Ratings based on 1,167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sugarland TX

We loved every second of it!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Everything...
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect.
I didn't want to leave. I have not been on vacation in 15 years and I am so happy I picked this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice enough...but...

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely in appearance, great beach, very comfortable rooms.
Cons: Obviously, we had some issues with the monster truck and waffle...but the bathroom and bedding were pristine.
Location: No...you tell us, please! There just wasn't a lot said about anything in the area that was of interest...
Better signage to help guests know where to park. On check-in, the woman at the desk was friendly enough, but seemed to feel that maybe we werent the "right" type of guests to stay at the DC. Our room was small, but lovely, although we found a child's monster truck (4in x 4in) by the night able, and part of a waffle by the side of the bed...it was visible. Check out is at 11:00...we were running 10 minutes behind, really ten minutes, a bell boy actually came to our room at 11:05 to ask us if he could take our luggage out for us. Incredibly rude. On a brighter note, a waitress that covered our table in Rowe's was exceptional...great service, wonderful recommendations...welcoming and cheerful!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Destination wedding

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful resort, professional and friendly employees.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The staff
Location: St Pete's downtown. We went to the Dali Art Gallery. Nice restaurants but not too much to do.
the staff at the Don are so wonderful and friendly and serve to make your stay great. The beach is great for swimming. The food is good. The only complaint was the massage we had. Pricy and not so good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, historic hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The location, the friendly service and the food in the Martina restaurant and the Sunday buffet were outstanding!
We celebrated our anniversary here and enjoyed everything about his hotel, the only reason I did not give the room a 5 was that it was a little small for the price but it really was very elegant. They had in room movies, several restaurants on site, great service and I the buffet was out of this world! Can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

beautiful hotel, great pool staff

Posted Sep 14, 2016
loved the hotel, pool staff was great. The only thing I did not like was a bit far from the center of town where all the restaurants and bars were grouped. However Free Beach Ride did make that easier, we just prefer to walk everywhere. I wish the room had a balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Staff was very accommodating and the room was very clean and with plenty of space. The pool staff was very helpful and the Fish Taco's are very tasty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don Cesar was OK

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: It was fairly clean and they have self parking, although you do have to pay for it.
We stayed the night at the hotel for a friend's birthday. It was 2 couples. I booked a room for each of us and they had a hard time accommodating our rooms near each other. The rooms were clean and bed was fairly comfortable. The bathroom was tiny, the toilet was almost in the bathtub. My husband is 6" and his knees were touching the tub. The outdoor facilities were nice. You couldn't get a chair at the pool and it wasn't a busy weekend. No one seems to remove their towels when they're done so it's hard to know who is there and who isn't. The drinks were expensive, about $15 per drink. The beach was nice. You have to pay a resort fee, then fees to use anything other than towels (i.e. beach chairs, umbrellas, etc.). The staff was sort of meandering and off put at times. No one was completely unpleasant. The location was a mile or more from most of the bars and restaurants, but there is a free cab service on the beach which was helpful. They do have self parking, which my husband loves, he hates valet. You do have to pay to self park, it was $10. The hotel is dated, the staff is ok, the rooms are small, and the price is high. It wasn't a terrible time, but I'd not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Unhappy about being billed!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
I have stayed at the Don Cesar 5 or 6 times and have always enjoyed the facilities. Our trip to Florida was cancelled last minute due to Southwest Airlines cancelling many flights on July 22nd. Due to this, we were unable to get to Florida from Nebraska and consequently couldn't get to the Don Cesar as planned. I was advised when I made the reservation that it was non-refundable. I accept responsibility for non-refundable when it is my choice to cancel. But this was out of my control and they still charged me for the first nights stay. I explained the circumstances, but they didn't care that it was out of my control. I didn't want my $$ back, I just wanted to rebook my trip when the airline could get us down there. They would not hear of it. Very disappointing....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful atmosphere !

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We were there for a wedding and brought our grandson, everything was beautiful (even tho it rained), the staff, the food was great that night. We decided to go down to breakfast and was told about the buffet, a little pricey especially for a kids menu. My grandson wanted pancakes and they were $6.00 on the menu but the server said he would get more on the buffet, she failed to mention the buffet was $12.95 for a 6 year old so I paid $12.95 for 1 pancake and about 6 pieces of watermelon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Courtney L, Hotel Management
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed much of what we have to offer! I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon! Best,