Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wingham ontario

Old hotel, staff not friendly,

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Pool and view
Cons: Service. Poor mattress and pillows staff not friendly ( used foreign workers not native to Malta)
Location: Small selection of restaurants close by. Good bus service
No amenities, have to pay for everything No wifi no shampoo in rooms poor tv - rooms not cleaned properly. Breakfast poor selection. Pool nice good view
2 out of 5
by Anthony from Vicenza

Time for Some Upgrades!!!

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
No free WIFI, Outrageous fees for wifi service. I paid for free breakfast with room but manager did not honor booking. TV had only 5 channels with no remote. AIRCON did not work. Bathroom not properly cleaned upon arrival. No complimentary toiletries. No fridge or ice machine, microwave. I would not stay here again! Avoid at all costs!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Christopher R.

Nice short break

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Ebookers
Met by a great receptionist on arrival who could not have been more helpful and friendly. The evening meal, included, was very pleasant and the restaurant was superb - well worth a visit as a dining customer. The bar and pool area were lovely and relaxing. Breakfast was odd - meat and cheese platters pre-made and covered in cling film, plus a choice of cheap cereals. Not great to be honest. Plenty of bread for toast. Poor compared to other cheap hotels on the island. Nevertheless, I would return due to its relaxing nature, excellent evening restaurant and great nearby sea swimming opportunities.
4 out of 5
by Susan from UK

Basic but friendly

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
Just a one way stay on the way to the Gozo ferry, friendly staff, fairly basic but adequate for our stay. Continental breakfast in nice restaurant with good views of the sea. Parking still been built, but parking on a hill on a quiet street outside hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sicily

Great View, No Security, not worth the cost

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The pool and the view
Cons: Linens changed, better A/C, better wi-fi signal.
Location: On the opposite side of everything there is to do in St. Paul's Bay.
The salt water pool was amazing, simply amazing. Right on the water and right next to the bar for refreshments. And my 4th floor balcony had the best view right over the water perfect for sunrise. That about ends the good points. Breakfast is not always included and for 6 euros a day you can find a much better option for less just down the street. The elevator is teeny tiny (could hold one person and one suitcase) and was ever so slow. My bed linens had visible holes from where previous customers had burnt it with their cigarettes. Luckily there was no smell. The A/C was virtually non-existant, you have to use your room key to turn on the A/C which means it will be off if you are not in the room it's off. And there's not much power going to those units anyway. The doors to the rooms are sketchy at best, they do not lock other than you need a key in the door handle but there is no other means of locking the door from the inside. Upon check in I misread the room number on my key, went to open the wrong room door and that door popped right open! There is wi-fi, for a modest fee, but in my room on the 4th floor there was only one area of the room that got wi-fi signal...the bathroom. How awkward.
2 out of 5
by ahmed benbella

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by G. Calleja

Pleasant overnight stay!

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels
Taking in consideration what I had paid for this overnight stay I was so satisfied with everything this little hotel has to offer. The staff was so helpful and friendly, and albeit a bit small the room was very clean and comfortable with good airconditioning. The pool area was well kept with clean pool water, clean toilets and showers. The restaurant which is run by 'The Chef' served us delicious food and good wine. And parking was not a problem. We will surely return - thanks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

It does the job

Posted Aug 30, 2011
The hotel does provide good service and the front desk staff are friendly. The hotel 'does the job' as a good base to stay for your trip to malta. It's in the north so it's near the beaches but 20km from Valetta and the south which is probably a better place to stay. Our room was fine, clean although towels weren't changed that often. Our double bed was two single beds pushed together and there was only one chair on the balcony! It had good air con and a good shower. Food is not poor but not great - not a lot of variety at breakfast but again, did the job. There is a beautiful view of the bay from the hotel and restaurants in the area are fairly good. Wouldn't recommend but good value for money if you're not looking for a luxurious place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Aug 6, 2011 on Hotels
this wa a great experience,the location overlooking the St Paul's bay is unparalelled, sea side dining,the service and food itself is great,very clean very convenient by car and bus.staff is very co operative, for a very reasonable cost
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Ambassador Hotel - Malta 3/5

Posted Jul 16, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is quite nice, staff are friendly, rooms are big (tip we got a sea view room, but even if you get a side sea room you still get to see a good view of the bay and you'll save money). The breakfast arrangements were a bit confusing and the breakfast wasn't the best. The area itself is VERY quiet, ideal for couples and maybe people who rent a car. The bus service has just recently changed to Arriva in Malta and is currently a nightmare (buses breaking down, crowded etc) I would suggest hiring a car. Otherwise Malta is a beautiful country and if your British, the people will love you even more!