Ratings based on 3,910 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Posted Aug 6, 2017
I would stay again. Nice location. Nice beach. Sea turtle nest. Great room service. Nice ammidities. Slow elevator
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Hotel was on the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: The view and walking distance of pizza restaurant
View was perfect and walking distance of grocery store plus a pizza restaurant (which also delivered) The room set up was not good. The tv could only be seen from one bed. When I booked in March this hotel had no resort fees (which is one of the reasons I picked it) when checking in I was told I would be charged a fee. Since they were not charging back when I booked they should have been waved. I will not be returning next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I booked this hotel because the ratings from other guests were good. After my stay I can inform anyone who cares that the only good thing is the beach. The people who gave good ratings must have stayed on the beach all night and never went inside the hotel and room. The room had old furniture, small old bathroom, the hall carpet was old and smelly. For the money we paid it was not worth it. The hotel caters to weddings. The pictures look good, the hotel not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niles,Illinois

Nice comfy Hotel on the Beach!

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Loved everything about it! The Revolving Restaurant on the 12 floor had great food! Bongos beach Bar was alot of fun with live entertainment every day! The staff was very polite and helpful! It's our second time here and not disappointed! Would definitely go back again! Thanks for the memories!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel located right on the beach.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Service was great. Very friendly staff. The restaurants in this facility were fantastic. Great meals and great drinks!
Location: Walking distance to a lot of attractions. Great location.
Great trip! Definitely will stay here again. All staff were friendly and courteous, couldn't ask for much more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel on beautiful beach!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: THE BEACH!!!!!!
Cons: Room bathroom was a bit small
Location: Didn't venture too far from hotel, didn't need to
Exactly what we were looking for - very relaxing and beautiful setting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Decent hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Location: Publix and CVS very close for groceries, sunblock, beach toys/rafts/snorkel gear. Rentals on beach from Suncoast Watersports, jet skiis were fun.
Second stay at Grand Plaza. First stay was 5 years ago and we decided to come back with our kids this time. The rooms have aged and need some attention especially to areas on the ceiling with mildew. The rooms are too small with 4 people in tow. Balcony had hot air blowing out of AC unit making it miserable to sit there. We paid for gulf view room and the view was blocked with the palm trees around the pool deck at sunset, which defeated purpose of paying extra for room (2nd floor). Speaking of air conditioning, it did not keep up well and was set at 69, 76 in room everyday since the unit would turn off while we were not there. At night, it would cool well once it caught up. We did not complain about any of these issues since we spent most of the time at the beautiful beach. Resort fee included cabana or umbrella and chairs. I recommend the latter since there is better air movement on hot days and they are right on the water. The cabanas are behind the umbrella/chairs. We were hoping to check in early on our Tuesday arrival due to bad weather in the area and 3 o'clock was the first available room, which was better than 4. Elevators are painfully slow no matter the time of day/night. We took steps 90% of the time. Beach and restaurants are the reason to stay here. Excellent food, service, and views. We would recommend to friends keeping in mind above mentioned items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Hotel is right on the beach. Wished the hotel had some simple amenities for kids such as sand toys, boggie boards, swim jackets, etc. Walking distance to grocery store, beach store (where we purchased boggie board and sand toys), CVS and shops. Hotel is next door to Tradewinds which has a giant slide and some other fun things to do in the water for a cost. There is also a small playground right next door to the hotel right on the beach. We will visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Right on the beach. Could have a bigger pool. Room was well appointed and generally clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient location on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The employees and location.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms, hallways, pool area
Location: Within walking distance to grocery store, shopping, bars and restaurants.
The staff including engineering, bell, front desk, and wait staff in the restaurants, were very customer service driven. They were the best part of our stay. Location was great with an awesome beach. The room was a generous size but disappointing when it came to cleanliness. There was some brown splatter on the bathroom door, the mirrors were not clean, shutters were full of dust, windows with smears and something crusty on the globe of the ceiling fan. It also appears that they have tried to update this hotel on the cheap.