Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH.

Near airport

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Update of room furniture.
Location: Nothing in particular except near by airport access.
Convenience to PIE Airport and restaurants, and to Saint Petersburg/Clearwater, FL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

A nice surprise of this new version of Red Roof

Posted Mar 12, 2017
A spacious, reasonably well equipped room in this "economy" motel. A beautiful enclosed courtyard with swimming pool, free computer and printer use. The only thing telling of "economy" was the limited cold free breakfast selections, but fast food restaurants were in walking distance nearby. Overall a very pleasant surprise and a comfortable stay, and at a nice savings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazingly accommodating to needs and erythromycin friendly
In town for sick relative and needed somewhere close and convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Run Down!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The staff was very friendly but the motel is run down and needs a major face lift. The mattress was like sleeping on mush over springs. Paint chipping, lamp shades torn. Honestly I would rather pay more and stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Reasonable cost hotel close to PIE airport

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Clean room and friendly staff
Cons: Start updating furniture
Location: Nothing to do nearby but excellent location to PIE airport
Not a plush hotel but the room is clean and the staff are very nice. The pool looked inviting. Was pleasantly surprised by the free muffin, yogurt and coffee offered for breakfast. Next to the highway so not a great walk and not much to do in the neighborhood but close to the highway, the PIE airport, and up the road from a coffee shop. About 20 minutes away from a mall. It's a good hotel if you want a reasonable price and are heading to the airport the next day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and worn out hotel.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Rooms smell like alcohol. Beds are cheep and uncomfortable. Old weathered furniture. Don't waste your money. There are nicer hotels close by. Spend the extra $20.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Florida

Posted Mar 3, 2017
I enjoyed the stay but we left a phone charger that we sure it was left there but now they state they can't find it. But overall it was a pleasant stay n comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Room 150 needs updated the matress needs trashed and replaced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Close to Airport

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Very convenient location. The biggest con for me was the bed. Woke up in the middle of the night with a really bad backache. I couldn't move without the bed squeaking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

They kept me safe

Posted Feb 24, 2017
I stayed at the Red Roof Inn when I suddenly needed to leave my home, due to a domestic abuse situation. As you might imagine, it was a horrible and scary experience. Both my 7 year old daughter and I were very traumatized during our stay. I am giving the hotel 5 stars, due to the hotel's staff. They handled my situation with sensitivity and care. They made sure that my daughter and I were safe. The front desk staff reviewed with me what they would do if anyone were to call and ask if I were there, or come by. They made sure to ask me how we were doing. It took longer than expected to get an injunction and be able to safely return home. They made sure I got an affordable rate, so I could continue to stay at the hotel until we were safe. I would like to take this opportunity to publicly post about how great they were in handling this situation. No mom ever wants to find herself needing this kind of help from a hotel. But, I was and am so grateful for the way they handled this. Now, the hotel itself is not fancy (and I did not expect it to be). It is just a basic room, comfortable, but with no frills. But, the staff were wonderful and I really appreciate them.