Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Resonably priced and short drive to Clearwater Bea

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Nice quiet place. I used it to write. This was my second stay here. If you need a real breakfast of eggs and bacon and even juice drive 5 minutes down Ulmerton rd to the Country Kitchen. If you want an excellent steak and fish place Boscom's only 3 minutes away on same Ulmerton rd. Very nice happy staff...zero intrusion by maids A BIG PLUS FOR ME A NEUROTIC WRITER !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
John, thank you for posting a review so future travelers can read about your pleasant experience once again at Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Clearwater - Executive Dr. We are thrilled to read that you loved our welcoming associates, convenient location which was perfect for your needs and our breakfast offerings as well. Thanks again for letting us know about your peaceful stay, and we look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcester ma

Never again

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Dirty , had to get our own room towels at front desk after each shower. No cleaning rooms even after 4 days. Continental breakfast really? An energy bar does not make a continental breakfast. Kicking myself for not walking out the first day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jack, we sincerely apologize for your disappointing visit. Since we are an extended stay property, we provide housekeeping services to guests who stay eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for a nominal fee. We also regret that our breakfast offerings were not to your liking and will share your feedback with the concerned team as we plan any changes to the same. Please give us another chance to improve upon your experience in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

bare bones

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Sheets were like gauze, pillows were flat rocks. You must bring your own shampoo, etc., although they did provide toilet paper. Rooms are not cleaned except upon vacating. You have to empty your own trash. There are no ice, soda, or candy machines. The "breakfast" is a bar and some liquid. It's a room with a bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for evaluating your stay at our hotel. Our housekeeping service is designed for long-term guests, offering minimal intrusion, and we are happy to offer this service to you at a minimal fee. We also keep the toiletries at the front desk and it's complimentary. We appreciate your observations in regard to our amenities and have taken a note of it as we plan any changes. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bostonNorthEnd

Nice people staff and good coffee

Posted Mar 6, 2017
If you like quietude this is the place to be.this website needs repair..a nice quiet comfortable place EXCELLENT OVERALL...good coffee good staff easy check in..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - St. Petersburg - Clearwater - Executive Dr. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of your room and were impressed with the service provided by our staff. Thanks again for recommending us online, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Does not worth the price. Spend a little more a go to other hotels nearby. They keep the minimum workers personnel to the real minimum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to everything.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
It's o.k. No problems really. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to know you would recommend our hotel based on the positive stay you had. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here before, for about 4 weeks. It was fine before. For some reason, I got ants crawling on me and the internet did not work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was good but the wifi was not that good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see you were well accommodated, but disappointed you had issues with the WiFi. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Orbitz
It was ok the microwave did not work very well and could of been more seating room but the beds were very comfy and the bathroom was awesome
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean, bed was like cement, property was nice, good location, I asked for extra pillows and I was told you can only get what's in the room....I then asked someone different and they gave us two pillows!! I guess it depends on what employee you ask!!! We were told if we need new sheets or blankets to bring the used ones to the front desk and they would give us new sheets and blankets.....I have stayed at HUNDREDS of hotels and have NEVER seen this!!! You also had to make your own bed....I was told no room service.......Breakfast was either a muffin or a granola bar coffee tea. We will never stay here again!!!