk...we just left them there. Hopefully, they clean that out for the next guests.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida


Posted Oct 18, 2015
Staff was amazing. Super nice. Everything was perfect until the second to the last day when they missed our room to be cleaned and re-stocked. Cab ride was horrible also.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Very amusing, close to shopping area

Posted Oct 13, 2015
The staff make you fell comfortable , service was wonderful food was delicious, a lot of entertainment,
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Hotel was easy to get around, everything was close by. Rooms size was decent and was well maintained.
Location: Great location, could walk to Philipsburg, one of the main shopping districts.
Hotel was not too large, everything close by and convenient to get to. The Great Bay location is excellent, very picturesque. The hotel was within walking distance to Philipsburg- the main shopping district (10-15 minutes). Staff was friendly and made stay enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Below expected standards for Sonesta Brand

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Location to town, adult only, inclusive.
Cons: Update guest rooms, Since island is dependent on tourism, staff should be friendly and helpful.
Location: Cruise ships come in close by so easy to book activities on days cruise ships arrive
I will give the pros and cons. Pros: Nice location -only a short walk to town, food was plentiful and mostly tasty, free parking, enjoyed chocolate fondue party. Pool with swim up bar was nice. Adult only resort. Inclusive food and drink. Cons: Upon arrival, told we could not have our requested room with king bed, could not get a towel from the swim area (asked 5 times in an hour and a half), and were told to move from our table after we were told by hostess we could site at any table in the buffet restaurant (table reserved for those with butler service). Most staff never smiled and were not friendly or helpful. The rooms were outdated with poor quality mattresses and sound barrier between rooms was awful. The cleaning solutions the staff used smelled awful and very strong. Advertised kayak option, but was told tandem kayak had been leaking since last storm. Two nights there was a band that played music from the 50-60's, some newer music would be nice so folks would dance. Few hotel activities and the staff weren't interested in getting folks involved in these activities. Not much to do at night. Not really 5 restaurants as advertised - 3 total (pizza, buffet and sit down restaurant which rotated names ). Restaurant service was very dependent on the staff assigned to your table.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Excellent overall facility and staff.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, food and all adult venue.
Location: Close to Phillipsburg were there is plenty to do no matter your interest.
Great location away from the madness but a short walk to town. Beautiful location on the bay with a great view of the cruise ship dock. The staff is totally engaged in making your stay a great experience at all levels. The food selections/quality was excellent and exceeded our expectations. Room was adequate and cleanliness was very good. The pools, beach and grounds are well maintained. Games, entertainment and movies constantly going on so plenty to get involved. Overall found the resort to be as pictured and described in all advertisements and reviews. Highly recommend as the place to stay on the Dutch side of the island.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and shopping

Posted Aug 31, 2015
It was the most amazing vacation we have ever had. You will not find a more friendlier staff and fun staff anywhere else... They made our stay amazing. Nigel the bartender was the best . we became best friends with him he has the biggest heart we love him he became part of our family and we will definitely be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota

St. Marteen experience

Posted Aug 30, 2015
The hotel needs to be updated and didn't offer too many activities during the day and at night everything was done by 11 pm. We have to find transportation and pay extra money in order to find some entertainment at night. The food at the buffet was fine, but not too many options. It is an adults only resort but it's too quiet and you don't really get to feel the Caribbean vibes and the St Marteen culture.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, FL

Great time!

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The staff were great. The food at the buffet was good but the Pescetore restaurant was fantastic! I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. Spent a lot of time at the wonderful beach and the pool bar. Daily games such as bingo at the pool reminded me of being on a cruise. Casino was fun but some of the games were out of order or in need of some repair. Over all very happy with our 5 night stay. John H.