Ratings based on 1,339 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Hotel on the beach with wear and tear

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The close proximity to the beach, the pool and the price.
Cons: Spend some money fixing the wear and tear of the room. Take care of any bugs.
Location: The location is fantastic with amenities and there is lots to do or nothing to do at all but lay by the pool or on the beach.....whatever you enjoy
I stayed at the Howard Johnson on St. Pete's Beach on a whim. The hotel room showed lots of wear and tear and within my first 20 minutes in the room I killed a huge cockroach. I did not see anymore during my 2 night stay. The facility is close to the beach (a few minutes walk without crossing any roads) and there is a lovely pool as well as close proximity to the Toasted Monkey, which is considered one of St. Pete's beach bars. The room was a decent price (I paid $113 a night during the week), it had a microwave, fridge, desk, two beds and a table and two chairs as well as a balcony that overlooked the parking lot (some rooms overlook the pool and beach) so I guess I can't complain too much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Close to the beach, but not good condition

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Nothing to like about this hotel.
Cons: The hotel needs updating.
Location: Nice beach, nice restaurants.
This was a convenient hotel and close to the beach, but not in the best of condition. I would not choose it again especially at the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Roaches

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: On the beach. Walk to everything.
Cons: The hotel requires a makeover. It surprised us that a professional management team would feel that this hotel is up to par.
Location: The beach and restaurants.
Dirty, poorly cleaned room with dirty halls and room. Just a true disservice for a hotel. And baby roaches in the bathroom. Need I say more.smh......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Front desk staff very pleasant and accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario,canada

great location...sad hotel !

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The location and that was about it ....will not return again !
Cons: Where do I start...update it, clean it properly, manage your staff to do there jobs properly,
Location: Right on the beach and shopping but the hotel owners are not delivering on there end.
Second time at this hotel it has a great location right on the beach. The hotel has a lot to be desired . The room had a heater / air conditioner that was so full of dirt it smelled like it was to start on fire. The washroom was old and dated and the water pressure was equal maybe to poring water from a glass . There was stains on the carpet making you not want to walk without shoes on . I could go on forever about this hotel as they are willing to charge top dollars to stay there put not willing to keep the hotel in a acceptable condition. Oh ya and the staff seemed more interested in talking in the hallway and blocking it with the cleaning carts than cleaning the rooms . I don't normally complain this much you should see the pictures and email my wife sent Howard johnsons head office.......................rated it 2 should be 0.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Too many infractions to justify cost. Way over priced. Management did not respond to problems and staff was clueless. No wifi to multiple devices. Surrounded by very loud very late night party establishments every night. Elevator very unstable and not trust worthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S. Georgia

Best beachfront price.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Good place to spend a few days but with some reservations: room needed upgrading and was noisy (avoid first floor). Recliner in room needs to be replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach with pool.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Free Wifi, free parking, coffee maker and mini fridge in the room.
Cons: Needs a face lift, especially the bathrooms.
Location: All the beach towns are easily accessible. Dali Museum in St. Petersburg.
This Howard Johnson's hotel is right on the beach and has a heated pool and two restaurants/bars. It has everything you'd want, including parking and a great location near local attractions. The hotel needs a facelift, especially the bathrooms, but it's totally fine and we were happy for the coffee maker in the room, mini refrigerator, and microwave. This was the second time I stayed here so it was more than acceptable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need renovated!
Location: Some nice resturants with in walking distance and if you like hanging out at the beach, great location!
The location was really nice. However, the room was pretty run down and definitely needs some major overhaul. The pool/pool bar were fine and the vicinity to St Pete's beach was really nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from I879

Never. Stay. At. Hojobath

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Bathroom. Dirty. Housekeeping. Rude. No. Manners. Manerger. Has. NO. MANNERS. FOR. CUSTOMERS. SOMEONE. SHOULD. FIRE. HER. FOR. THE. MONEY. WE. PAID. WE. SHOULD. GOT. MORE. NEVER. AGAIN. WILL. WE. STAY. AT. HO JO.