Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Place

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, quality of food, even the odd squeaky floor board which added to it's authenticity
Cons: Nothing was apparent to me
Location: Centrally located from which all roads depart
After a long day exploring the surrounds, I loved knowing I was returning to the OTHER.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely staff and great location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Had a lovely stay,worth every penny!even though very expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, England

Relaxing hotel where nothing was too much trouble.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness and extremely polite staff.
Cons: We had to wait for breakfast on a couple of mornings as, apparently, 9am - 10am is a very popular time. Perhaps more tables could have been set up?
Location: Great location. Short walk to town centre and bus station. Castle museum well worth a visit.
Impressed with smart waiters, including breakfast waiters. Wonderful food with plenty of choice. Beautiful room although bed a little hard. Lovely little touches like turning down bed in the evening and leaving little biscuits or sweet treats each night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from clitheroe

Great location for town, getting about the island

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, food, pool, location
Cons: Too much furniture and literature in room
Location: Access to boats, all transport, shops and restaurants in easy walking distance
Wonderful staff, always cheerful and helpful. Excellent food and service. Great bars. Comforting room although small and small shower and bathroom. Great pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E Yorks

Very nice old fashioned hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Cheaper drinks
Location: centre of St peter Port close to harbour and good rstaurants
Loved hotel staff extremely polite and helpful Good old fashioned courtesy Good location in St Peter Port Breakfast very good Downside is that drinks were very expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Fab hotel, but you have got to be fit!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: The grandness of it all, and the beautiful fresh breakfasts!
Cons: A shuttle service is definitely required from the hotel to the sea front!
Location: The location itself is really good as it is smack bang in the middle of St. Peter's Port and there are loads of things to do around that area!
The hotel itself is fabulous with your every need catered for, but with the hotel being halfway up an extremely steep hill, it really is not for the faint-hearted! Myself and my husband loved our 4 day stay there, but unfortunately, due to the location, we will not be staying there again when we go back to Guernsey! It really was a pain if we had forgotten something to have to walk up and down the hill to go back to the room, so much so, we actually ended up buying new stuff from the shops rather than have to walk up the hill again! Don't get me wrong, we are not unfit people. I actually do 5 HIT classes every week at the gym, but the last thing you want after a lovely night out, is to have to tackle that hill again!!! There is a taxi rank apparently next to the clock at the bottom of the hill, but unfortunately, we did not find out about this until the day we were leaving, and even so, due to the prices that the hotel charge, it's a bit rich to expect people to have to pay for taxis at daytime and night time too! In my opinion, the best thing that the hotel can do is to put on a shuttle service at the busiest times of the day, to ferry residents up and down the hill! It would be more than appreciated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This must be the best hotel in St Peters Port

Posted Jul 16, 2017
This hotel strives to please in every aspect from a warm and friendly greeting when we arrived and a complimentary welcome drink of proseecco to providing advice on where to go and what to see in Guernsey The best meal we have ever had was in their Curry House, and worth coming back to Guernsey just for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orpington Kent

Convenient situation

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central postition convenient for shops and harbour
Staff very helpful especially when I had a fall. Rooms not large but comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

Excellent service, great location and heated pool!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Service, pool area, location.
Cons: A slightly larger room - so upgrade I suppose.
Location: Shopping, eating, seafront, harbor, aquarium, garden, military museum etc.
It took a while to decide which hotel to stay at but after looking at lots of reviews I decided to book the OGH for my 'special birthday'. We were not disappointed. The service was everything described and more. Although the room could have been a little larger but it was well laid out with everything needed, lots of draws, coat hangers and lots of toiletries in the bathroom (bath and shower cubicle). The service was very good (reception, restaurant staff and pool service), to the extent the man who served us in the bar one evening remembered I ordered decaf, remembered when he served us for breakfast the following morning. The breakfasts were very good, in particular the multiple bowls of fresh fruit (the raspberries, apricots, pineapple and prunes of particular note). There are also lovely views of the harbour and out to sea due to the height of the hotel going up the hill. The pool area is what made it for us. The outside pool was a really good temperature (warm!), with very comfortable loungers and a range of boots soltan sun lotion readily available. The pool area was a great sun trap. The location is very good, within 3 to 5 minute walk from the main high street and sea front. Very easy to pop back and forwards.
1 out of 5
by John

Guernsey short break

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and comfortable. Exceptional breakfast in a lovely situation. Big room and plenty of space