Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st pete

birthday celebration for our 8 year old son

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Cons: bed to firm , like sleeping on a brick wall
Location: Stayed at the condo the whole time and enjoyed what we had , beach, pool and hot tub.
Enjoyed our stay , room a little outdated , but had all kitchen necessities and nice to have 2 bathrooms, Enough space for guests to visit , but bed in bedroom was like sleeping on a brick wall.It was way to firm and we were there for 3 nights. Would suggest to anyone to bring pool towels, they do give extra bath towels , but bringing your own pool towels is the way to go. Washer and dryer are great as well as dish washer. We used barbaque grills every night we were there. Overall , nice stay , didnt have great weather , but made the best of it. Would go back if we had another room with a different bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful for the money

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very uncomfortable furniture (sofa, bed, etc.). No view to speak of. Very dangerous entrance to the resort. No one to check us in when we arrived at the designated time (3:00pm). Very loud A/C that didn't work well. Cheap window blinds could not keep out street lights at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arlington VA

Great view, walking distance to beach! YAY!

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Location: Excellent location for daytime beach and nightlife!
Came into town for a wedding at the Don. Room was ready, clean, nicely appointed upon arrival. Friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec, Canada

Serait parfait s'il était propre !!! Décevant!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Proximité de tout et la piscine.
Cons: Aurait besoin d'un ménage en profondeur de réparations et de remise au gout du jour pour la décoration. Le lit et la literie sont déguelasses!! À chan
Location: Restaurants, épicierie complète (Publix) et surpermarché. Plage
Très bien situé. Les restaurants et l'épicerie de l'autre cote de la rue. La plage à 200 mètres. Vue latérale sur le gulf et ses couchers de soleils Wow! La piscine et les BBQ en très bon état. Mais malpropre...Aurait besoin d'un ménage en profondeur de réparations et de remise au gout du jour pour la décoration. Le lit et la literie sont déguelasses!! À changer absolument.. Je n'y retournerait jamais!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Good size apartment, right on St Pete Beach

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Above all, its location is what makes the Gulf Strand a good place to stay.
Cons: The décor of our apartment (303) was fairly dated and there were several small faults . I reported the fact that the balcony door could not be locked.
Location: Perfectly located on the beach and within walking distance of the Dolphin Shopping Centre.Beach bars are within walking distance as are restaurants.
This is my second stay at Gulf Strand - previously we had only stayed for a few nights, but I was sufficiently impressed to opt for a full two week stay. The best thing about the Gulf Strand is it's location - it sits right on St Pete Beacj, with the Dolphin Shopping Centre, including a Publix, right across the road. There are great places to eat within easy reach and beach bars, such as the Undertow and Sandbar Bill's are within walking distance. The apartments are 1 bed, 2 bath, with a pull-out bed in the living room. Ours had a comfortable king size bed and had a small balcony that looked over the beach (303) - further back and you will overlook the public car park, albeit with a view of the beach. The best apartments have a larger balcony and actually face the beach, but you will of course pay a premium for them. I believe that all the apartments are privately owned, leased through TRS - this means that the décor may well vary. 303 was adequately decorated and furnished, but was a little dated, although this didn't worry us too much, it might not be what you expect. Having said that, the price for being right on the beach is quite reasonable. There is a pool, but it is quite small and its a bit cramped for room around it - the beach is only steps away and we spent most of our time right at the water's edge. BBQ grills are provided and we used them several times during our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location right on beach

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We are so happy we stayed at this resort. The room was very clean and spacious. The location was very close to shopping and dining in the area. There is also a small pool which we never used. The resort is right on the beach and very convenient. We will definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Be sure to specify which type of room you are getting...the ad says gulf front and it is far from it. Parking lot view with trees and a glimpse of the ocean. We checked in on New Years Eve. I called the office to make sure of check in time and glad that I did...they were closing at 1 pm and I just so happened to call and get a code for a lockbox where the keys would be...2 other couples weren't so lucky. They were in the dark about a lockbox and how to get into their rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Angelo

Misleading view

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Not many guests during our stay, so we never had to wait for the elevator.
Cons: Honesty about the actual view
Location: Explored the Mote Marine Laboratory in Sarasota, and thoroughly enjoyed.
Did not realize that the beach view was not an option when booking thru Expedia. A little more detail in the description or price options would help travelers know exactly what to expect. Agent at resort was nice and let us view other room options along with paying upgrade fee for a side view of the Gulf. The bed was extremely firm (too much for me), but that's a personal preference. Bath towels resembled sand paper. Microwave and stove were quite dirty, but I wasn't planning on cooking.. I dropped my stylus under the bed, and I found a few months of dust when I retrieved it. A little over priced for amenities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Decent place but needs upgrades.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Being on the beach
Cons: Update inside of condo, have beach chairs for resort guests to use that aren't broken.
Location: Walking distance to some restaurants and other stores but further from the hub of the activity in the area
The resort needed some upgrades, sofa bed in living room was very worn, lamp in bedroom was broken and floors were very dirty as our feet were black every night after walking on it. The blinds were missing some slats too. Nice to be right on the beach though and the location was very quiet. The staff in the office were very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels