Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo

Close to U of M St. Paul Campus

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast
Location: Gabe's bar is great
The hotel was very comfortable, nice chairs everywhere to relax in the lobby and bar area. Cozy feel and safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Minnesota

Adequate housing for a good night's sleep.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very quiet.
Cons: The microwave in the room was too small, and was woefully underpowered. The rotating glass plate inside was not the right size, and it would not turn
The check in process was slow. The room was basically the beds. There was no desk to work at, but since I came to sleep, it served the purpose adequately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Inexpensive with great amenities.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: The location and cleanliness.
Cons: Longer breakfast time!
Location: - Minnesota Wild games - Selby Avenue (Whole Foods, shopping, etc.) - O'Garas Bar and Grill
My friend and I booked one night on a Saturday because we were attending the Minnesota Wild game that evening, and planned on going out to the local bars after. It seemed like a better option than crashing at a friend's place for the night. We chose this location because we wanted to be outside of the city center, near the college bars, and there was free parking! Check-in was simple, the front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The hotel was designed into the depot, so it was like being in a modern union station. The room was a nice size, clean, and the beds were comfortable (two queens). Free wi-fi, a large mini fridge, and the TV was equipped with many cable channels. There was free breakfast in the morning, but we definitely missed it since it was 6 a.m. - 9 a.m. The hotel has a little market with snacks and drinks, which was helpful. One downside was that our room was located right next to the pool, so we had to keep our curtains closed the entire time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique Hotel with some Cleanliness/Staffing Issues

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Charcter and History
Cons: Increase evening staff.
This is a very unique hotel in an old railroad depot. I loved the character of the facility. However, the water supply in the room was either too cold or too hot with minimal shower pressure. I was there 3 1/2 days and there were a scattering of Cheetos on the floor under a bench outside the pool area that was never cleaned up. While the staff was friendly, there wasn't enough of them. They only had one staff person in the evening and night time that had to manage the front desk, the phone and the bar. People waiting to check in or with questions or those who wanted a drink were frequently waiting. While I pointed out several issues, overall considering the price, they were minor. Given the character and uniqueness of the hotel, I would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

The location is very convenient for me.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: I love the charm of the building.
Location: I have meetings in the area from time to time. The nearby grill is great to eat at...and it's within walking distance.
My room was very warm, even though I lowered the thermostat the maximum amount.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Improving, but a couple of concerns.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Nicely remodeled room. Reasonably priced.
Cons: Avoid using air freshener. A clean room speaks for itself, and does not need anything sprayed.
Location: Relatively close to the State Capitol and office buildings.
I am glad to see the remodeling and improvements to the Best Western, Como Park Hotel. I did have several concerns.There was no one at the desk for 15 minutes, when I arrived. I'm sure that this is due to having only one staff person working, and she responding to a need elsewhere in the hotel. There was no option for calling for assistance. The staff were very friendly and helpful, when available. My biggest concern was the very strong smell of air freshener in the room. Even with leaving the bathroom exhaust fan on all night, the smell was pervasive and irritating. Otherwise, the room seemed clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Jan 15, 2017
I enjoyed my stay, but I probably will stay at other places next trip. The architecture, look & feel, setup of the hotel was great, I really liked it a lot. I was there during the winter and had no issues keeping the room warm at all. It was also very quiet (I stayed during the week). I can't say anything about the TV, because I don't watch it. Another great thing for me was the bed, most places I stay at, I can't sleep well at all, but this place was different. I had zero issues with sleeping, so this alone is a great thing. My main issues with the hotel is lack of restaurant, and the desk was lacking in the room. I'm on a business trip and I mainly work the entire time. Being able to grab a bite and continue working is important to me. Also while doing work, I'd like to have a decent desk to work at and what they have is a small unstable desk and chair. I had a hard time working at it and ended up working on the bed instead. I'm going to try other hotels around the area hoping for a bit better working setup, but otherwise I would easily go here ago .... I _love_ the look of the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa FL

Como Park Best Western

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel has and is being refurbished, the room we had was very nice. The hotel has an indoor pool, great for the kids. Very close to Como park
Cons: No
Location: Great location, close to Como Park and the zoo...
Arrived in a snow storm. everyone was very pleasant and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming little hotel!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The only thing the hotel lacked was good signage - it doesn't look like a typical hotel from the outside. The rooms we're clean and comfy. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was far above average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place had a very good breakfast

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The room wad expensive due to the Ryder Cup which in my opinion is everytime there is am event all hotels raise their prices to the extreme! Why? I would think you would want to do the opposite. I had a wedding to attend and that is why I chose that hotel.