Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trying hard to be a 3 star, but not there

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff was courteous. I get the feeling they are trying to make this work, but it's a hard go.
Cons: The building should probably be demolished and replaced. Short of that, it requires massive renovation, probably not possible at their low rates.
Location: Ferry to Cumberland. St. Marys is worth a half day to a day of walking around. There are newer hotels at Kingsland about 5 miles further out/
This is an old facility with relatively new paint and furnishings, but the color scheme is jarring with nothing really matching. The rooms are musty and treated with strong air freshener. It's dark and cramped. Little things like coffee maker that does not work and get tangled up with the hair dryer. The cheap laminate floor is swept, but warped and grimy on the edges. The bedding is clean, but coarse. Breakfast does not compare well with Hampton or Comfort properties. Maintenance folks were in evidence and desk staff was courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Texas

Nice hotel, Good location in central St. Marys.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Good location in St. Marys and away from the Interstate 95 rush and near family that we were visiting.
Cons: no suggestions at this time.
Location: St.Marys Seafood Restaurant , Pat Thai Restaurant, and River Front Café are all excellent.
Nice hotel. Good location and near family that we were visiting. We have used this hotel several times in recent years and have always enjoyed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We hope you had a safe trip home and enjoy the holidays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for St Marys, room not clean

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Good location for St Marys, room not clean on arrival though, otherwise everything else was good. Good breakfast selection and liked the screened pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Richard, Hotel Management
I apologize for your room not being ready when you arrived but September is a busy time for us and early check in's are kept to a minimum to give the housekeepers time to do a good job. Otherwise we are glad that you had a good time and enjoyed your visit. We hope you had a safe trip home and enjoy the holidays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Great hotel for the area

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Well, I'm to tell you about the lodging not the area so, all in all a nice place to stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The motel (rooms face outside) is older but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, tons of choices here, more than the usual. The location is good as there are restaurants, shops and even a movie theater within walking distance. We didn't do cumberland island so I'm not sure about that experience but I'm sure if that's what you're here for (and I don't really know why else you would be for anymore) it's fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. we appreciate the feedback. We hope you do come back and see all the other things there are to do in the area from Okefenokee to The Sea Turtle Rescue to the nearby Fort. All with in a an easy drive. We hope you have/had a safe trip home and have a wonderful fall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Great location with a friendly staff with a beautiful landscape. Definitely will be looking forward to staying again next time I visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2016 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and review. We work hard to make our guests stay enjoyable and comfortable. We hope that you had a safe trip home and have a wonderful summer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island NY

Just a stop on the way

Posted Mar 7, 2016
We just stopped here on the way to Savannah, don't like driving in the dark and thought we'd check out St Marys in the morning. Very nice and helpful front desk employee, extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Quiet too. Can't comment on breakfast, we slept through it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Very pleasant hotel and grounds

Posted Jan 6, 2016
We were upgraded to a suite with full kitchen and washer and dryer because a/c was noisy in room. The grounds were spacious with seating areas and sheltered pool. Breakfast was quite adequate. Could walk to supermarket and restaurants. Staff very friendly and suggested sights of interest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Not as good as I was led to believe.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Room smelled like it was clean, but during the night I turned on the light and saw roaches crawling on the wall over by the refrigerator. The entryway to the front desk smelled of chemicals, not those that one cleans with either. The room itself had not been restocked with tissues and the hair dryer barely worked. Fairly disappointed overall with my few hour stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: the tv
Cons: extra towels in the office if needed for guests
The front office clerk was nice, but not very accommodating. The lobby did not have towels, had to wait to get them from the laundry room. The breakfast was not very good, generic cereals, no hot food, small coffee cups, not very welcoming. The room need a little updating, the workmanship in the last remodel was not very professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by Richard, Hotel Management
Mr/Mrs Anonymous, I apologize for your small wait for towels. The week you stayed, we had a very large group that put a huge demand on our linens on an hourly basis. The cereals we serve are name brand cereals, and while our current hot food lineup consists of Sausage Biscuits, Waffels, Oatmeal, and Grits, but we will soon be expanding our layout. The coffee cups are the Industry Average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Georgia

Budget friendly hotel with an excellent staff

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Clean, soft linens, comfortable beds, generally quiet, excellent staff.
Cons: Minor maintenance issues (door latch, noisy bathroom fans, etc) and either laundering the dust ruffles more often, or switch to boxed bed foundation.
Location: The hotel is convenient to Cumberland Island, which was our destination.
The hotel presents as mostly clean and the staff is excellent. We stayed two nights (before and after our Cumberland Island camping trip), and we would stay there again. During our first visit we had to request a room change because the dust ruffles on the beds were appallingly dirty, but the staff handled the complaint in a friendly, professional manner, and the second room was much better. Besides the coral colored dust ruffles (which all seemed ill-fitting and somewhat dirty, though not filthy like in the first room), the rest of the linens were bright white, well laundered, and pleasingly soft. We did report the second room door as requiring attention, as the door latch was difficult to engage, requiring us to pull hard from outside, or push firmly from inside, to secure the door. All in all, it was a safe and clean place to stay, and if you bring concerns to the staff, they will take care of you.