Ratings based on 3,889 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Hotel is right on the beach. Wished the hotel had some simple amenities for kids such as sand toys, boggie boards, swim jackets, etc. Walking distance to grocery store, beach store (where we purchased boggie board and sand toys), CVS and shops. Hotel is next door to Tradewinds which has a giant slide and some other fun things to do in the water for a cost. There is also a small playground right next door to the hotel right on the beach. We will visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Right on the beach. Could have a bigger pool. Room was well appointed and generally clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient location on the beach

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The employees and location.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms, hallways, pool area
Location: Within walking distance to grocery store, shopping, bars and restaurants.
The staff including engineering, bell, front desk, and wait staff in the restaurants, were very customer service driven. They were the best part of our stay. Location was great with an awesome beach. The room was a generous size but disappointing when it came to cleanliness. There was some brown splatter on the bathroom door, the mirrors were not clean, shutters were full of dust, windows with smears and something crusty on the globe of the ceiling fan. It also appears that they have tried to update this hotel on the cheap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad sleep!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Wonderful rotating restaurant with gorgeous view.
Cons: The manager should have done something because of our very disappointing sleep experience!
This hotel had the most uncomfortable sheets I have ever slept on!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Grand Plaza St. Pete FL

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The open balcony overlooking the Gulf and being right on the beach.
Cons: Rooms need to be more comfortable & Clean. Comfortable sitting areas on the beach, not over looking the parking lot.
Location: Not much to do other than shop or go to the beach. Plenty of Bars in the area.
Have stayed at the Grand Plaza for the last 5 trips we have taken to St. Pete FL. So disappointed in this trip - the rooms were not clean when we arrived. It looked as they had not done a cleaning in some time - sink and tub really needs a good cleaning and sanitized as they look like they were not cleaned or cared for in a very long time -everywhere I looked there was long strands of hair, and was definitely not mine or my husbands - even found it in between the sheets on the bed, on the bathroom floor, on the towels.... the windows were filthy, dead bugs in between the windows and shutters. House keeping neglected to replenish toilet paper, toiletries and plastic cups. Found ourselves at the front desk requesting these items as trying to call them on the phone only received a busy signal after trying for several hours to call them to bring these items to our room. The rooms are so uncomfortable with no place to sit and relax after a day at the beach or just a break from the heat. 2 desk chairs and a table right in front of the tv causing neck strain to watch television & 2 beds I needed a ladder to get into to just sit. Even outdoors there was no place to sit and enjoy the music unless you sit in the bar or restaurant and have to order something... just wanted to put my toes in the sand and enjoy the music sitting comfortably. This is certainly not a resort. After this stay the Grand Plaza it has us reconsidering our choice of our place to stay in St. Pete Beach, FL
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Mediocre. Convenient to Beach.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
This hotel is conveniently located on a strip with many other hotels. Close to food. Not a lot to do other than the Beach. The rooms are not as clean as they could be. There was hair in the bathroom that wasn't ours... even after the cleaning crew came through. Fixtures are dated. Furniture on ocean-front room could/should be a little more comfortable. If you're looking to be close to the Beach, good stay. If you're looking for perfection, keep searching.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

It sucked

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The look and concept of the place was great. Everything was awesome except our room. Our shower was dirty and had someone's hair all on the wads of it. The king bed headboard had bodily fluids on it that were covers by housekeeping with pillows and our a.c. didn't work. Maitnence came up and rigged it up and then not only did it not cool the room down but it made such a loud noise that we could not sleep at all. The hotel only refunded a portion of our stay after pics and video of this. Just not happy!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lock everything up!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: On the beach. A really nice spinning restaurant on the top. Good food. An outside patio on top to see the sunsets.
Cons: Having an air conditioned restaurant open during the day. From 11:00-3:00 the only place to go is on the beach or your room.
Location: You can take a trolley up and down the coast to different cities for $2.25 or call Freebeachrides that work only on tips - better deal!
Wore a bathing suit one day. Hang it up to dry. Gone the next. Hotel management not very helpful......actually accusatory that it didn't exist. So where did it go? Claims their cleaning staff is trustworthy and many have worked there for a long time. Isn't the customer always right?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Not impressed. For the price we paid, the room was dirty. Housekeeping staff was rude and didn't clean our room 3 out of the 7 days we stayed. Hotel is in a perfect location, right on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Right on the beach. No A.C. in the hallways or elevators but other than that an ok place to stay room and lobby was clean. Need a reservation if you want to eat at the top 2 restaurants. Nothing really stood out bad or good.