Ratings based on 1,356 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by kirk

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Drunk Patrons

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Waiting to check in we had lunch at Toasted Monkey. A male patron was so drunk that he was regurgitating on the deck/sidewalk. After checking in we realized that he and his two friends were dragging him down our hallway on the 5th floor and to our bad luck, they were next door to us. We were in 513. He was belligerent with them, continued to vomit in their room, yelling, etc. Not a good first evening for us being next door to these idiots. I don't think your management kicked them out until the next day. Basically, Ho Joe's owes us a day credit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario,canada

great location...sad hotel !

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The location and that was about it ....will not return again !
Cons: Where do I start...update it, clean it properly, manage your staff to do there jobs properly,
Location: Right on the beach and shopping but the hotel owners are not delivering on there end.
Second time at this hotel it has a great location right on the beach. The hotel has a lot to be desired . The room had a heater / air conditioner that was so full of dirt it smelled like it was to start on fire. The washroom was old and dated and the water pressure was equal maybe to poring water from a glass . There was stains on the carpet making you not want to walk without shoes on . I could go on forever about this hotel as they are willing to charge top dollars to stay there put not willing to keep the hotel in a acceptable condition. Oh ya and the staff seemed more interested in talking in the hallway and blocking it with the cleaning carts than cleaning the rooms . I don't normally complain this much you should see the pictures and email my wife sent Howard johnsons head office.......................rated it 2 should be 0.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central Hotel if you like to stay on the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
We went for New Year's Eve. It was great to stay in this hotel since it has its own beach entrance. My kids enjoyed the swimming pool and beach. I was given false information when I booked my room and was very upset about it. However, the staff at hotel made it possible to accommodate me to a nicer room that met my standards, of course for a minimal price. I like all the amenities this hotel had to offer; overall I loved it and would recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was good. They could upgrade the hotel because it looks outdated and not appealing. The elevator wreaked of beer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Too many infractions to justify cost. Way over priced. Management did not respond to problems and staff was clueless. No wifi to multiple devices. Surrounded by very loud very late night party establishments every night. Elevator very unstable and not trust worthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. Georgia

Best beachfront price.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Good place to spend a few days but with some reservations: room needed upgrading and was noisy (avoid first floor). Recliner in room needs to be replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach with pool.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Free Wifi, free parking, coffee maker and mini fridge in the room.
Cons: Needs a face lift, especially the bathrooms.
Location: All the beach towns are easily accessible. Dali Museum in St. Petersburg.
This Howard Johnson's hotel is right on the beach and has a heated pool and two restaurants/bars. It has everything you'd want, including parking and a great location near local attractions. The hotel needs a facelift, especially the bathrooms, but it's totally fine and we were happy for the coffee maker in the room, mini refrigerator, and microwave. This was the second time I stayed here so it was more than acceptable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels