Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Fantastic boutique hotel in great location. friendly professional staff. great food couldn't have chosen a better hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by David W Jones, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your stay and review! We appreciated your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Duke of Richmond hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Location: It is up a hill and therefore not in the centre of St Peters Port but for us that was ok. Several things to do close by.
Overall a lovely hotel, staff were excellent, polite and attentive without being intrusive, good food from the restaurant and great bar staff. Marked the hotel lower on condition as the the stair carpet was frayed slightly in a couple of places but the level of cleanliness was high. I would highly recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but father tizzy

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Staff were excellent as was breakfast. Room too cluttered to be comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

RELAXING SHORT BREAK FROM LONDON

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Good size, room, Good amenities - Excellent range of choice for breakfast - catered for everybody...
Cons: I think the furniture was a tad dated, but otherwise it was of a very good standard.
Location: Quite close to the port - the walk is downhill, but the walk back is pretty steep. Obviously you could take a bus/taxi...
Went for the bank holiday weekend. Luckily had very warm weather. Guernsey is a pretty, clean and relaxing break from London. Guernsey locals "Donkeys" are very helpful, extremely courteous and friendly. Always someone willing to tell you where to get off on the bus, give general directions and recommendations. I stayed in the Duke of Richmond Hotel - friendly, helpful staff. Only thing to note if you are elderly or have difficulties walking - the walk back to the hotel is up a steep hill. I found this okay, but some people would probably struggle. Lovely scenery in Guernsey and as mentioned above we had wonderful weather. The hotel has a terrace and a small pool, so the option to relax after a long day's walk (or whatever other activity you have done) is an extra bonus. Flight was from Gatwick - only takes 35 minutes (unless delayed, which we were for an hour !). This was a shambles really as the airline seemed to be unable to update regularly, etc... Once in Guernsey things were pretty smooth. We took the local bus into St Peters Port - which took about 20 minutes and cost £1... it is so easy to get around on the buses, not sure why one would need to take a taxi.. I would not go back, but I would definitely recommend a visit if you have not been to the Channel Isles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Only negative it's on a hill

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Lovely hotel but you need a car or take a bus up the hill there is however a problem with parking not enough spaces so you need to park on the road if again you can find a place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The hotel is located approximately 4 miles from the airport and can be reached by taxi or a £1 bus into St Peter Port followed by a 15 minute walk up a steep hill. It is a luxurious 4* hotel with friendly and helpful staff, nothing too much trouble for them. The bedrooms have toiletries and a locking safe. Our room didn't have a fridge or mini bar. There is an outside heated pool which is open from 8am. The breakfast included a self service buffet as well as waiter service with a large variety of hot options. The evening meal in the restaurant we found was a little overpriced as none of the main courses that we chose came with potatoes or vegetables, these were side orders at additional cost. Overall, a very comfortable hotel where our every need was catered for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Norbert Stump, Hotel Management
Dear Derek, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the luxurious comfort of our hotel and the variety of meals served at The Leopard Bar and Restaurant. It has been my great pleasure to compliment all our team on their friendly and efficient service which impressed you so much. We hope that you will take the opportunity to visit our beautiful island once again during the summer months and I will be delighted to personally assist you in arranging a stay with us. Yours sincerely, Norbert Stump General Manager
5 out of 5
by Nitin

A great stay at The Duke

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and memorable as much as possible. All the staff were wonderful and attentive to our requests. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Dear Nitin, Thank you for rating your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel so highly. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed the attentive and friendly service from our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another relaxing and enjoyable holiday in Guernsey. Yours sincerely, Norbert Stump General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

A LUXURY TREAT

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Everything, very professional but very comfortable
Cons: The parking is hopeless. There are only 5 spaces for the hotel. The DOR has tried to get more spaces but they are not allowed.
Location: The hotel is up a steep hill, you can walk down to the sea, but we always needed a taxi back, which costs about £5. Herm and Sark trips v good.
What a hotel! We had initially booked a classic room and even though it was quite luxurious, it was very small. As my husband is not in the best of health, we knew we would spend a lot of time in the room, so as a treat I asked if we could upgrade on the 2nd day. We were shown 2 other rooms and chose the most marvellous suite. This had a very comfortable bed with monogrammed sheets and thick fluffy towels with luxury products in the bathroom. We had breakfast brought up to our room for an extra £3 per tray, with a choice of anything that was available and in 15 minute slots. There was also a turn down service from the maids in the evening who also tidied the room and refilled the tea, coffee etc tray. The staff were the most courteous, professional, helpful and friendly anyone could wish to meet. The only downside was parking, but the staff did offer to change the parking discs if there was any problem, that's if you could find a space. Guernsey council won't allow any more parking in that area and even the locals have a great problem. One young couple with a baby were selling their home as the car parking problem was such a big issue. Overall a thoroughly fantastic hotel that deserves 5 stars
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Norbert Stump, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, I would like to thank you for finding the time to share the details of your recent experience with other travellers. It is wonderful that you and your husband enjoyed the comfort of our luxurious suite, delicious breakfasts and efficient service from our housekeeping team. It has given me a particular pleasure to compliment all my colleagues for their courteous, professional and friendly service that made your stay so memorable and enjoyable. We would like to hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island. Yours sincerely, Norbert Stump General Manager
4 out of 5
by Jason

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Dear Jason, Thank you for finding the time to rate your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to another enjoyable stay with us. Yours sincerely, Norbert Stump General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Welcoming hotel in central location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was well appointed. Great breakfast. Fantastic break again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Norbert Stump, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, Thank you for finding the time to leave your wonderful feedback following your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to learn that you found your room comfortable and well-appointed and that you enjoyed our friendly service and great breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you decide to visit our beautiful island. Yours sincerely, Norbert Stump General Manager