Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Never again

Posted May 22, 2017
From check-in to check-out this place was a disaster. There was very limited free parking, as long as you are not leaving for the rest of your stay. They say there is a garage across the street for overnight parking....no garage. There was no front desk staff, they only left a cell phone number to call if you had a question. The pool was disgusting, looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks (see photo below). In the room the shower nob was broken, the toilet wouldn't flush which we had to fix ourselves. They advertise as a bed and breakfast, but no breakfast. We were told if we had our own food there was a kitchen we could cook it in. Very disappointed with Expedia on this one. Would love my money back. Totally not worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
Good hotel. Sabrina is a good manager and she always gives good tips about the city, the restaurants and beaches! The should redecorate the guest rooms! That is my only suggestion.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and suggestions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Murphy, NC

Close to Beach, but.....

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: change description of inn, change the furniture,add a chair, the foil on the wall (looks like it; could be plastic) in lieu of a headboard - remove it
Location: Lots of things to do - museums lots of parks, great shopping, wonderful restaurants, the water front.
Check-in/office is usually locked, it seems. If one doesn't have a cell phone one is out of luck because one is supposed to call a staff member who lives on the premises (who is nice). Even though their website states all rooms are newly renovated as well as "2014 Bed & Breakfast", no breakfast is served (we were told at check-in that this was discontinued 2 years ago).Our room (Edinburgh) had old non-matching furniture, only one chair, no dresser, non-pleasing decor; microwave didn't work, no temperature control, windows didn't open. The Inn supposedly has free parking but only 4 cars barely fit into their parking area - but if there are even 3 cars one cannot get out. We walked to a restaurant the first night at 10:30 pm after the Blues Festival because our car was hemmed in. Expedia shows a desk and 2 chairs in the rooms... no desk, 1 chair in room. Coffee pot and microwave are on a stand. There is a lamp on only one of the narrow night tables; a golden standing light fixture was in a corner and needed to be pulled close to the bed if one wanted to read on the other side. However, the location of the Inn is great. 3 weeks after I booked the Inn (after we left our home) I got an e-mail from them, telling me parking is available at a charge in a hotel nearby and that early check-in would cost $45. That is after I called and asked whether we could check in before 3 pm & I was told if "our" room is ready we could. We were able to get in earlier & and were not charged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize you didnt enjoy your stay. An entrance to the Main building that is unlocked is the door that I lead you out to get to your room in the 2nd building that stays unlocked. I have 12 parking on premises. In your email parking first come first serve I try to get everyone parked in Anyone blocking someone else leaves me their key so I can move the cars that are blocking others. I live on premises on call. I take time out of what little breaks I have in order to valet park. I dont have to do that. In email confirmation parking for Mansion Inn is free and based on availability. No other place would do that for guests to take their only time of break to focus on their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Lovely Mansion Inn Stay

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Less expensive, lovely and close to the Vinoy Hilton where the conference I was attending was held. It is within walking distance of downtown life.
Cons: I didn't fully understand the door locks not locking when I left the room until I realized I had to use the key to lock it.
Location: I enjoyed walking to the beach, walking downtown and would have used a bike system in town had I needed it.
This was my second stay at the Mansion Inn, while both were pleasant this time the manager really went out of her way to ask how things are going and support that my stay was great. I was having trouble getting on wifi and she came to my room to help problem solve it-I merely needed to reboot my computer after looking at all the possibilities. I marked a 4 on comfort more because I could not turn down the A/C commonly used in this state but of which I am not a fan. I slept well and extra blankets were available for added warmth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Manaer, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing the Mansion Inn again for your stay. Hope you choose the Mansion Inn always when in downtown St. Pete area. You have my number so call anytime for reservations. Hope to host you again. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager/Host. :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midwest

Room over garage needs to be torn down

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The location, that's it.
Cons: The entire room needs to be renovated. New lounge chairs at poolside. Free bottled water in the room - how much could that possible cost?
The room I stayed in over the garage is no where to be seen in any of the photos (that I saw). Why? Because it's horribly out of date and ugly. I'm not joking when I say the entire garage and room above it should be torn down and rebuilt. The floors are wood and quite flexible when you walk on them. The bathroom is painted in a horrendous green faux something -- vent stack included. The shower has tiles that have fallen off the wall where water can enter and hasten the deterioration of this grandma's attack. There is no exhaust in the bathroom and none of the windows in the entire suite open (painted shut and no screens anyway) so you cannot enjoy the weather on a nice day. That was disappointing as it is still early Spring and quite nice out. The innkeeper was pleasant enough but the place is so run down. The pool area had lounge chairs that were old and faded and about ready to tear under the weight of a sun worshiper at any moment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Lisa, I want to say thank you for your feedback on your opinion of the room over the garage. Yes, I too will say that is does need some minor updates. But to state to be torn down is more of an opinion on just one guest. I have been running the Mansion Inn since October 1, 2016 and you are the first to give that opinion of that room. I have guests from all age group that LOVES that room and requests for that room. Matter fact I just had a very lovely newly weds get married at the Mansion Inn and while all their family stayed in the other rooms of both buildings, the Bride and Groom chose the room above the garage for their time as husband and wife. LOVED that room. Not one complaint out of all the guests in my time running the Inn. Matter Fact I have people that are coming back and requesting to be booked in the same room that they had above the garage. A little make-over and a little updating is all the room above the garage needs. Not to be torn down. And I'm sure many other guests will agree with me on that. I do apologize you feel differently toward the room and hope that you give the Mansion Inn another try. Good luck in the real-estate you are looking for. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager//Host
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Charming place with character.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Mansion Inn for your stay. Make sure next time in town, you choose Mansion Inn again. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager/Host
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Port Richey, FL

Quaint, cozy, accomodating and great location!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at the Mansion Inn. If you're just looking for a quick getaway for a night or two, this is an outstanding place. It's in walking distance of everything you might possibly want; bars, restaurants, museum, water, parks, etc. And the hotel manager (Sabrina) is so sweet and accomodating. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated and (most importantly to me) comfortable. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family and feel confident that they would share my enthusiasm and be grateful for the recommendation. We will definitely return in the future for hotel accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by w, Hotel Management
Thank you Cassie for choosing the Mansion Inn for your stay and your recommendations to your family and friends. It was my pleasure hosting you. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager/Host
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Historic hotel near pier and shopping.

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on CheapTickets
This is a beautiful, old property with interesting history. I was drawn to this inn by photos of the pool and hot tub, so was disappointed to learn that there was not hot water to soak in. I thought it was a bit pricey for the condition. The manager starting working there a few months ago, and assured us that things will be in good shape soon. She is very friendly and welcoming, and was open to my suggestions for improving the hotel. Be sure to ask if breakfast is available, if you are looking for a bed and breakfast stay. Sabrina the manager recommended the Wooden Rooster for breakfast, and it was an excellent choice! Easy to walk there, and great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Nancy for choosing the Mansion Inn for your stay. I do apologize it's not a heated pool. With it being Florida, the weather is 90% beautiful to where heated pool isn't needed. Breakfast is an option for extra price, but I always give additional options of restaurants to choose from. It's always a beautiful thing to have more than one option to choose from. Thank you for choosing the Mansion Inn and I hope to see you again. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager/Host
1 out of 5
by Michael

Stay anywhere else!!!

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived around 9 PM on a Friday night, after receiving calls from the young employee who was anxious to have her final guests arrive. She told us that she lived on the property and was always on call. She was horribly rude. The parking was a joke as she insisted that we leave our keys so that she could move our car if someone else wanted to leave...the parking was a small driveway with no available on-street parking. This Bed & Breakfast was an old, dilapidated house with creaky stairs...and no breakfast or food at all !!! The website showed a rate of $109 but she said that was wrong and it was really $129...I would have to contact Hotels.com as it was all their fault. The room was small, cramped with what little furniture existed, and you could hear EVERY WORD that anyone said in adjoining rooms or the hall. No temperature controls per room...it was freezing but she said she couldn't change it because of the other guests. The final nail was the bathroom in the morning. The bathroom was postage stamp-sized with soaps from other hotels! Then...no hot water at all. We packed up and checked out early...we ended up staying at a Day's Inn that night for half the price...and they had breakfast. When asked, the Mansion Inn woman said that they were expecting a new water heater that day. I was suspect as it was a Saturday. When I recently saw another review from 6 months prior to our stay that spoke of no hot water, I knew she had just flat out lied to us. Stay anywhere else!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Michael. I do apologize that you didn't appreciate a courtesy call prior to your arrival. With me being the live in host and on call 24/7 days a week, I like to introduce myself to my guests before arrival. Also, there was other options of parking as I stated to you upon your arrival. I give guests a chose to choose with parking and that if you block another guest in, you leave your key with me or there was option to park on street from 8pm to 8am with no ticket. And since you were a very late arrival, parking is first come first serve. Also, during check in, I give all my guests my personal cell # for any problems. Mansion Inn did have hot water and the knob would have had to be turned toward hot in order for hot water to come out. But you didn't give me a chance to help you with the hot water. Truly do apologize that you felt I was rude for the courtesy call prior to arrival. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager/Host
5 out of 5
by Tracy

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room, location, cleanliness and hotel were perfect. Very peaceful and homelike. Staff was incredible, helpful and friendly. Walking distance to straub Park, stores, restaurants, Saturday morning market, demens landing and jannus landing. Definitely going back soon. Had an amazing time
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017
Thank you again for choosing the Mansion Inn for your stay. Hope to see you in the future. Sabrina - Mansion Inn Manager/Host