Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ridiculous first night

Posted Jun 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hire honest, competent employees
My first night stay was a nightmare. I quickly checked in to my room in the early evening and was out for the night. Getting into bed pretty late I noticed an odor with the pillows....same odor with the sheets. The sheets were not changed. I was frustrated as ever, too sleepy to have a coherent plan and figuring housekeeping was gone til morning. I then noticed the other side of the king size bed sheets did not smell and I tried to sleep. In the morning I went to the front desk and complained about the sheets and wanted to see the manager. I met with the manager later in the day and pled my case of the bad experience -the sheets were never changed and since I was staying 8 nights wanted my money back for the first night. His reply, I checked your sheets and they did not look dirty to me! He was very non-compliant and essentially ignorant. I was surprised I was dealing with his response and mentioned this is the type of thing you read about in the news ....dirty sheets! He said the best he can do is take 30 % off the price. I then asked for 50% which he responded absolutely not. I refused his 30% and asked for his supervisor. He replied he does not have one, and that he works for a corporation. I asked for the number and contacted them. They said they could try and talk to him or I can wait until I check out and make a formal complaint. I chose the latter. Two days later another manager heard of my issue and offered me 50% off and I took it. Lesson learned - check the sheets!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset ky

clarion inn and suites clearwater fla

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Room was very clean, bedroom confortable, breakfast was great, bar friendly services, poom and hot tub could been a little bit cleaner over all great place to stay close to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

excellent location, clean perfect for everyone,

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: very clean, no roaches or nasty smell. very well kept.
Cons: nothing that I can think of at the moment
Location: very good location, you can walk to, drive to, close to everything.
wonderful, very pleased with the staffs helpful. The manager was indifferent but business like, I guess that is expected. But all was in order, I will use them again when the opportunity arises because of the cleanness of the the hotel, no foul smell / odor or roaches anywhere. the carpet in the room was clean, the bed very comfortable, clean smell. I did not smell any odor on the pillows or sheets. I really was impressed with the overall cleanness of the entire facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Beautiful hotel. Huge room with free upgrade.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Had a free upgrade to a suite. 8.5' pool and a nice breakfast. Exercise room was small but functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada, Nova Scotia

Better hotel than the competition.

Posted May 18, 2017
I came to this location for the nights of the 16th and 17th, and the entire front was roped off for maintenance on the roof, but when we got back from our day adventure on the 17th, they had the back roped off too. They only put signs in one area, so we didn't see then and we're confused. It's a nice hotel overall, but the front staff are a bit confusing. I went to extend my stay in the morning, and they told me I could extend my stay, and it would be the same rate. It was not the same rate as Expedia when I checked my bank account. Do yourself a favor and double check the rate when you extend your stay. The rooms were absolutely worth it however, the beds are so comfortable. The shower is big enough for two people, and the amenities are great. I'd come back, but I'm checking the prices next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

For the simple travler

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Premises need to be updated.
Location: Everyday shopping nearby. Easy route to Clearwater beach.
The best way to write this out is to identify the Pros and Cons. Pros: Location. Easy, straight forward route to Clearwater Beach. Literally a U-turn under the over pass and a right turn on Gulf to Bay and you're on a straight shot to the beach. Everyday shopping nearby. If you forgot something or want to stock up on some items Target and other shopping and dining is close by. Staff is accommodating. Cons: The hotel needs to be updated which I think they're in the early process of doing. You can hear a lot of outside noise from your room. Rooms need to be updated. They are definitely dated. All in all if you're expecting something beyond a comfortable bed and minor creature comforts you're in for a disappointment but if you're looking to sleep, shower, maybe hang at the pool and then head out into town then I think you'll be happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

A Nice Overnight

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The suite we had was wonderful. The pool was very nice, not crowded.
Cons: My wife was looking forward to relaxing in a bath, but the shower was very nice.
Location: The hotel was easy to get to and near a lot of restaurants.
My wife and I needed a get-a-way, so we gave this hotel a try. We were so happy with the room. We were excited that we got an upgrade to a suite! The pool was very nice, not crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visiting Friends

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Value
Cons: room was a little outdated
Visiting Friends, everything went well Visiting Friends, everything went well Visiting Friends, everything went well Visiting Friends, everything went well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Close to the baseball experience!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Older but clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful: Chrissie and Jesse were amazing!
Cons: Downside was that the airline delayed us by two days because flights were cancelled: we had to pay for the room for one night before our arrival.
Location: Close to shopping and restaurants by car but located on a major highway. Close to several baseball parks.
The hotel was older but clean & comfortable. Convenient by car to shopping and restaurants.I would recommend this hotel because of the price and location to the baseball parks but not for a family vacation. Great for the spring training experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel. Close to Phillies Ballpark.

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location to Phillies ballpark and restaurants.
Cons: The coffee.
Location: Location was perfect.
Checked into the hotel and was surprised when I was upgraded to a Suite. Room was very clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was good even with a limited menu.