Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PAIGNTON, DEVON

Superb hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Food, drinks and facility’s
Location: Location is great for excursion as it’s closer to the Gozo/comino islands Aquarium and marine park.
One of the best hotels I’ve stayed in. Rooms were cleaned everyday to a good standard, the shower and toilet were of a good spec with fresh towels, a free safe for valuables and cheap hairdryer was included in the room as well as a kettle with tea and coffee, also a modern tv, the beds were Comfy enough, plenty of bed side lighting and uk plug sockets installed as well as eu, the balcony had a good view of the front and the balcony door was excellent at keeping the night life sounds outside. free WiFi but slow so we upgraded to better WiFi which was worth it at 20 euros for 7 nights for the 2 of us except in our room when the WiFi would drop from time to time, but worked great everywhere else. Food was amazing and different every night, drinks were all included in our package so no complaints there. On the whole our experience of the seashells was definitely a 10/10. Do not ask the hotel to book a taxi though as it was expensive (25 Euro). Get the local bus (not the hop on hop off sightseeing bus) 1.50 anywhere. A great place for family’s or couples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
Many thanks for a very encouraging review - we are glad your stay in our hotel was next to perfect. We do hope that the rest of your experience in Malta was as good and send our best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epsom

Comfortable and fairly well maintained hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
This hotel was as expected for an decent large 3-4* hotel. The rooms were fairly well maintained, and regularly cleaned. The bonus was access to a very nice sauna within the hotel's own spa, and to a nearby indoor pool and gym. The area has plenty of shops and restaurants of you are not on an all inclusive package.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for the encouraging rating and are glad you were satisfied with the level of room cleaning. Indeed the sauna at The Carisma Spa is free of charge. While the indoor pool and gym are situated 150metres away, entrance is also free. cheers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

pleasant trip

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: helpful staff
Cons: could benefit from a indoor pool/ spa concierge can be better, we booked all our trips from outside the hotel tour shop as they were more helpful!
Location: hotel situated near Buggiba , if u were to travel north of the island by tour bus make sure u start early as the last bus is just after 4pm.
i phoned before travelling to say that our flight was arriving early, pleased to say that the rooms were ready by 13:00 and we were given rooms on the same floor- we were travelling with another couple. so thank you. Sylvia at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful, also thank you to Dimitrov at the front desk very helpfull, sorted out our boarding passes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and especially your positive comments about our front desk staff. Once rooms are ready we do not leave guests waiting until the official check in time to give the room keys. Glad we could sort your arrival. cheers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Ok hotel, shame about food and pool area

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Room was nice but once again, a bit rough around the edges, could do with a really good maintenance check and plan for improvements.
Cons: Pool area, its rather out of date, looks a mess and is rather uninviting around the kids shop area. Some staff could do with smiling a bit more......
Location: Location was ok, very scruffy and not somewhere I would return to. It's promoted as a family hotel but to be honest, theres better places to stay
Needs a lot of TLC around the pool area. When we arrived the pool was full of debris from the trees that was only ever cleaned out once.....surely a daily sweep with a pool net wouldn't be too much to ask and the kids ship area is terrible, the water is rather murky and the ship has seen better days..... The adult pool was closed and out of bounds and the steps leading out to the reseat aura the also roped off as brickwork failing off, neither of these points were we advised of before arrival. Food ok, never really a huge choice and not that warm....all meats taste the same as they use the same spices and herbs in everything! breakfast was good though. It's rough around the edges but, I wouldn't return as St Julian's area looked much cleaner and nicer area to stay in. The area around the hotel is rather scruffy and dirty with rubbish everywhere, not the most pleasant of surroundings.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review - during most of the shoulder season between November and March there is usually only one pool available. We take the pools in turn for maintenance works - there are hardly any kids travelling during these months and operators are informed that there is only one pool available. We are glad you mention that our chef uses herbs in his cooking - if he doesn't some guests may find our buffet too bland - of course food is a matter of different taste buds. Cheers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Location, easy to get around, pool helpful staff
Cons: They should make it clear that pnly a few of the rooms have been upgraded and look like the photos. The rest are old and in need of refurbishment.
Location: Rocky beaches nearby, buggiba bus station, souvenier shops, excursion agents.
I got a room that was out dated and nothing like the pictures on the website, when I poined this out to the staff, they told me it was because I had booked an economy room, so I was quite dissapointed. However, they did upgrade my hotel room to one with a balcony and gave us a bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary which was very kind. Breakfast was good, but as I dont eat pork, or beans, I was limited for my hot food to just egg. Only once did they have chicken sausages which was a shame. The bread and pastry selebtion was great and the fruits although limited, were a nice alternative, lots of cold meats and cheeses too. Once we had real hash browns, the rest of the tme it was just sliced potatos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for reviewing our hotel. Most economy rooms are on the 1st floor and even they have brand new bathrooms, all tiling, beds, double glazed doors and windows, tea/coffee making facilities, safes, flat screen TVs and wifi. We hope the rest of your expectations concerning Malta were fulfilled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Cons: Outdated. Very much aimed at the over 60's and the 'all inclusive' crowd. In the 1970's it was probably very nice but hasn't moved with the times.
Location: There are lots of nice restaurants about but most are in the back streets of Bugibba and a reasonable walk, not that was a problem for us.
I chose this hotel because it was near the dive school I wanted to use. It's not for me I'm afraid. It's very dated and so much more could be achieved to make it more comfortable like relaxing chairs in the bar area, decent lighting and adding features. Very bare, very boring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for reviewing our hotel. The Seashells was opened in 1987 and the last refurbishment of Euro 13,000,000 was done in 2015. It is great to read that you could enjoy the restaurants nearby, since Bugibba is only 10minutes' walk away. The same distance is to the National Aquarium and Café del Mar. It is a pity you most probably never visited The Cheeky Monkey which is right opposite. It is the most in pub at the moment. Cheers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Nightmare

Posted Oct 22, 2017
In a word - 'nightmare'. Shambolic transfers to and from hotel. Upon arriving at Malta, no signs or indication of where or which company was going to take us to the hotel. We thought we'd been conned which is not a good first impression of a new destination. Similarly a few hours ago the return taxi was late and one person in the van was asked to sit on a mini stool for their ride to the airport! The rest of the journey we had to endure a very angry young lady remonstrating with the driver for the transit companies shambolic performance. I must also preface this review by saying my wallet was stolen opposite the hotel on the 3rd night out after visiting the hotel bar and restaurant. According to the foreign office travel advice, pickpockets are common in Malta. Especially on public transport. Putting that incident to one side and reviewing the hotel, I can summarize that the hotel is in my opinion, very poor value for money. Good point : 1) food is decent quality Bad points 1) the sea view room we had was not well maintained. The sink in our room wouldn't drain properly. 2) the hotel often smells of b.o and fish. We heard other guests remarking about the bad smells. 3) there was the intermittent stench of tabacco being pumped into the room via the A/C. We are non smokers! 4) mini bar is empty and fridge is dirty with mold. 5) no room service. No water bottles and our tea/coffee and milk was not replenished everyday. Don't bother wasting your money on this pl
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for your feedback. We are sad your experience in our hotel and in general in Malta was not a good one. All our hotel rooms and public areas (inside) are a non smoking zone. Tea/coffee and milk are replenished every day - in the case they are not (this would be human error), all one needs to do is let us know and they will be replenished immediately - the same goes for the sink drain - our reception is open 24hrs and our maintenance persons also are here 24hrs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bracknell england

ok for a short break

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: great location right on the main road and across from the sea
Cons: better selection of wine and beer and not run out of certain stock
Location: not much to do were hotel is but 2 miles up the road you have the bugibber centre
the hotel is for all inclucvive customers not for the paying customer not a great selection wine and beers the wine was on tap and when you brought a cocktail there was no enough effort it was just put in a tall glass and not bits to go with it these are 5 euros each it is more of a 3 star hotel not 4 star
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for reviewing our hotel and are glad you found our location to be good. The Cheeky Monkey Gastro Pub belongs also to the hotel and there is a vast selection of cocktails, wines, beers and whiskies. This bar is not part of the all inclusive package. We hope the rest of the stay in Malta was up to your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from horsham uk

Great hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Relaxing stay with all amenities close by. Good room with comfortable beds & quiet for good nights sleep. Suprise wine & fruit left in room by hotel staff as birthday present even though we did not tell the hotel this. Exceptional choice for breakfast & good quality. Bus stop outside the door for exploring the rest of Malta but does get busy so we found it better to walk to the bus station 5 mins away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for reviewing our hotel and for the excellent rating. A little bird told us about the birthday - great that you chose our hotel for an important occasion. We send sunny regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, England

Nice hotel, great facilities

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Lovely and clean hotel, plenty of choice in the restaurant, really good quality, sauces & soups were particularly good, excellent bar staff.
Cons: A decent shower and changing facility for late pickup guests, offered a towel to use in showers at the pool, no hairdryer and wet floors.
Location: Located on busy road, plenty of restaurants & shops within 10 minutes walking distance.
We had a lovely relaxing time at this hotel, the adult only pool was fab, although a bit busy at times. The pizzas at the Luzzo bar were among the best we've ever had. Animation team worked really hard and produced some proper laugh out shows in the evening, particularly the "If I was not in the animation team" sketch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by L.Schembri, Hotel Management
We thank you for reviewing our hotel - it seems like our animators left a good mark. Great reading good comments about the food. We send warm regards from Malta.