Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Good 3* hotel.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Our self-catering room was very clean, hot water never ran out, beds comfy, nicely decorated, bathroom pretty modern. Facilities not too bad. Staff very friendly. Food by pool excellent. Pool water very cold (it was Nov!) Some minor negatives (wifi only free in reception, no hair dryer, fridge working but overheating) but didn't impact holiday. Expedia didn't tell us we'd booked through holiday company called Supreme and so there was confusion with hotel transfer from airport, which was only resolved by ringing Expedia from airport at 9pm on Sat night. Supreme holiday rep was nice, trips we booked were disappointing. Half day one spent more time picking and dropping people off than actually spent at the tourist spots. I'd recommend using the buses or taxis. Malta was a good choice for winter break. It was still busy so in summer must be heaving!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Hotel Porto Azzurro and surrounding area

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble, hotel was very clean and accommodating. Had a little shop inside.
Cons: The hotel had the Malta feel about it, if you are looking for a hotel that is more modern in its appearance then may be this would not be suitable.
Location: Roman walks behind the hotel were very interesting, St Paul's Bay 20 mins walk away. walking around the bay at night, few bars and restaurants..
Hotel was very nice and clean, the staff were amazing very helpful, polite and accommodating, nothing was to much trouble. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again. The hotel is in a quiet part of Malta, however St Paul's bay is in walking distance if you prefer late nights out, transport is also very cheap. Really had a great time would recommend this hotel. For the price you pay, The hotel is well worth the stay. Looking forward to returning next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Never ever go to this hotel again

Posted Jul 26, 2017
My apartment was in the 4th floor, the lift not working most of the day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Was allocated the top floor. The temperature out doors was 45 0c and the same waa in room as aircondition was on timer and when off it was circulating hot air. I asked for a fan to tell wirh the heat and managed to get one after 3 days!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Nice for not long staing

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Lovely Location!!!! All buses which take you everywhere !
Cons: Falling plaster from the walls, more choice of breakfast,
Location: Location is the most good location in Malta, lovely bay, many buses, and lovely small store near,
Hotel condition not as we expect, need refresh. Staff lovely and very helpful !! :) Breakfast -disapointed and same everyday-english breakfast or yogurt and cirio. We was waiting for tea mugs more than 15 min.
4 out of 5
by Derek

Great Staff, value for money.

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were fantastic, but I had to move rooms 3 times due to late night noise by neighbours, the Wi-Fi is only available in the restaurant & bar area at certain times, otherwise buy a voucher. The bar prices were reasonable, but it is very hot in the bar. breakfast was satisfactory, but repetitive. overall value for money.
3 out of 5
by WILLIAM

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Mousey at night with heater on..Could not sleep..Pool and gym facilities poor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

9 day break

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful, room was cleaned every day no matter what time we went out for the day. Hotel was always clean nothing was ever too much trouble if we needed anything. Indoor pool was always spotless. Hotel was in a quiet location but easy to bus or walk to the next town or further afield.
Cons: Missed having a small fridge in the room but it wasn't a disaster.
Location: The walk along the Roman Road (directly opposite the hotel) is a lovely walk with loads to explore. Buses run from the end of the road regularly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Live in Gozo and booked overnight stay to get to airport for an early flight. Have fond memories of xemxija, as was our first visit to Malta over 30 years ago. We were impressed by foyer area and had a warm welcome at reception, we were even more impressed when we were told we had the penthouse suite! The suite was lovely with a beautiful view. The only downside of our visit was we were only staying for 1 night and had to leave at 5:30am to get to airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good value for money

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very good value for money