Ratings based on 388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not a 4* hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Food was ok, had lovely views, right on the ocean.
Cons: Too much to write about.
Location: location is not good, it is at the sands side, so over the bridge to Pier 60 area where it is more popular with shops/restaurants etc
The hotel is def not a 4*, it is very tired looking and lacks the quality of a 4* that I am used to. Some of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful but others were not. The hotel is not on the beach, they offer a free shuttle service to the local beach, which is not very nice at all. We had to get a cab over the bridge to Clearwater beach everyday (an expense we hadn't budgeted for!!) which is a lovely beach, with white sands and lots going on. The kids club is run by people that don't have a clue what they are doing, one member of staff says one thing and one says another, its for 5-12 year olds and they charge you a daily rate to put kids in there then just leave them to do arts and crafts. Don't think any of them had any idea how to deal with children. I did not have one decent nights sleep there, I appreciate that hotels are quite noisy at times due to the comings and goings etc but there was loud piped music in the outside area which went all night long unless someone remembered to turn it off, so we had to complain about it several times in the early hours of the morning. The pool area was OK, although again it was not maintained very well. The food was nice, but they charge you 15% service automatically which again was not something we had budgeted for, I know they are very big on tipping in the States but surely it should be our discretion as to how much depending on the service??? Don't think my mums bedding was changed in the 10 days we stayed there!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Claire, Thank you for the time to give us feedback on your experience with us. I am so sorry about the challenges you had while you were with us. We typically receive very good feedback on our team, I will make sure I address our deficiencies immediately. Your feedback is very valuable, it will allow us to focus our efforts in areas we fell below expectations. I do hope we have another opportunity in the future to show you what a great experience we can provide. Thank you. Michael Miraglia General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cherry Hill, NJ

Not what it could or should be.

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Our room had two queen beds plus a queen sleeper sofa in the sitting area so my husband and I plus 3 kids could all stay in the same room.
Cons: As above, cleanliness of the rooms is the top priority this hotel needs to address.
Location: Sand Key beach park is across street. 15 minutes drive without traffic from Clearwater Marine Aquarium. Traffic thru Clearwater can be awful though.
Amazing pool. Excellent breakfast buffet. Hardworking front desk staff and bell staff who are very attentive. Unfortunately, not quite enough to counter the rooms. In desperate need of updating (for example bottom of our tub was in fact peeling a bit...). That wouldn't be such a problem if they were simply cleaner, but there was serious dust in the edges of the carpets & in the duct cover covering the return to the A/C... I wiped several surfaces down myself upon arrival before unpacking & fortunately before my husband & kids got up to the room. That said, for a location so close to water no musty or funky smells. I am fussy enough that I would have left if truly intolerable, and I stayed. That said, I wouldn't re-book this hotel until I hear they have done a rehaul of the rooms here. The beach, by the way, is not on the property. Entrance to Sand Key Park is across the street from the far end of their parking lot It's not a far walk, but it's not a short one for anyone with very young kids or any mobility issues. There is parking at Sand Key beach, but if you are looking for a hotel with pool and direct on-property beach access, this one is not it, although it appears to be so from the map and hotel website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Mom of 3, Thank you for providing us feedback on your experience. I am so sorry about the challenges you experienced with your room cleanliness. I have reviewed your comments with my housekeeping team to ensure this gets corrected immediately. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the pool area in addition the breakfast buffet. We do hope to see your family again if you head back to Clearwater Beach!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AR

Staff was friendly and were very accommodating.

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Enjoyed the trip very much. We will stay at this hotel again. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2016 by M. Buckle, Hotel Management
Michele, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to serving you again next time your travels bring you to Clearwater Beach. At Your Service, Maria Buckle
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent location

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: The excellent location on Sand Key with views over both the Bay of Tampa and the Gulf of Mexico; attentiveness of the staff; very good breakfast.
Cons: Better dining options. The only options available are a very expensive restaurant, and bar snacks. Also, the bar is extremely noisy.
Location: A variety of water sports are available at the hotel, which has a large swimming pool and jacuzzi. Superb beach and sailing school nearby.
This was our second stay at this hotel. The waterfront location is superb and the rooms are comfortable, well insulated and very quiet, with an excellent and uncrowded beach close by. The staff are extremely friendly, attentive and accommodating. However, we specifically wanted and were told by your agemt we had reserved a deluxe room with a king bed. Not having been able to reserve a king bed on the Expedia website (or the hotel website), we telephoned Expedia and spoke to an agent who guaranteed that our room would have a king bed. On arrival at the hotel, the front desk had no knowledge of our request, and gave us a twin-bedded room. They also forgot to give us breakfast vouchers and free internet access (both were subsequently rectified).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff.

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful. We have kids and the staff made the experience much easier on us.
Cons: Better mattress in the sofa pull-out.
We stayed here on our spring break vacation and were very happy with our choice. The rooms are spacious and has great view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by M Miraglia, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. I am so happy you enjoyed your experience with us. We are a family friendly hotel and our team really enjoys interacting with our younger guests. I will look into the mattress on the pull-out sofa bed and ensure that gets addressed. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not near the beach!

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pull out sofa bed unacceptable. If this hotel is steps from the beach, it must be thousands of steps. Communication between Expedia and Marriott was terrible. Felt like stepchildren because we did not book direct through Marriott, even though they told us they were sold out when we wanted to book. Staff at the hotel was very good. Get a car if you stay here, as not much is within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by M Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Mh. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to create better experiences for our guests. I am sorry to hear about your check-in challenges and have communicated with the front office team to understand where we can improve on that experience. I am happy to see you enjoyed the interaction and service from our team. Thank you again for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ct.

Hotel was clean, staff was great

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: the pool, the service the food ,I enjoyed the whole place
Location: the location is good close to everything we wanted
Our stay was wonderful , the staff was great almost too nice, anything you asked of them they completed, they hotel was very clean. the hotel is aged but they keep it in great shape
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us!! We appreciate the positive recognition you gave our staff in your feedback. As a team we have a goal of creating Brilliant Experiences for our guests. It appears we succeeded with your trip. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Typical overpriced non-guest centric Florida hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Very little!
Cons: (See experience comments)
Location: Shopping, restaurants, beach activities
Ants in room (night stands, bathroom vanity, dresser). TV in bedroom did not work. Toilet had leak and filled (loudly) every hour overnight. Maid service out before 7:30AM Sunday morning waking guests. Beach access not what you expect. Motel room quality (not "suite" quality)! General Manager left DETAILED voicemail regarding issues with the room and stay with NO return call. Would recommend Sheraton (across the street and on beach) or Sandpearl. VERY no frills with one bar of soap for both vanity and shower (share?), no newspaper. Small resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay. I apologize I was not personally able to connect with you after you left me a message on Sunday. I was out of the office on Monday and tried to reach you several times on Tuesday but was not able to leave you a voicemail. I am happy you were able to connect with my front office manager and hope you found the resolution satisfactory. We do aim to provide excellent experiences to our guests and typically receive excellent reviews on our service. It appears we failed to deliver on your experience. I do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you again for the feedback, we will certainly make sure we address these concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views

Posted Feb 29, 2016
The views were great but the room itself was not worth the money. The sink didn't drain well and the tub had rust by the drain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Dear Nice views, Thank you for your feedback on your recent experience with us. We are so happy you enjoyed the views and apologize about the challenges you had with the sink and tub. We will ensure those items are given proper attention immediately. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us while in Clearwater Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2016
The hotel is certainly nice enough and in a good location, on the bay and within walking distance to a few restaurants and shops along a boardwalk on the bay. However, two of three elevators were not working when we checked in, and we had to ask for the hostess to be seated for breakfast the next morning. It seemed like they were having a difficult time dealing with the number of guests. Why? Not enough staff? Elevator repairmen not available? That needs to be worked out for a 4-star rating and the relatively high prices charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Michael Miraglia, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent experience. We are so sorry for the challenges we presented to you while you were with us. We have addressed the concerns in your review with the appropriate departments to ensure these were one time occurrences and will not be repeated moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.