Ratings based on 706 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Arrogant & Insensitive Hilton Hotel Staff

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Front desk staff and the Front Desk office manager, were rude and insensitive to our issue.
Location: Excellent location in St Petersburg,Fl
We checked in around 4:00 pm the front desk asked us if we wanted a lower or higher room. We said a lower room would be fine. After moving into our 3rd floor room we left for dinner and our evening in St. Petersburg, FL. Upon returning at 9:00 pm we were overcome with loud music from the ballroom below. The music was from a live band. I called the front desk to find out about the music. We were inform there was a wedding reception going on that would run to 11:00. We told the front desk this was unacceptable. We are senior citizens who go to bed (to sleep) at 10:00 each night. The front desk response was not caring and not offering us a different room. My wife could not sleep that night due to 2-1/2 hours of loud music and loud, drunk, wedding party. The next day we insisted to speak with the manager. We talked with the "Front Office Manager". We politely relayed our experience to the "Front Desk Office Manager." He verified the Saturday night wedding reception and our phone log to the front desk. He said he was sorry for our inconvenience. He added that since we reserved through Expedia he really could not help us. He said if we HAD NOT used Expedia, we would have been given a free room certificate for anther Hilton stay.We mentioned that we were Hilton Priority Club members and should not be treated poorly. He said, I'll give you a couple thousand points. Apparently, Hilton treats Expedia customer booking folks as lower class. We are saddened by this experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel in a good location.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: We arrived early but were able to check into our room, very impressed with this.
Location: as stated above.
This hotel is opposite the Rowdies football club and very close to the museum. It is in walking distance of the bars and restaurants and a good area to stay. The hotel has a Starbucks within, which made it very easy to get breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The hotel was ok. Staff was excellent. The hotel was pretty and great location. The bed wasn't that comfortable and the sheets were so so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Hilton Leadership Team, Hotel Management
We appreciate the great feedback on the team at the Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. We hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
by Katie from New Jersey

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great place situated in downtown St Petersburg. it was so close to everything; the water, dining and pArks. the pool was awesome. one comment I have is the bathrooms were awef.ul small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. Were excited to hear you enjoyed yourself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cleaning service very disrupting

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cleaning service knocked on our door to clean 2 times before 10. Check out was at 11. Very annoying. Put the do not disturb sign out after that and they came back and knocked right at 11 again. We were about to leave at that moment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Hilton Leadership Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry to hear our team disturbed you prior to check out. We will be sure to utilize your feedback to coach our teams on the expectations.
3 out of 5
by Justin

eh

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
When we got there the room we were given had tons of mildew in the shower the wall paper was coming off the wall and one of the lights blew. I went downstairs and requested a room change they moved us it was clean enough to stay. My husband noticed that the floors in the lobby were kind of dirty. For the price of the hotel you think they would take better care of it. At night we wanted to go to the pool. You have to exit and go around there is no thru accesses to the pool. They say it is heated but it was still too cold. They do not have a jacuzzi. Which is an easy fix. Also they do not have glasses in the hotel room. For this price you could give the residents glasses stop being cheap. They had plastic cups. Very cheap plastic 8 oz cups. We had a room over looking the pool and roof. The roof was covered in green growth really ruined the skyline.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I would like to take the opportunity to apologize for the negative experience you described. This is certainty not the Hilton way and unacceptable. Thank you for bringing to my attention so I can assure they are addressed quickly and appropriately.
3 out of 5
by william

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Broken tv controller repaired with tape and not operating. flimsy toilet seat. room clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm happy to hear your room was clean and comfortable. We will be sure to follow up on the remote and seat you mentioned to ensure they are addressed appropriately. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Brian

Good stay

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room had a little mildew smell which is less than expected from my last 10 stays over the past 3 years. Staff was excellent as usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreicate the great feedback on the team at the Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. They work hard to ensure an execellent stay for our guests. I'm sorry to hear about the odor you expereinced on this stay. Althoguht this is not common for our property we will be sure to investigate and resolve the issue. Hope to see you soon, Bryan Clancy General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is its saving grace.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and competent. The location is excellent for the Dali, Fine Arts Museum, and Holocaust Museum. All are within easy walking as
Cons: The room had a musty, unpleasant odor. The air-conditioning was very loud. The décor was dated and shabby.
Location: The location is excellent for the Dali, Fine Arts Museum, and Holocaust Museum. All are within easy walking as are dining and nightlife destinations.
We only stayed one night. The room had a musty, unpleasant odor. The air-conditioning was very loud. The décor was dated and shabby. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean. The bathroom was clean. The hotel restaurant is very pleasant, but the food is not. The staff were friendly and competent. The location is excellent for the Dali, Fine Arts Museum, and Holocaust Museum. All are within easy walking as are dining and nightlife destinations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by Bryan Clancy, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to St. Petersburg. Were sorry to hear about the issue with your AC as this is not normal for our hotel. We did have a few isolated units fail recently in which were replaced but nonetheless sorry you experienced this. Thank you for the great feedback on the team and hope to see you on your next visit to the area.
5 out of 5
by Sheila

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Sheila for the perfect 5 stars!