Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sale

An extremely pleasant stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Quiet location with many interesting coastal walks available on this small island
The room was in boutique style, the bedding Egyptian cotton sheets. The bathroom modern but functional
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

A real gem

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The staff, who are lovely. The food, the wine, the ambience.
Cons: The weather! We must visit in summer and go in the pool!
Location: Situated in a quiet road near to St Peter Port, walkable to Moulin Huet bay and Sausmarez Manor, both worth a walk.
There's a reason why this hotel is one of the world's small luxury hotels collection - it is. The staff are charming, they made us so very welcome. The food is outstanding, we seldom eat at the same place when visiting a different destination but we didn't need to go elsewhere. In all, a very enjoyable visit and we will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE England

Comfortable, quiet hotel. Good Food

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere and quality of service.
Cons: Standard rooms are a little small - not much they can do about that in an old building! Push the boat out and go for an upgrade!
Location: Quiet part of the island, but only about 5 minutes walk from buses. A 10 minute walk gets you to a beautiful secluded cove.
This hotel is in a quiet area and is an excellent place for a late summer break. Bar, restaurant and lounge areas are well furnished. Standard rooms are small (though the double beds are huge) but nicely furnished. Bathrooms have excellent fittings and powerful showers. We ate in the restaurant on four evenings and the food was outstanding. They also do some excellent quality wine by the glass. However, the best feature of this hotel is the quality of the staff. Highly professional, but unfailingly cheerful and friendly, they know how to make guests feel welcome. Try the hotel's own gin!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel with a family feel.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Really friendly staff made the visit pleasant and relaxing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton

Excellent hotel, well looked after.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Peaceful,excellent food,helpful friendly staff.
Cons: I would imagine the room we were in could be very hot in the summer, for some guests,as there is no air conditioning. No problem for us.
Location: A short trip to St Peter Port. The beach a 15 minute walk away.
I can't speak highly enough of the Bella Luce. Small peaceful retreat. From arrival the staff were helpful and friendly, the reception staff taking the time to show us around the hotel and go over places of interest on the island. We hired a car, but with a bus stop right outside I am not sure there is any necessity, especially £1 a journey. Breakfast was plentiful and other meals excellent particularly afternoon tea, room service and especially Sunday lunch. The Chef and his team should be congratulated. Also a mention for the housekeeping team who keep the rooms spotless. Our two week stay was extremely enjoyable. We certainly want to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The food in the restaurant was excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed the meals.
Cons: Perhaps the experience I had was because of cultural differences as the majority of the staff appeared to be E European with limited English.
Location: Unless you are physically able bodied you will require a vehicle. This location would be ideal for those on walking holidays.
The room allocated to us was on the ground floor as I have limited mobility. However, the room itself was exceedingly dark making it virtually impossible to read anything without all of the lights on. Although the majority of the staff were helpful there was a lack of any warmth shown by them. There was one very young local young man who was extremely kind and helpful but unfortunately he was only in the restaurant on two days. The other staff could learn a great deal from him. On several occasions I found that people who entered the dining room for either breakfast or dinner were served before my party. I also noticed a piece of paper at the waiters' station that said "What is a G & T?" - clearly the language barrier is a problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York UK

Attractive hotel, helpful staff

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: General position and ambience; helpful staff
Cons: Justt a little tightening up in the breakfast / junior waiting staff
Location: The whole island is easily accessible by car or bus
Received a couple of helpful emails before our arrival, and warmly greeted when we got there. Set in attractive grounds with a pool (unheated). Generally friendly and helpful staff with only the occasional lapse. Restaurant had an expensive feel to it but was in fact reasonably priced and good quality. Breakfast (Buffet or full English) did not always quite hit the mark. Room serviced every day whilst we were at breakfast. The Bella Luce pitches itself as a luxury hotel and the room rate reflects this. I would give it 4.5/5 for meeting my expectations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Schönes, stilvolles, ruhiges Hotel; guter Service

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Ruhe
Cons: ---
Location: Das Hotel ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt für Klippenwanderungen
Idealer Ort für einen erholsamen Urlaub Reichhaltiges Frühstück. Angenehme Atmosphäre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A nice hotel with excellent and friendly staff

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The staff are great and always willing to please. The breakfasts are excellent and especially made to your choice. The sausages are excellent.
Cons: The only problem I had with the hotel are the chairs in the dining room and breakfast room. The seats lost all support and and painful to sit on.
Location: Walk up the hill and catch a bus all around the island. Visit the war museum near by. Excellent walks on the cliff start from down the hill.
The hotel is situated in a very quite location. Not far from the beach. It is a pebbly beach. It can take 15 minutes to walk to but half an hour to walk back from. It is a steep hill. I liked this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Surrey

Beautiful little manor in the country

Posted Aug 30, 2016
We stayed here at the bank holiday weekend. The hotel is with so much character with period furniture and was like a real retreat place with beauty and tranquility. The staff very polite and helpful. Enjoyed the breakfast very much and service and presentation like a 5* and was best quality. We also had high tea in the afternoon and again service and the ambience was excellent with some bes scones with cream and jam was mouth watering. Overall the stay was excellent and very relaxing place