Ratings based on 1,458 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Great pools and beach. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable, although not very big (we had a standard room with two beds and it was a bit tight).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

An absolute ripoff

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Expedia website
Cons: Again the only thing positive was the comfortable bed, everything else could use improvement.
Let me just say that the bed was extremely comfortable, but that was about the only thing they will get a positive review from me. The hotel is under construction which was extremely noisy especially in the morning, a hotel supervisor was cursing, constantly using the F word at some maintenance workers. We were hit with a resort fee of $25.00 per day, which they claim had to do because someone put water in our room, (which we never used) and to help pay for the so call FREE wireless Internet. The only thing this hotel has going for it, maybe when everything is fixed and employees would stop cursing, is the history. Not only do I not recommend this hotel, I will never stay here again. I haven't written a negative review such as this in the last 15 years. Next time I'll stay at a Holiday Inn. Major disappointment for me and my guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: on the beach
Cons: very outdated
great time was down visting my friends . nice being right on the beach . beautiful sunsets .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Latham, NY

Nice place, but some reservations...

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Classic architecture, solid.
Cons: Water was too soft, could not get the soap off. HVAC noise outside.
It's a nice classic hotel, parking was good $15/day and most of the time no trouble self-parking. The room was of high quality and clean. Overall not bad and nice if you like a more classic place. I was extremely disappointed that booking further out it was substantially more costly than the day after I left, as I had reason to look up something. But I expect this is typical practice. The biggest problem is they need to redesign their outdoor HVAC system. If you are anywhere inside the hotel's "horseshoe" facing the water, you may hear the noisy droning fan systems. They need to completely enclose these in noise abatement buildings. The other major issue was the water is too soft and you cannot get the soap off, so you feel icky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Great Hotel on Beach

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Everything except paying for beach chairs. They should be complimentary
Cons: Should not need to pay to sit on beach comfortably
Great time. beach beautiuful, resort awesome. Made you feel welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Our stay at the Pink Palace

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: The history and beauty
Cons: Maybe bigger rooms but because of the age of the hotel it is acceptable.
Location: The beach is the very best. Shopping, eateries and fishing are all there!
First of all, the staff is friendlier than any that I have ever seen. The food, location and history behind this place is second to none. We love it and will stay again. The regular rooms are not very spacious but the grounds, pools and everything else that comes with the Don Cesar is above expectations. There are so many great places to eat close by and walking the beach is a beautiful sight. Everything is clean and safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota Fl.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Cons: They charge you for things that most hotels include.
Expedia didnt clarify about the resort fee that is added to the hotel charge. About $29. a day....This includes usage of pool, excercise rooms, and more. Very confusing when at checkout the hotel gives you a bill for these extra charges which I thought would be included with the original reservation. I was also charged $93. more that is now being refunded according to an email I received from expedia, after calling your firm.... There was some miss communication with the hotel. My trust is low when I see these things.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful hotel on beach - rooms very small

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Nice decore, beautiful pools and beach. Rooms very small, not sound proof. Restaurant service very bad - left restaurant on 2 different occasions after 30 minutes of not being greeted or getting any water. Food is good if you can get served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Assonet, MA

Outstanding beachfront hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017
The “Don” lived up to it’s billing. The hotel was clean and well staffed. The pool area was also. The beach was perfect and not too crowded. My only issue is the daily fee for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

5th Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Love this hotel but it is starting to slip. Not as professional as in years past. The new beach vendor is not the way to go. Pool bar chairs to the linens are looking worn. The devil is in the details and Lowes understood this. Going to be a couple of years before we come back. We hope for a turnaround.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Lisa - Don CeSar, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Don CeSar. It is our goal to provide excellent service to each and every guest, exceeding all expectations. As you pointed out, we failed to do so while you were here and for that we are extremely sorry. We will certainly take the feedback you provided and share with all of the departments. On a happier note, the ownership has planned a lot of wonderful improvements that will be implemented over the next several years which will take care of some of the physical conditions you have pointed out. We completely understand your disappointment and hope you will give us another chance in the future.