Ratings based on 3,447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Excellent hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Excellent food, great location to restaurants in the area, perfect beach
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Amazing hotel...we come back every year!!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: hotel staff, extremely comfortable beds, clean room, no hotel fees, LOCATION!!
Location: boat rides, snorkeling, dolphin cruises, day trips to Egmont key, shelling, water sports right on the beach, many restaurants, john's pass
Our stay was incredible. I came with my two teenage girls. Breathtaking views from the room (I recommend the partial ocean view or beachfront if feasible), amazing hotel staff that go above and beyond, and the rooms are beautiful, clean, and quite spacious. Staff are always willing to help and are extremely knowledgable about the area. We got there around 12PM and our room was already ready for us! Bongos has great food and drinks, and entertainment during the evenings, right on the sand! The breakfast downstairs is amazing, and it won't hurt your wallet! Great facilities, clean pool with comfortable lounge chairs, and towels always available. The private beach is amazing! Clear beautiful blue waters with soft white sand. Great location with tons of restaurants and activities nearby. Dolphin watching and snorkeling is a must!! (We are from New England so we don't see that around here!) We stayed here twice within 2 years in June and are coming back this August...excited is an understatement!! The Grand Plaza has it all!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Damascus, MD

Beachfront Hotel with great amenities!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: I absolutely love Bongo's Beach bar, George and the rest of the staff are quick and make one mean frozen margarita!
Cons: The A/C. There's no A/C in the elevators, hallways or in the restrooms in the 11th floor lounge, that's the only thing I would change.
Location: There's miniature golf down the street as well as surf shops and a grocery store. The location is super convenient to other restaurants if need be.
This is our second vacation in 2 years and both times have been with the Grand Plaza (we're also going back in September and staying with them again). You have everything you need here and it includes an outdoor pool with complimentary towels for guests, 4 restaurants to choose from all with a different atmosphere, beachfront access with cabana and umbrella rentals and you also have the access to jet ski and/or parasail. There's also a gym and laundry facility on the bottom floor. Everything you need is in this hotel with great customer service. No need to look any further.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great location directly on the beach.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: The location, the view, the restaurants.
Cons: Maybe a little updating on the decor.
Location: We stayed on the property almost the entire time but there were plenty of places to go for shopping, dining, etc.
The hotel was very nice. The room was quite comfortable and large enough to accommodate 3 adults. We ate in the restaurants and the food was great; the service was quite nice. I enjoyed the beautiful view from the restaurants. It was so nice to be able to relax and not have to leave the hotel for dining. It was convenient to other things. Parking was fine and we checked in without any problems. We asked for a room upgrade and got it with no problems. It was an extremely busy day but the desk assistant was very pleasant and helpful and did not try to rush us through the process. Everything went smoothly. I will definitely come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right of the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Loved this place! My husband and I didn't rent a car so we wanted a place within walking distance to grocery store and liquor store. Hotel had multiple restaurants and a kid friendly crab shack next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice location

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Beautiful views and right at beach! Staff works continuously at keeping lobby clean and dry as guests come in off of beach and pool. Room needed a little maintenance: doors stuck, towel rod broke. The hotel room didn't get dark at night, the a/c is very loud, and the band at the bar outside plays music very late. But overall a typical beach hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Nice place- staff was excellent- room very clean

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Easy to get around
Cons: Hall carpeting- looks old
Location: So much to do. Shop, restaurants, rent a boat, board or go for a sunset cruise.
I was there on business & was able to work, rest at night- very quiet. Listened to music from below and loved my walks on the beach. Everything is so accessible and the new Artisian Bar is fabulous!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: beautiful view; wonderful restaurant
Cons: hot water; door locks that can be opened with room key
Location: lots to do
Penthouse has beautiful view, of course. No hot water. Twice in three days I had to make two trips to the front desk about the locks not working.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Jun 25, 2016
The hotel was nice. Needed some work. We had some ants in the room and something from above was leaking onto our balcony. We were at the side of the hotel, so sitting outside on the balcony was quite noisy with what sounded like some kind of machinery, not traffic. Staff was very friendly, food was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FMB, FL

Met family

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Right on the beach, was clean, had a great breakfast
Cons: Had a little trouble finding a parking spot, I wonder if people that are not staying there, park there at night time, maybe come in for a drink.
Location: Didn't do anything outside the hotel except to visit with family
Met my niece & family there for one night, great location, Bongo's was a lot of fun. Enjoyed our drink at Spinner's. Thinking of going back for the Christmas holiday.