Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Zurich

A Unique Grand Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: service, food, live jazz music, ambiance, location, personal attention
Cons: The WiFi in the room could be much faster. The old style massive wooden beds were a bit creaky, but soon I stopped noticing it.
Location: Engadin is one of the most beautiful areas of the beautiful Switzerland; there are hundreds of walking/hiking paths around.
Hotel Waldhaus is a unique place situated in the beautiful Sils Maria. We are very happy we chose it among many offers in the Engadin / St. Moritz region. Waldhaus is an example of the phrase "you get what you pay for". At first, it might seem like a relic from the past. From afar it looks like a castle on top of a hill. It was built more than 100 years ago and still remains in the hands of the same family. And life in it runs as smooth, easy and classy as if it has been practiced for a century! A real Grand hotel, with a big capital G. Every detail is thought of and pleasing the eye and senses - from the huge halls, windows, wood paneling, parquet, comfy period furniture, lights, fine china, silver, live jazz in the bar, the library, the cigar room... The service throughout, the food and wine lists are outstanding. Our room was average size, with small sitting area and balcony. The bathroom was very modern, looked recently fully renovated, with luxury amenities. This place is simply addictive, we are already planning our next visit this coming winter.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Ein Grand Hotel, eine Welt so grossartig wie in der Literatur oder im Film. Geschichtsträchtig, phantastische Ambiance. Neue Wellnessanlage. Das Personal ausnehmend freundlich. Alles einfach perfekt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hochalpine Sommerfreuden

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bisher kannten wir das Hotel nur von Aufenthalten im Winter, aber es ist auch ein erstklassiges Ressort für den Sommer mit guten Outdoormöglichkeiten. Wir werden wiederkommen, jetzt vielleicht sogar in unterschiedlichen Saisons. Außerdem ist für den Winter 2016717 die Eröffnung des neuen Wellnesscenters angekündigt, auf das wir gespannt sind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from München

Sensationelle Lage, Umgebung und Atmospäre!

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Historische Atmospäre, verbindlicher, äußerst aufmerksamer Service. Weltweit sicher etwas Besonderes.
Exzellente Küche, aufmerksames Personal, sensationelle Umgebung und Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Bei günstigerem Wechselkurs würde man da öfter und länger hinfahren!
5 out of 5
by jürg from zürich

die Lage, der Bau und die Umgebung sind prächtig

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
war schön
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxushotel ins Sils-Maria / Engadin

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Der besonders gut Service
Location: Die Lage oberhalb des Sees ist wirklich schön und bietet Ruhe und Erholung. Die Nähe zu St. Moritz ist perfekt, somit auch ein Bahnhof in der Nähe.
Ein sehr schönes Hotel mit unterschiedlichen Zimmerausstattungen von modern bis klassisch. Der Service ist sehr gut, daher freut man sich schon auf ein Wiedersehen beim nächsten Besuch. Die Lage am See, die Bergkulisse im Hintergrund, einfach zum Wohlfühlen.
5 out of 5
by Sang Wha from Seoul

엥가딘 일대에서 가장 높이 있고 고급스러운 호텔

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
--넓고 아름다운 호텔 로비에서 좀 더 자유롭게 앉아있을 수 없던 점이 유감이라고 생각하는데, 그곳에 무심히 앉자마자 반드시 음료 등을 시킬 것을 강요받았음. 심지어 저녁식사 전에 잠시 기다리는 동안 앉아있어도 무엇을 마실 것을 강요받았음. --특히 식당이 매우 넓고 아름다웠고, 좋은 세프들이 여럿 있는 듯 음식이 훌륭했음. --리셉셔니스트 중 상투적이고 친절하지 않은 경우가 더러 있었음. --호텔의 명성이나 규모치고는 멀리서 고객에게 그 일대의 여행을 전문적으로 상담해줄 별도의 consierge가 없는 것이 아쉬웠음.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Louange dithyrambique!

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
Un rêve dans un hôtel historique!
3 out of 5
by Ch. from Basel

Etwas in die Jahre gekommen

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Die Lage und die Aussicht des Hotels sind unschlagbar, das Interieur ist sehr in die Jahre gekommen und wird nur durch den Mythos getragen, der wohl auch einen Teil des Preises ausmacht.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfection

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels
One word: Perfection!