Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
All in all it wasn't to bad, checked in and was told that the a/c was out and would be back on shortly.. It was 4am before it came back on.. No free wifi which I thought was odd as much lesser hotels and hotel chains offer free wifi but the views were nice and was close to the beach and shopping... While I'll probably never stay there again I would recommend as a cheaper alternative to the more expensive hotels not as close to the beach!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are terribly sorry for the challenges you experienced when our air conditioning went down. We are happy you were able to enjoy the views and location of our hotel. I do hope you reconsider staying with us in the future once our current modernization projects are complete.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fint strandnært hotell

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Flott beliggenhet med kort vei til stranden på Sand Key. Ypperlig for barn og roligere strand enn i selve Clearwater. God service på hotellet, håndkler både til basseng og strand. Flott basseng.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. We do cater towards families and are very excited that you enjoyed our amenities and pool area. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
They were doing a lot of renovating! I would not have stayed there if I would have known that was taking place! Renovating pool area and some type of crew was outside my window working for a couple days. Wasn't the best for s family vscation
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry for any challenges our current modernization may have caused. We do everything we can to minimize the impact but we know some still happens. We hope to have another opportunity to better your experience with us if your travels bring you back to Clearwater Beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Excellent location wonderful staff, clean rooms, great pool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted May 29, 2016
Great experience staying here. We stayed 2 nights during memorial weekend. Pool was beautiful but a little overcrowded, but that's to be expected during the holiday weekend. Front desk staff was great and so was the staff outside by the pool. I really liked that we were able to rent jet skis and kayaks right there by the pool area. Overall great experience. We'll definitely be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by M.Buckle, Hotel Management
Erica, Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate Memorial Day weekend with us on Sand Key! The weather over this past holiday weekend was absolutely beautiful and perfect for jet skiing! It is great to hear our staff was able to create a comfortable, as well as memorable stay for you. Thank you again, for taking the time to share your experience, and please come visit us again soon! Sincerely, Maria Buckle
5 out of 5
by Dmitry

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Dmitry, Thank you for the great rating!! We really appreciate it and thank you for staying with us. Please come back and see us again soon!! Michael Miraglia General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a 4* hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Food was ok, had lovely views, right on the ocean.
Cons: Too much to write about.
Location: location is not good, it is at the sands side, so over the bridge to Pier 60 area where it is more popular with shops/restaurants etc
The hotel is def not a 4*, it is very tired looking and lacks the quality of a 4* that I am used to. Some of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but others were not. The hotel is not on the beach, they offer a free shuttle service to the local beach, which is not very nice at all. We had to get a cab over the bridge to Clearwater beach everyday (an expense we hadn't budgeted for!!) which is a lovely beach, with white sands and lots going on. The kids club is run by people that don't have a clue what they are doing, one member of staff says one thing and one says another, its for 5-12 year olds and they charge you a daily rate to put kids in there then just leave them to do arts and crafts. Don't think any of them had any idea how to deal with children. I did not have one decent nights sleep there, I appreciate that hotels are quite noisy at times due to the comings and goings etc but there was loud piped music in the outside area which went all night long unless someone remembered to turn it off, so we had to complain about it several times in the early hours of the morning. The pool area was OK, although again it was not maintained very well. The food was nice, but they charge you 15% service automatically which again was not something we had budgeted for, I know they are very big on tipping in the States but surely it should be our discretion as to how much depending on the service??? Don't think my mums bedding was changed in the 10 days we stayed there!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Claire, Thank you for the time to give us feedback on your experience with us. I am so sorry about the challenges you had while you were with us. We typically receive very good feedback on our team, I will make sure I address our deficiencies immediately. Your feedback is very valuable, it will allow us to focus our efforts in areas we fell below expectations. I do hope we have another opportunity in the future to show you what a great experience we can provide. Thank you. Michael Miraglia General Manager
3 out of 5
by pravit from Bangkok

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Nice staff Had to pay for wifi in room is bad for 2016
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear pravit, Thank you for the feedback. I am happy you enjoyed our staff and service. We do have some upcoming changes planned for 2016 and I am confident you will enjoy our new rooms. I do hope you come back and see us in the future. Michael Miraglia General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Thank you for great rating. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us while in Clearwater and hope you come back to see us again soon. Michael Miraglia General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill, NJ

Not what it could or should be.

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Our room had two queen beds plus a queen sleeper sofa in the sitting area so my husband and I plus 3 kids could all stay in the same room.
Cons: As above, cleanliness of the rooms is the top priority this hotel needs to address.
Location: Sand Key beach park is across street. 15 minutes drive without traffic from Clearwater Marine Aquarium. Traffic thru Clearwater can be awful though.
Amazing pool. Excellent breakfast buffet. Hardworking front desk staff and bell staff who are very attentive. Unfortunately, not quite enough to counter the rooms. In desperate need of updating (for example bottom of our tub was in fact peeling a bit...). That wouldn't be such a problem if they were simply cleaner, but there was serious dust in the edges of the carpets & in the duct cover covering the return to the A/C... I wiped several surfaces down myself upon arrival before unpacking & fortunately before my husband & kids got up to the room. That said, for a location so close to water no musty or funky smells. I am fussy enough that I would have left if truly intolerable, and I stayed. That said, I wouldn't re-book this hotel until I hear they have done a rehaul of the rooms here. The beach, by the way, is not on the property. Entrance to Sand Key Park is across the street from the far end of their parking lot It's not a far walk, but it's not a short one for anyone with very young kids or any mobility issues. There is parking at Sand Key beach, but if you are looking for a hotel with pool and direct on-property beach access, this one is not it, although it appears to be so from the map and hotel website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Mom of 3, Thank you for providing us feedback on your experience. I am so sorry about the challenges you experienced with your room cleanliness. I have reviewed your comments with my housekeeping team to ensure this gets corrected immediately. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the pool area in addition the breakfast buffet. We do hope to see your family again if you head back to Clearwater Beach!!