Ratings based on 1,001 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sprang-capelle

een geweldig Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: de ligging en eigenlijk alles
Cons: ?
Location: Alles is leuk wij zijn heel het eiland rond geweest, Ik vind het wel een beetje een vies eiland, alles slecht onderhouden
Alles was top Hotel, personeel, ligging.de zee, het zwembad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This hotel is being remodeled

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Steps from to the nightlife of Maho and the sounds of the Airport. Make sure you ask for the remodeled rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Very peaceful. Lovely place. I recommend everyone to go
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelent hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Excellent hotel for couples. Tehe service in the infinity pool excellent and goid facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Had a wonderful time!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: We really liked the area where the hotel is located. You could walk to shops and restaurants. The pool was very nice and the food was good.
Cons: The hotel will be better when all the rooms are renovated.
Location: Maho Beach area is great - we enjoyed watching the airplanes and walking to shops. We also took a walk to Mullet Bay which was beautiful.
We travelled the week of November 6th and had a wonderful time. We travelled with another couple. They got a first floor room and it was completely renovated and very nice. We were on the 6th floor and it was partially renovated. The bathroom had probably been renovated in the last few years. We did get two double beds instead of a king and they had none available for us unless we took an "unrenovated" room - so we stayed. But it was clean and comfortable. The staff was great, we really liked Lionel the bartender:) The food was much better than we expected. They had like 3 weddings while we were there and seemed able to accommodate everyone well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ar

Fun watching the planes go by!! Terrible food!!!!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Watching planes land and cross low over the public beach. It's not directly over the beach at the hotel. The staff was very nice. Nice pool
Cons: Construction at hotel!! Food was terrible!!!!!!
Location: Casino across the street! Nice gift shop! Nothing close by. Excursions offered at tour desk!
Overall, the hotel was ok. The construction seemed to be ongoing with sidewalks dug up. Worst thing was the food!!!!! This is a very large hotel with lots of rooms and lots of families and strollers. We would not recommend to our friends and would not return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Island Culture

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Let me just first say that I enjoyed my week at Sonesta. That said, there were some service issues that were irritating. The "Island time" excuse only gets a hotel staff so far, in my opinion. Some examples: - The fitness center never had towels or water and the machines were in disrepair - Service at the restaurants is comical. We ate at restaurants nearby that we paid for, because it would regularly take over an hour from the time we ordered our food, to receiving it. Even then, we encountered issues with our orders. - Inconsistent. Almost every request or question we had of the staff, varied wildly depending on who we asked. That includes trivial things like "Can I have a bottle of water?" and "What restaurants are open/require reservations?" to major things like, "Is my room ready?" Every day we were there, people were milling around in the lobby as late as 8PM for a 3PM check-in, as they over-book rooms as a general policy. In all, it is difficult to have too bad of a time when the drinks are easy-flowing and the beach and weather are as great as they are. If I had to suggest it to someone, I would say to stay at the Ocean Point Sonesta next door, which is part of the same hotel, but had immaculate service from what our friends told us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel great location

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Nice hotel on the beach close to everything which made commuting fairly easy. Located on Maho beach and 5 mins from airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, USA

Great hotel and great staff!

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Great hotel and great staff! Very clean. I definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CZ

Nice, fun and planes

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Perfect choice in case that you don't want to solve anything and just enjoy All Incl on every bar, pool and chase plane photos
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Martha, Hotel Management
Dear Martin, We would like to thank you for choosing our lovely beach resort and for writing this review.