Ratings based on 1,389 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverview, Fl

A short getaway vacation!!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Cons: Change carpet, paint, room furniture.
Overall, the room was o.k, yes it needs a bit of maintenance, but nothing out of the ordinary. We enjoy our stay and will recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from largo, Fl

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The hotel was like any other regular hotel. Nothing spataciular stood out. We spent most of our time at the beach or the pool drinking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Howard Johnson St Pete's Beach "Ho Jo's--- Ho No"

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location is good. That is about it.
Cons: Update the rooms, make the pool private for hotel guests. Need's security.
Location: The location as great. Dinner at Guy Harvey is great. The shops on Blind Pass Road are a short walk and wonderful.
The hotel decor is old and out dated. The tub shower dripped all day and night. The rooms are worn-out. The staff was very nice but not accommodating. The worst part of the property is the pool and access to the beach. The pool is not private or for "guests only" as an old sign in a bucket says and is over run with non-guests, dogs, tons of resident kids from the neighborhoods. There is no private beach access, you need to go thru the bar to get to beach or thru the parking lot past trash cans and porta-potties (supposedly for the bar patrons to use- doesn't happen). The bar- Toasted Monkey is a popular destination for locals and the pool is connected to the bar. Bar guests enter thru the pool area and use the same bathrooms as pool guests (always a line and they are disgusting) and sit around the pool and smoke.The bar had nice music but the crowds and noise were anything but relaxing. The hotel put a card in the rooms touting how the pool is for "guests only" I assume its a reoccurring problem for Howard Johnson as they made a big deal addressing the issue of "non guests" on the room card. The drunken bar crown is a MAJOR PROBLEM. One nite there were 8 cop cars buzzing around the property apparently an inebriated bar guest followed a teenage girl into her room. The following night a fire sprinkler went off in a floor above and flooded our room. Will not be returning
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Not a fan of the rowdy bar between the hotel and the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

Beach paradise

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Location is everything. St. Beach is tops. Bar st from and at back. Room large and had a easy balcony. High ceiling add to good feel. Good price as compared to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
everything was nice except to humidity inside the room. but everything else was excelent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: close to beach
Cons: divert the walking in traffic that goes to the beach bar somewhere else.
Location: n/a
near to beach but too much of walk in traffic in parking lot. not feel too safe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach but that was the only positive

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The distance to the beach and the bar.
Cons: condition and cleanliness of the hotel
This hotel is in desperate need of an update. The room was so disappointing that I wanted to leave. I did not want to sleep there let alone shower. I did not even step foot on the balcony as it was disgusting and stinky. Not to mention, it faced a dumpster. The ONLY upside to this hotel is that it is within steps to the beach and there is a small fun little bar there as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE

Hotel needs updating

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great beach location and nice pool. Hotel rooms need maintenance and some updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach was the best part, and it was farily quiet.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Location: great beach
Room on a parking lot. Peeling wallpaper, and stained rust in bathtub.