Ratings based on 1,018 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Good family resort

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hotel staff was wonderful. We were able to check-in early. On our first night we were put in a room near the bar next door. With small children, this was not ideal. We were able to be switched to an equivalent room on the quieter side of the hotel. The staff was so accommodating. It was great to have access to both properties. The whole family had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Easter Week at GHO with 4 kids

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: RumFish grill was a hit with the kids. Hammocks, pool, s'mores, beach bar/food, egg hunt on beach were fun! Within walking distance to food and stores
Cons: The lobby is small as it is an older property, there is no bathroom! Outside bathrooms by the bar were old and small, very much in need of an upgrade!
Location: The beach is main reason to come here. We drove to Sarasota to the Mote aquarium but there is another aquarium in Clearwater. Busch gardens too.
Overall we had a great time, our 4 kids enjoyed the beautiful beach and had fun in the pool. With wristband you get at check in you have access to activities at GHO and the larger Tradewinds resort down the beach within walking distance (2 hotels away). We enjoyed the giant slide (included) and paddle boarding (extra) on the beach. You get a free beach cabana (first row is extra). On most days we were on the beach or in the pool. Every evening there are s'mores provided with a camp fire, our kids loved it. The glow Easter egg hunt at the TW in the dark was fun, kids got lots of candy and enjoyed it. We had a suite with two double beds, sofa bed, galley style kitchen. Kitchen had utensils/dishes/microwave/toaster/fridge so we were able to get food/alcohol at Publix and eat in the room. Suite decorated in Guy Harvey style and was comfortable, but a little small. With 6 people it was tight but OK. Our view was the adult pool in the side courtyard with hot tub. This pool area was almost empty most of the time we were there, and noise was only an issue from the hot tub area on one night. We were on the 6th floor, and our outer door opened to the other side of the property that faces Howard Johnson's beach bar. The bar played LOUD live music every night, which could be annoying to some people. Kids loved seeing the tanks in RumFish grill as they watch the Tanked show. Poolside bar and food was pricey but good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit

Seriously the nicest staff!!

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Great experience from check in to check out!! Staff really made the trip enjoyable!! Everyone said good morning or good evening and talked to my five year old and were completely amazed at everything he said. He loved it :) must stop in for the bonfire / smore roast at night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Great hotel, great location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
My wife and I had a great experience at Guy Harvey Outpost. All staff was courteous and helpful, the hotel is very nice and its location is perfect. We enjoyed the beach, pools, and activities that were included in our resort fee. The hotel, and room was super clean. The best part was how close it is to the beach and its proximity to all of the bars and restaurants and things to do in the area. We loved our time there and would definitely recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Lovely hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pure beach hotel. Staff was wonderful! Every single interaction with any staff member was great. It is obvious that Customer Service & good old southern hospitality is valued here! The Only thing I could think of to improve is something that the hotel might not be able to fix. During the weekend nights, it was noisier than I would like. Music from the hotel next door was quite loud but stopped at a reasonable time. Even normal voices & music could be heard from the room next door. They called it a night by 1 a.m. so that was tolerable too. The food at Rum Fish (in front of the hotel) was quite good. Especially the Key Lime Pie. Highly recommend!! I will be back to St Pete Beach .... and the Guy Harvey Outpost!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great place for kids and adults

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: nice bar by the pool. food was outstanding
Location: we stayed only one night but we had been there before and liked it both times. our 8yo grandson found lots of kid to play with.
there is a nice beach. the room was well decorated and large enough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Right on the beach and family friendly

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I liked the location of this resort right on the beach. It had a laid back vibe with plenty to do at the neighboring Trade Winds resort. S'mores every night was a huge hit with the kids. Happy we chose this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Our spacious room, quietness of an adults only with all theaction around the corner.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We went to a Dwight Yoakam concert at Mahaffey Theater
Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway Wonderful short getaway
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The beach is right outside. The staff was friendly.
Cons: Let guests enjoy the use of the beach chairs past 5pm. I was disappointed to have to give up my beach chair so early in the evening.
Location: Lots of beach, bars, and restaurants in the immediate area.
This hotel is close to the beach which is fantastic. I understand that beach can mean party mode, but the music from the bar on the beach blasted until 10pm on Sunday, and later on the other nights. It was so loud in my room that I couldn't hear my television and could not sleep. I get that they like the music, but does it have to be so loud that it disturbs the guests in their rooms? Not a place that I would return to.
4 out of 5
by Larry

Close your eyes after hours around the Hot Tub

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed most everything about the stay, except for the fact of no policing of facilities at all.....Immediately in front of our room and in plain view of over 130 rooms at various buildings, we had 2 separate couples going at it in the hot tub after hours of closing...Many were watching the show from their balconies and rooms....Also glass bottles being held in the hot tub and adult pool.....Lots of smoking around the pool area that was supposed to be Smoke Free. .....and some people throwing things constantly off of third floor balconies, trash, water bottles etc......As I said.....a very awesome place other than NO Security at all to handle even the most simple problems....