Ratings based on 452 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

I Was At The Qawra Palace Hotel Not The Santana.

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Apart From Having Half The Cast From St Trinian's Running Around The Floor Half The Night Screaming. The Only Good Thing I Can Say About Qawra Palace Hotel. Is The Toilet. As my Knees Was Where They Were Ssupposed To Be Not Trying To Find My Chest. The Breakfast Was Nice But Nothing To Talk About Less Choice At Qawra Palace Hotel.Than At Santana. There is A Smaller Faster Lift Hiding Around The Corner. Why Oh Why Do I Find Myself Next To The Cleaning Cupboards For. And Yes The Cleaners Start Early EVERY DAY AROUND 7AM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW England

Good location, good facilities,

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: It!s situation, room size and cleanliness.
Cons: Hotel is about to undergo a much needed renovation.
Location: Central to resort facilities, accessible to coasts and close to bus station.
As a lone female I felt safe, room was large, linen, towels clean, breakfasts good. As with other reviews I agree the hotel is 'tired' and in need of updating but is is to be closed during December and January for renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Tired hotel with smelly & dreary room

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: We were allowed to check our baggage in early at no cost which was convenient.
Cons: Needs a lick of paint and some maintenance!
Location: This hotel was an easy walk to the coast, St Paul's Bay and the aquarium.
This hotel looks tired and was very much like staying in a retirement village. Our room had the basics but smelled really bad, sulphurous. The fan looked like it was about to fall off the ceiling and decapitate us at any point, and had two settings - pathetic, or too noisy to sleep. The most disappointing thing was our double bed consisted of two singles pushed together... so much for a romantic getaway!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Great location

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Good base from which to explore the island from. A liitle old fashioned in places but. clean and helpfull staff. Great breakfast selection. Roof top pool very cold even after being heated by the sun all summer. Towels in the room had seen better days. View from our room was horrific a building site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: location and staff
Cons: Cleanliness
great location of the hotel, friendly staff, cleanliness could be improved
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't forget to visit the Bugibba temple!

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant two night stay and as I know how difficult it is to park anywhere in Malta chose the hotel because of the large public car park right outside. Breakfast was a basic buffet. Swimming pool on roof o.k, with lots of room for sun loungers. A hint for anyone into archaeology The Buġibba Temple, can be found in the grounds of the Dolmen hotel which is only 5 mins walk away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Good location, near shops and restaurants

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Lovely Zen garden area, peaceful and relaxing. Roof top pool and sun deck looked nice, but couldn't use due to weather. Lobby bright and welcoming.
Cons: Really needs an update - carpets, room furniture and light fittings looking really shabby.
Location: Close to shops, restaurants and bus station all within walking distance. Lively, but not too noisy area.
My Sister and I stayed at this hotel recently. Having requested a twin room, on arrival we were given a small double room. The reception found us a twin room which was bigger and acceptable. The carpets in the corridors and in the room were in very poor condition, stained and worn. The furniture looked worn too. The bathroom light fitting was hanging off the ceiling. The worst thing was, the patio door wouldn't open properly, it took two of us to move it. Then as we were unfortunate to have wet weather all week, during a thunder storm the water started to drip inside the room. This happened at midnight, so we put a towel on the floor and reported it to reception the following morning. We were told maintenance would go and have a look. We went out for the day, coming back, out room had been cleaned, but the sopping wet towel was still on the floor. Having reported this to reception we were offered another room, a smaller twin, which we accepted. The staff were efficient in sorting out rooms, but this hotel is really struggling to be a 4* hotel. The indoor pool which is only heated in winter (not mentioned on line) would have been a nice distraction from the rain, and the Jacuzzi was cold too, I thought at least this should have been warm. All said and done, we did enjoy our break despite the weather, but the Santana could do with a makeover.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Walkable location

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Seems they are doing a slow renovation, but hallways and even newer rooms are worn looking. Showers are troublesome with water spraying evertwhere.
Location: Good area to walk to waterfront and shops, restaurants.
Reasonable amenities and services for this price point. Good parking available. Caters to older clientele.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Nice hotel convenient for bus station

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Ebookers
A nice hotel,breakfasts very good -excellent choice.A few niggles that were sorted out
5 out of 5
by gerald

Friendly and Helpfull Staff

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
My Mother has just spent one month at this hotel. She goes to Malta at least once a year. The last few years she has stayed at the Santana. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They usually accomodate me with my request for a particular room and i am very appreciative of that. My Mother looks forward to her visits here. Her first choice for Malta is this hotel.