Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa.

Nice hotel near the beach!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view of the Gulf. The hotel staff...Brenna, Erick, Sammie, Adam and Katie....very helpful and friendly.
Location: Publix and Walgreens in walking distance in addition to some restaurants.
Clean rooms and pool. Family owned hotel. An older hotel, but very comfortable and reasonably priced. Also FREE rides to places on Gulf Blvd. (Tips appreciated) Would return to this hotel in the future. A+
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Hi Rita, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you here again soon. Just FYI for other travellers reading this review- our hotel is not the one providing free rides, it's a company called Free Beach Rides.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Great location, average room, terrible staff

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location
If you want to be talked to in a condescending and disrespectful manner, this is the place for you. The location is great and the beach is beautiful. The amenities are nice but the pool is open for such a short period of time (10am to 6pm - during daylight savings time). We had ants in our room, but "this is Florida." The staff does less than required and has a tendency to talk down to people. The "rules" change daily and are applied differently be each staff member, particularly the "parking policy." Mark this off the list for a stay-cation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Patrick, I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here. I am so sorry if a staff member was condescending and disrespectful. This is really not typical of our hotel. As you can see from other reviews, our staff is always praised and they try to go above and beyond in pleasing our guests. It would be very beneficial if you can contact me and share your experience. I would love to have a conversation with the staff member who you think were condescending and disrespectful. As far as our parking policy we are very consistent with the policy- we only give out one parking pass per reserved room. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm beach County Florida

Old doesn't have to be dirty

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Cleaning, new mattresses, bed linens, towels (beach towels that were offered are more like rags).
Location: Publix and Walgreens for shopping are right across the street. Better hotels are right there.
Billboard in front says family owned and operated since 1988. I think all the towels,bed linens, and mattresses are from 1988; really I booked four nights but was told at checkin that the doesn't mean in the same room. (this is an expedia problem). The room was filled with ants; had to be sprayed and treated 3 out of 4 days. The stove top had to be replaced; wouldn't turn off. We actually had to unplug it until they could have maintenance come in the next morning. Waited for 10 mins. the first night to get hot water for shower. That was better the rest of stay. Nothing in the room felt clean; white bed linens and towels that have the dirty gray cast, grease and dried food on the few dishes provided. The beach is beautiful and the staff was friendly. I think I got a room that just doesn't get cleaned. I went and bought lysol so I could spray everything. Beds have been over used. Mattresses need to be rep[laced. Free coffee, beer, and wine are offered everyday. They should spend the money on cleaning, towels and linens. The microwave is cheap, old, and melted on door, probably not safe. All the parts on the refrigerator door were missing so it was unusable. This hotel is old honky tonk Florida (the 50s) which is okay for the decor not for cleaning, appliances, linens, towels, and mattresses. Nothing lasts forever. You have to replace and clean!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Flash, Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you thought everything was old and the room not clean. Unfortunately your statement that everything was old is not accurate. We actually just replaced all the mattresses last month, they are all brand new. As far as the room towels and beach towels, they are also new- purchased within the last 3 months. As far as the linen service, we use a third party company who provides us with clean and new sheets three times a week. I wished you had voiced some of your concerns to one of our managers while you were here. There was no need for you to go buy cleaning supplies and to clean things yourself. I can assure you our housekeepers clean every room to a high standard, and inspectors come afterwards to inspect the cleaning. It is possible that we missed something during our inspection, but I do believe that all of us here have a high standard for cleaning. I am part of family who owns the Plaza Beach Hotel and I can tell you we pour our hearts into this business as well as our resources and our time. We are constantly upgrading and buying new supplies. I believe the room you had was just a fluke and maybe somehow some of the cleaning was missed. I hope you do give us a chance again in the future, and if you do decide to come, please come say hi. I would love to hear more about your experience and I would also love a chance for you to know how hard we work to make our guests experiences the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Perfect stay!!!!

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The staff is super friendly and helpful, they did everything i asked for and more. The location is great, you can go from the pool to the beach within seconds since is right infront the beach... I will definetely recommend it and go back soon!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and are considering coming back. We would love to host you here again. And thanks for referring us- word of mouth advertising is still one of the biggest forms of referrals for us. Thanks again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Saint Lucie, FL

Great location, wonderful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This was my second time staying at Plaza Beach. It's not a fancy place, but the rooms are clean, the staff is attentive, and the location is great. I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us again. It's our pleasure to receive repeat guests here. We are glad you found it clean, and enjoyed the location and staff. We hope to see you here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Small quaint hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Rooms come with fridge, stove, microwave, and full set of cooking utensils.
Cons: Everything was great
Location: Right off the beach, lots of restaurants, fast food, and stores nearby. Not far from john pass board walk with shops and lots of water sport rentals
Hotel was just right for us. A little on the older side however, was clean, and spacious. It fit our needs. You have to clean your own room unless you pay additional fee's not included into your first initial price. However, you do have the option to leave your towels and trash outside the door before noon to get free replaced amenities. This was very easy and still made the stay nice and smooth. The staff was friendly. The only issue was the noisy neighbors however was not a deal breaker. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The kitchenettes are always a hit and allows our guest to save money on eating out. We hope to see you here again in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh...

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
We are locals who had a staycation. Staff was extremely friendly especially at checkin. Hotel room was okay. The kitchenette was a nice touch with cook top, sink, large fridge, pots, pans, and dinnerware. Bathroom is very very small. There was maybe a foot between the toilet and the tub. I actually used it like my squatty potty. We had a lot of baby spiders in our room (I understand we are close to the beach). Several Large windows in the front of the room meant no privacy at all unless curtains we closed tightly and at night light still creeped around them (so no dark room to sleep in) Pool was clean, though a lot of noisy kids. Free beer(bud light keg) and wine for an hour in the evening was a nice touch. I don't think I would stay here again though. I could see spending a little more for a much nicer hotel. Overall good for a family with kids on a budget who don't mind other families kids making a ruckus, but def not a romantic getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed kitchenette and the free happy hour. I am sorry if there were loud kids by the pool. We thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by Gladys

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Plaza Beach Hotel-Beachfront Resort. We hope you come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay at Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come back and see us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Alexander

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Big room. Convenience location. Hotel Needs renovation (upgrades).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you for your five star review. We are always doing some renovations and upgrades. We look forward to your return trip so you can see the many improvements.