Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Clean, classy and comfortable

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This hotel and our experience has exceeded our expectations. The historical character and charm of this building is unique and worth investigating. We cannot say enough about the staff: the front end staff and the morning crew responsible for the breakfast set up. Outstanding and we will use this hotel with our subsequent visits to St. Paul
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Hotel was nice. Parking is good. Location is excellent easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice, clean hotel with a good breakfast

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: clean, comfortable and quiet
Quiet and good especially considering we were close to the pool
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Train station hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This hotel is situated in a corporate center, of sorts. It is an old train station. The building itself is very interesting, old brick, timber framing, etc. If you are into trains, it would be interesting. There is an old train engine, car, and water tank outside the building. There also was a creepy looking guy with a beer and a cigarette. The room itself wasn't bad. The air-conditioning was iceberg cold and we couldn't find any controls. The comforter on the bed was thick and warm. The bathroom was a disappointment. The showerhead could have used a good cleaning and would be a problem for anyone over 5'5". Because this is a repurposed building, it's oddly layed out. The pool is close to most of the rooms. If you want to sleep before 10 pm, you will have noise. The breakfast space is a bit akwardly laid out as well. The food was nothing spectacular. Getting into St. Paul is a bit strange from this hotel. If you have a good GPS, you will be okay, but expect a bit of on ramp, off ramp ballet. After a few times I figured it out. Overall, even though this is hotel seemed the most convenient for visiting the local colleges, I think I would try some place else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close Enough

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Good coffee in the morning
Cons: cleanliness and the overall experience around the hotel (nothing)
Location: nothing.
While attending a conference in St. Paul, my team booked our hotels very late. Bad mistake. We couldn't find anything in the DT core of the Twin Cities and had this Best Western as the best available option. Staff was great - We must have witnessed about 12 complaints to the front desk during our stay and the staff handled everyone of the masterfully.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Best Western Hotels & Resorts , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Very nice hotel . Staff very pleasant .

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to Macalester College.
We enjoyed our stay . Very clean and pleasant staff. Would recommend .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible... put us in a noisy room where there was

Posted May 20, 2017
We requested a quiet room there were only 50% full. We were put on the 1st floor near a back door. There were very beight lights over the door that could not be blocked put by any curtain. The drapes were ripped and the room was so bright you could read. People were Coming in and out of The back door all night. We Did call and complain but they wanted to move us... who wants to move in the middle of the night when your getting up in a few hours to leave. The manager wetalked to was rude and acted like we were making it up. They offered no compensation. In addition there was a constant thumping all night... I will not use expedia again!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by General Manager- BWP Como Park Hotel, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and it was a pleasure speaking with you the other day as well. It appears that there were several missed opportunities to provide an amazing experience. We will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future as this is not the experience we would have liked you to have. Regards, James Gray
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good, a few improvements suggested.

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
Overall it was good, although the toilet needs fixing (it kept running off and on, and I forgot to mention it to the staff). It would be nice if furniture around electrical outlets were in more convenient areas so the ironing board could be used more easily. The cord on the iron was long, but there is no good light to iron by. Ice machines are great; would be nice if there was a vending machine where the map indicated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fascinating building with very friendly staff

Posted May 18, 2017
Had a very pleasant stay while on business in area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was easy to find and quiet at night. I'll return when in Twin Cities next!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique ambiance. Friendly staff. Very quiet.

Posted May 17, 2017
We loved the pool, hot tub, and sauna. Staff was quick to fix a problem when the tub jets weren't working properly. My only complaint was that I wish there were more healthy options at breakfast such as a plain yogurt without sugar and a whole grain cold cereal.