Ratings based on 1,360 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach was the best part, and it was farily quiet.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Location: great beach
Room on a parking lot. Peeling wallpaper, and stained rust in bathtub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nl, Canada

Great location on the beach, nice poolside bar.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location to beach. Pool was spotless thanks to staff who were always there cleaning and handing out fresh towels.
Cons: Overall hotel a little dated but staff and location make up for that!
Location: Onsite restaurant Toasted Monkey was great. Publix nearby. Dunking Donuts right across the street.
Very satisfied with this hotel for our first visit to St. Pete Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything(bars,hotels,and shopping)

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Staff was great!i wander when people complain about the hotel,for the price?close to beach?next to other bars or hotel you can walk to?.i will stay there again and people in Saint Petersburg?wao is all I have to said.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
We stay here often and enjoy it every time. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Hotel on the beach with wear and tear

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The close proximity to the beach, the pool and the price.
Cons: Spend some money fixing the wear and tear of the room. Take care of any bugs.
Location: The location is fantastic with amenities and there is lots to do or nothing to do at all but lay by the pool or on the beach.....whatever you enjoy
I stayed at the Howard Johnson on St. Pete's Beach on a whim. The hotel room showed lots of wear and tear and within my first 20 minutes in the room I killed a huge cockroach. I did not see anymore during my 2 night stay. The facility is close to the beach (a few minutes walk without crossing any roads) and there is a lovely pool as well as close proximity to the Toasted Monkey, which is considered one of St. Pete's beach bars. The room was a decent price (I paid $113 a night during the week), it had a microwave, fridge, desk, two beds and a table and two chairs as well as a balcony that overlooked the parking lot (some rooms overlook the pool and beach) so I guess I can't complain too much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Close to the beach, but not good condition

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing to like about this hotel.
Cons: The hotel needs updating.
Location: Nice beach, nice restaurants.
This was a convenient hotel and close to the beach, but not in the best of condition. I would not choose it again especially at the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Roaches

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Walk to everything.
Cons: The hotel requires a makeover. It surprised us that a professional management team would feel that this hotel is up to par.
Location: The beach and restaurants.
Dirty, poorly cleaned room with dirty halls and room. Just a true disservice for a hotel. And baby roaches in the bathroom. Need I say more.smh......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Front desk staff very pleasant and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lacking

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
I booked this room to surprise my daughters with a beachfront vacation. I'll start with the positives.... the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful. The Toasted Monkey Tiki bar was great, as was the restaraunt. Although we didn't use it, the pool looked great. The Neighboring hotels offer a lot of great activities for a fee. Now for the negative...my daughters were nervous about staying in a room with sliding doors. They did not have Any rooms available on the higher floors for us so our room overlooked the parking lot. Obviously not the hotels fault, but when we entered the room the sliding door was wide open which only further worried my kids. The room was clean, but extremely dated. Could definetly use an upgrade, especially with the price they charge. The tub was leaking a steady, loud stream of water. When I attempted to call the front desk, there was no phone! When I went to the front desk they advised me that this was one of the rooms without a phone which I found very odd. They offered me a discount. They sent someone right away to fix the tub, but it started again as soon as it was used and was bothersome throughout the night. The bedding was very worn and should have been retired. But I must admit that the bed was comfortable. There was no breakfast included with our stay. At one point during our stay my kids noticed stains on the hallway carpet that strongly resembled blood stains. We got a good laugh out of it.
2 out of 5
by GINZA

Needs to improve

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Constant problems with key. Room cleaning service doesn't even change sheets only fixes bed.